Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member Since 2020
Apologies for no post yesterday, both work and personal appointments fell off my calendar somehow (yay, technology, said no one in my house...ever!) and I was scrambling from the start when the cell started pinging with people looking for me. 

SO....Jack is acting normal, playing, being a bit of a scooch to his older sister, but these numbers! I was just telling @Fistuk & Shelly that Jack has no pattern, and then I looked at his SS this morning and the sad pattern he is showing is waking up to an ok 200's and then spiking to the 400's later in the day for no apparent reason. His eating is back to his, albeit crappy, normal, so unless there is something wonky with the antibiotics kicking in later in the day I don't have a good explanation for these numbers. He got a shot of convenia instead of me trying to medicate him orally, so in theory I would think this antibiotic is at a constant level and not peaking and dipping as if I were giving it to him orally. It supposedly lasts 14 days, so I decided to hold the 7 units for at least another day or so, just to see if he can work the dose some more now that he is feeling better. Besides, I have to go to Brooklyn tomorrow and will be out of the house all day with no one to monitor, so I'd rather he be a bit high than me be a mess of anxiety on the George Washington Bridge, dealing with NYC traffic AND my mother!
I called the vet clinic and got the technician to email me Jack's bloodwork results, which I updated on his Labs tab of the SS. To my untrained eye, it seems pretty good, with the exception of the WBC and neutrophils, both of which I expect to be high with infection. His BG was through the roof, but that was also to be expected, especially since he was 457 before we left the house. His cholesterol was high, but better than last year, so that seems good to me. The technician told me it came in Monday, but 'there was no vet to look at it'
I told her to email me and I'd look at it myself...for this I paid $600 


Oh, and Buddy's bloodwork came back and I did get a vet call one day about 2 weeks ago now....don't remember if I posted his update, but the bloodwork was good, the calcium was down to normal so they decided not to test for hypercalcaemia (thank goodness because after Jack's bill, I couldn't afford another huge lab bill) - so that's good. However, they still have no definite diagnosis; they are still saying either lymphoma of the intestinal tract or IBD. In the meantime though, he has decided to go back to normal and eat all of his breakfast and dinner and treats as long as it is Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers and a specific flavor of Temptations mix-ups...MY diagnosis....a simple case of....CAT!
Just happy he is doing better, and will keep steroids on hand if he starts to not eat again.
Have a good weekend all...sorry for being so long winded today, hope all the kitties and humans are doing well out there



Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-15-jack-240-amps.283604/#post-3123375
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypercalcaemia


SO....Jack is acting normal, playing, being a bit of a scooch to his older sister, but these numbers! I was just telling @Fistuk & Shelly that Jack has no pattern, and then I looked at his SS this morning and the sad pattern he is showing is waking up to an ok 200's and then spiking to the 400's later in the day for no apparent reason. His eating is back to his, albeit crappy, normal, so unless there is something wonky with the antibiotics kicking in later in the day I don't have a good explanation for these numbers. He got a shot of convenia instead of me trying to medicate him orally, so in theory I would think this antibiotic is at a constant level and not peaking and dipping as if I were giving it to him orally. It supposedly lasts 14 days, so I decided to hold the 7 units for at least another day or so, just to see if he can work the dose some more now that he is feeling better. Besides, I have to go to Brooklyn tomorrow and will be out of the house all day with no one to monitor, so I'd rather he be a bit high than me be a mess of anxiety on the George Washington Bridge, dealing with NYC traffic AND my mother!
I called the vet clinic and got the technician to email me Jack's bloodwork results, which I updated on his Labs tab of the SS. To my untrained eye, it seems pretty good, with the exception of the WBC and neutrophils, both of which I expect to be high with infection. His BG was through the roof, but that was also to be expected, especially since he was 457 before we left the house. His cholesterol was high, but better than last year, so that seems good to me. The technician told me it came in Monday, but 'there was no vet to look at it'
I told her to email me and I'd look at it myself...for this I paid $600 


Oh, and Buddy's bloodwork came back and I did get a vet call one day about 2 weeks ago now....don't remember if I posted his update, but the bloodwork was good, the calcium was down to normal so they decided not to test for hypercalcaemia (thank goodness because after Jack's bill, I couldn't afford another huge lab bill) - so that's good. However, they still have no definite diagnosis; they are still saying either lymphoma of the intestinal tract or IBD. In the meantime though, he has decided to go back to normal and eat all of his breakfast and dinner and treats as long as it is Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers and a specific flavor of Temptations mix-ups...MY diagnosis....a simple case of....CAT!
Just happy he is doing better, and will keep steroids on hand if he starts to not eat again. Have a good weekend all...sorry for being so long winded today, hope all the kitties and humans are doing well out there




Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-15-jack-240-amps.283604/#post-3123375
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypercalcaemia
