11/17 Lee Lu AMPS 138, PMPS 101 - dose reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.
That depends on which protocol you are following. SLGS a reduction is given when the cat goes below 90 at any given point in the cycle.
TR a reduction is given when the cat goes below 50 for a cat on insulin less than a year, at 40 for a cat that has been on insulin longer than a year.

I, personally, hybrid the two protocols. If preshots are still fairly elevated (in the pinks and yellows) then I reduce if they hit 90, so slow how the overall curve is coming down and to reduce bouncing. But in Lee Lu's case, if she was mine, I would wait and use the TR and not give a dose reduction until she goes under 50. And I would definitely get either a ton of random spot checks or a curve fairly soon. I wish we knew what she did last night after that 101, she could have earned herself a reduction then.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thanks Mel - I was concerned mostly b/c of her actions overnight a few nights ago when she binged and purged her Wellness and then went into overdose hooker stage in the middle of the night at 30. She was fine last night, woke me up with her box usage (why oh why do I keep a little box in the bedroom? oh yah, b/c I need to one upstairs... its stinky alarm clock pewwww)....

Two random comments, well, one comment and one question - for group.
1 - These syringes I bought with the 1/2 unit markings are hard to use. Why? B/c they move on me! I draw out the insulin and the suction or something makes the plunger move back to the tip and push out the insulin. Bah!
2 - Reading more about the diff between BG level results on the Relion, there seems to be an agreement that the BG number for animals is actually higher than the number that shows on the meter, basically add 20. Can someone help me understand this more? Meaning, when I test Lee and the meter shows 101, should I use 101 or 121 in the SS?

thanks!
 
There is a difference between human meters and pet only meters in the way they are calibrated that's all. Its like the difference between Fahrenheit and Celsius. Water still freezes at exactly the same temp, just on one scale that is 32 degrees F and on the other it is 0 degrees C.

Most of us use a human meter so just that is what we are most familiar with when it comes to numbers. Just use the numbers on your meter as you see them. No need to add or subtract anything. Especially since we don't know for sure exactly what the conversion rate is between the two calibrations.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top