11/17 J.D. PMPS 364 - calming vines needed, please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
229 PMPS
189 +4.5
191 +7

J.D. was very purry and snuggily last night, once he ate all that good food.
This morning's number must be partly bounce, but also influenced by all the MC food I finally got him to eat last night.
His last meal last night was at +7, and he ate all his 1st Breffis of LC this morning, and is working on his 2nd Breffis.
He seems happy, and that makes me happy.

Now to hope the numbers come down nicely.
Hopefully, they'll be better tomorrow morning, as I will be skipping his shot.

Long Trip Feeding Question:
Shot time is 6:00am EST, and we leave for the airport at 7:00am. We fly from 9:30am until 4:00pm EST, and then drive to my parents home and will arrive there at about 6:30pm EST. I will have a baggy of EVO Dry and treats to give him a few, at times during the flight, other than that he will be going a long time without eating. I don't know if he'll eat the second we reach my Dad's house approximately 12 hours later.
How late should I feed him tonight? Until +7, like I normally do? That would then make it 17 hours without food. Maybe offer him some food early tomorrow morning, which he may or may not eat?
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. AMPS 567

Ive no advice on the feeding schedule, but if it's my cat I want to make sure he has as much food taken before the trip as possible.
Have a safe & happy trip Dyana.
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. AMPS 567, +2.5 443

So feed him all night, you think?

He's had 2 1/2 Breffises so far this morning.
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. AMPS 567

Hi Dyana,

Wow. Leo and J.D. have identical AMPS values this morning. Well isn't that special.

Will J.D. eat anything in the car after you arrive on the way to your parents? It sounds like he won't - Leo is the same way so I have to plan this trips accordingly. However, it doesn't sound like you can. If he doesn't get carsick, then I'd cram food in him before you leave, and give treats whenever he'd eat them. Maybe you can feed him all the way up to +10 depending on when you think it would affect PS numbers. Or, if you think (based on his values) you can just feed through AMPS and not have an accurate AMPS, but can get HI treats in him in flight ... I'm just throwing things out there, but just my thoughts. For example, Leo has been higher the past couple days, and I might be tempted to do that. I hope you get other suggestions.

Have a good day - happy on the purrs and snuggles!
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. AMPS 567, +2.5 443

With 1 hour drive to the airport and 2 hours at the airport and 6 1/2 hours of flight and 30 minutes to get off the plane and get luggage and 2 hours drive to my dad's house and how long I don't know until he settles enough to eat, it's a long time without food, so I will be skipping his morning shot, and I will give him some R as soon as I can when we land. That should help with his PM shot. Plus skipping the shot allows me to adjust for the 3 hour time difference.

I hope both our kitties continue to come down nicely today :-D
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. AMPS 567, +2.5 443

I'd think getting JD to eat & poo before the trip is more important than worrying about the numbers. You know how they'll hide if stressed or not happy.
Dont worry Dyana, enjoy your trip & holiday.
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. AMPS 567, +2.5 443, +4 369

Will bow to the others as they all give their thoughts...but i wanted to say that I wish you both a safe trip...
Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving and a really great time Dyana! Hugs to yous :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. PMPS 364

I could really use some more support from everyone here. As far as this flight and vacation goes.

J.D. did not eat his 1st Dinner yet, but I just gave him his shot, now. I also gave him about 1/8 of a cypro.
I have his bag practically packed, and just have to throw some stuff in my big suitcase for myself.

My dad just called and I found out my sister (from Oregon) is in town, and is going to pick us up at the airport.
I told him to make sure she knows to bring a little box, and some water.

I just get dripping with perspiration by the time I am the airport and board the plane. It just makes me nervous.

The second I opened up my big suitcase, Ginger started to have dry heaves. Poor baby.

I've talked to my neighbors and everyone has keys and will take care of her well.

I just hope the airlines still let the same old carrier on board, and that I can bring the same old carry on, and that J.D. does fine on the flight.
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. PMPS 364

Good luck Dyana and J.D. Sending prayers and good thoughts for a safe, easy trip for both of you. I hope J.D. Doesn't stress too much, and is able to eat a little.... 17 hours is a long time to not eat.

HUGS,
Kathie
 
Re: 11/17 J.D. PMPS 364 - calming vines needed

I just called my dad, and now he said he is going to pick me up and not my sister. I'm glad of that. If my sister picked me up, I would feel funny riding in the back seat with J.D. and her in the front seat all by herself. And there would be the strange car smell.

