11/17 Emma PMPS 157; +4 84

Manuel

Member Since 2022
Hm, seems like Emma is now dipping into greens with just a drop. At PMPS +4 she tested 86; I moved up her snack, kept it wet instead of a dry snack, but added a tiny bit of honey. I imagine this should be enough to prevent much more of a dip; her usual nadir is around +5.

====
No AMPS because the company I ordered my glucose strips from sent me the wrong glucose strips!! The box looks very similar so we didn't notice and put them in the shelf.

Should I shoot a single drop regardless, since I will be able to test by +2, when the pharmacy opens?
 
Last edited:
Thanks. Now to figure out what I'm going to do with 200 of these other glucose strips... :P
 
Freestyle Optium, which I believe are the international version of your Freestyle Precision. I requested a return but we'll see what they say. In the meantime I'm off to the pharmacy... :)
 
Hm, seems like Emma is now dipping into greens with just a drop. At PMPS +4 she tested 86; I moved up her snack, kept it wet instead of a dry snack, but added a tiny bit of honey. I imagine this should be enough to prevent much more of a dip; her usual nadir is around +5.

I am tempted to stop feeding dry food (she's at 11% of her calories coming from dry) and also stop the drop of insulin and see where she goes. I'm pretty sure if I stop the dry food and keep with the drop that she'll go deeper into these greens.
 
Is she getting a snack at +2 as well? Her nadir is around +5, and 86 is on the higher end of the normal range. You needn't feed higher carbs (honey) at that level and that late in the cycle. We want her to spend more time in green which is the range in which her pancreas can heal.

You could try cutting out the dry completely and see what that does.
 
Thanks, Bhooma!

She typically gets a snack at +2 (dry; 10% of calories) and at +5 (LC wet). This has worked well so far. But good to know that at +4 86 is nothing to worry about. Sometimes I’ve seen her hit a nadir at +6 so usually I try to estimate her trajectory and feed accordingly. With SLGS I thought the goal was to avoid going below 90, but I guess now that we’re near OTJ we do want her to spend time around 80.
 
I can’t cut out dry food immediately and continue shooting her unless I replace it with MC or HC wet, which I’ll need to experiment with. Fromm lamb I think is 4% carb compared to the 2% carb wet food that makes up the majority of her food. She had that sensitive stomach so I’m very wary of triggering her IBD.

I’m off to bed but I’ll check messages in the morning. Thanks for your faithful guidance!
 
If you are able to stop the dry you could follow TR and allow her to spend more time in green. I would stop the dry and see what she does on a drop for starters. You can always use honey if you find you need to give her some carbs to prevent her from dropping very low.
 
If you are able to stop the dry you could follow TR and allow her to spend more time in green. I would stop the dry and see what she does on a drop for starters. You can always use honey if you find you need to give her some carbs to prevent her from dropping very low.
Thank you. I'll drop to 2g of kibble, then 1g, and then 0 by the first week of December. I can probably add a tiny bit of honey to her +2 snack with wet to help compensate for loss of carbs from +2-4. And I'll read more about TR in the meantime!

To confirm, this means that, at 1 drop dosage, I'm no longer bound by the SLGS principle of trying to get close to 90 but not below it. You mentioned that 86 was on the higher end of the normal range. So I assume that I should aim to keep her between 70 and 120, until she heals and stays in the healthy cat range of 50 to 80.
 
To confirm, this means that, at 1 drop dosage, I'm no longer bound by the SLGS principle of trying to get close to 90 but not below it. You mentioned that 86 was on the higher end of the normal range. So I assume that I should aim to keep her between 70 and 120, until she heals and stays in the healthy cat range of 50 to 80.
The normal range of blood sugar for cats on a human meter is 50-100 mg/dl. There are some cats who run lower - we've seen cats dip to the 30s and 40s in OTJ trials - but when on insulin, the aim is to keep them over 50 when following TR. Some experienced caregivers modify SLGS to work with a lower reduction point - say 70 or 80 so that their kitties can spend more time in normal numbers. So that is one option for you till you make the switch to TR.
 
Back
Top