J.D. just had liquid poo on the rug. He had his front feet in the little box and his back half out. Stinky.
He just got a bath, and it's all over the sweatshirt I'm wearing that I was just going to wear tomorrow on the plane.
That will make anyone sitting next to me, move.. :lol:
 
((Dyana)) wishing you and JD calming vines for your trip. I don't really have any advice for your eating/shooting schedule you probably know better than anyone what is best for him. I hope all goes well and remember just breathe! I hope someone knowledgable comes along to help.
 
Sorry Dyana, just had to laugh at your last post about the sweatshirt. I'm sending as many calming travel vines as I can muster. Do you carry a travel litter box with you too? That would be a long time to go without that as well. I remember Lu-Ann saying that Grayson used the LB in the airport washroom just fine. I wonder if putting a towel over the carrier is some quiet place would make JD calm enough to eat. Maybe find one of those single person handicapped washrooms in the airport that might be a bit quieter. Can you take some shrimp or other food JD loves to the airport? Just throwing out ideas here. Neko will eat anything almost anywhere, so I don't have much experience to help with. The one thing though, on our trip to Colorado, she did want to be stationary and quiet to use the LB, and for eating. I'd also offer some of his favourite food in the morning. That might stimulate some LB use before you go as well.
 
I don't have any advice. I just wanted to say I will be praying for you that everything goes okay with your trip. I hope you have a good vacation.
 
Dyana,
I'm sure you've thought of everything i can mention but i just wanted to tell you what i did when ollie had to fly with me from FL toCA.
I put a small can of FF and several small pieces of tinfoil in a ziplock. I could make a little dish for him from the tinfoil and slide it into his carrier. it's not the neatest, but it crushes up went back in the ziplock when he was done. Also had several ziplocks with wet papertowels and a bunch of empty ziplocks. when he threw up, i took him to the bathroom and cleaned him up with my little wet papertowels. i also had a sort of large towel to put over his carrier to make his little space dark.



Sending you best travel calm vines
mary and oliver
 
Dyana, I have no advice about traveling, as I've never had to take a cat farther than the vet clinic.

I'm sending along 'calming vines,and prayers for a safe and easy trip for you and J.D :smile:
 
Sending calming vines for you and J.D. And of course Ginger.

Safe travels and keep us posted. We all will be waiting for your update, k?
 
Sending lots of calming vines for J.D. and for you! Maybe that should be a few bottles of wine! ;-) The only other thought that i had was what about freeze dried food rather than kibble? You could add a little water to reconstitute it easily on the plane. Too late for the trip out, but maybe for the trip home.

Have a great Thanksgiving here in CA!
 
((((Dyana and J.D.)))) Many calming vines, anti-liquipoo vines, fuds vines .... fingers and paws crossed for a low stress trip. I can't imagine it, and I travel with Leo. I love Mary's idea with the tinfoil dish - I am adding tin foil to Leo's travel kit. That is clever. And one can never have too many ziplocks and wipes. Let us know how it goes, and we are thinking of you!!!!
 
ecurie said:
Dyana,
I'm sure you've thought of everything i can mention but i just wanted to tell you what i did when ollie had to fly with me from FL toCA.
I put a small can of FF and several small pieces of tinfoil in a ziplock. I could make a little dish for him from the tinfoil and slide it into his carrier. it's not the neatest, but it crushes up went back in the ziplock when he was done. Also had several ziplocks with wet papertowels and a bunch of empty ziplocks. when he threw up, i took him to the bathroom and cleaned him up with my little wet papertowels. i also had a sort of large towel to put over his carrier to make his little space dark.



Sending you best travel calm vines
mary and oliver
Mary, you took Ollie into the airplane on the plane. I would like to do that but it is so small in there. I could test him, that would be such a luxury. I don't think, I could fit him and his carrier and me all in that little teeny room though.

Thank you everyone for the calming vines. I really needed them. We all did.
I went to over to my elderly german neighbor's house, and had a beer. When I got home, J.D. and Ginger ate their 2nd Dinner.
I'll keep feeding him throughout the night, I guess. I just slipped a can of FF Medleys into my jacket pocket. I must remember the big baggies for pee pads. He has little plastic cups that I can put some food and water in. And I'll be bringing some frozen steak slices for him. He should be happy. Once we're flying along, he'll eat a little.

Thanks LL family (((((hugs)))))).....
 
Sending calming vines to not only you but JD and Ginger! Have a safe flight and enjoy your holiday with your family!
 
Hi Dyana We lived in Holland and moved back to the states. We traveled with a poodle and a cat. That was some time ago so rules might have changed by now. We took the cat and poodle into the airplane bathroom to clean them up and feed them. It is small but a bit more quite for them. We took them out of the carrier and put them on a lead, the dog walked back, the cat we had to carry. They were nervous but seemed to like getting out of the carrier and seeing what was going on. If they allow you to take J.D. out of the carrier in flight you might try feeding him on your lap. He may be more likely to eat when he is on you. We also used a blanket over the carrier as Mary suggested and using a handicapped stall in the airport is also another good idea.
I wish and J.D. a pleasant and uneventful flight and vacation. Have a Happy Thanksgiving and visit with your family.
 
Calming vines for you, for J.D. , for Ginger.
Safe travels with Everything going smoothly as possible vines for your travels. Good Eating and no liquidpoo vines too.
 
Hi Dyana,

I've flown cross country with my cats (2 of them). I brought disposable litter pans that come with litter in them and they used them in the bathroom in the plane. It was crowded but they used them & we tossed them. I brought their dishes with me so they could eat and drink as well once in the plane. I opened the top of the carrier to talk to them and give food & water. My dh had Calli and I had Racci. I did give her insulin and in fact her time was while we were traveling so I gave it in the plane. I just gave a short shot. I tried to keep them on as normal a schedule as possible and it worked out pretty well.

Unless JD will get sick from traveling, I would really recommend that you do that too. He's running high numbers anyway so should be fine. Bring some treats he likes in case he won't eat and you can at least get treats in him. I also brought some kibble just in case and wound up giving some.
The only adjustment we had to make doing it that way was the time when we got back.

Good luck! I hope you have a great visit. Relax, it will go fine.

Melanie & Racci
 
Calming vines for you and safe trip wishes for tomorrow--J.D. has done this before and is an experienced traveler..Taking him out of the carrier a bit sounds good, hope you can do that..But otherwise, sending Safe trip vibes to the both of you--With Big Hugs & Love from us!!
 
HI Dyana
Just wanted to let you know we are praying for traveling mercies for you and J.D. Take deep deep breaths. Remember, J.D. will feel your tension so make sure you take care of yourself. I hope you get some sleep as well.

Have fun with your family!
Karen
 
Dyana, sending calming vines to you and safe trip and a wonderful time visiting parents. Your trip sounds like the trip I take when I visit my Mom on the east coast. I took me 14 hours in 2010 to fly from SD to my destination flight in State College PA, and that was just to the hotel! :lol: The next day I had to rent a car and drive home. She lives in the sticks.
J.D. and you will do fine! You've done it before. Have a great time. :YMHUG:
 
J.D. is walking around acting like he's hungry or a little nervous. He ate pretty good through the night.

He's 361 at +11. I just don't know if I should give him any insulin. I did put my glucometer in my jacket pocket, just in case I can test him while on the flight.

His bag is all packed. Now, I just have to throw a few things together for myself, and we are ready.


Thank You Everyone For Your Calming Vines and Well Wishes :YMHUG: I needed them.

~O)
 
I'm sorry to be late with my wishes but wasn't on last night. Have a safe trip...sending more calming vines. Enjoy the time with your family. Hugs and love.
 
Hi Dyana and J.D.
You are on the plane as I write, but just wanted to wish you a good flight. Enjoy your holiday with your family. J.D. : make it an easy trip for your mamabean. Stay calm!!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thinking of you two....hoping for a relaxed journey...enjoy the vacation Dyana! Hugs!
All the kitties will be heading over to visit with Ginger....I think they are planning numerous sleepovers! ;-)
 
Missed you before you left, but I do hope the flight went well. Thinking of you and J.D. - calming and safety vines for you both, and of course BIG HUGS! :YMHUG: Enjoy yourThanksgiving and save some turkey for J.D.!!
 
I'm sorry I missed you before you left. I know everything will be fine although I can understand your nerves. I know I would be a nervous wreck if I was flying with my kitties. I've never done it so I can only imagine how tough it is.

Have a safe and wonderful holiday!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top