11/17 BOO AMPS 297 Need help with vacation dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi LL-

I'm leaving to for Florida tomorrow afternoon and will be gone four days. I need help trying to figure out what dose to pre-draw Boo's Levemir for the cat-sitters.

They will do pre-tests, but will not be able to be with Boo during the day, or even stall for a shot, so I figure I need to be somewhat conservative as they won't know his NADIR. I also don't know if his coming out of remission has anything to do with it.

Boo finally had some nice numbers at 2.5 units and may be trending downward.

Thanks all!

Wendy (and Boo too)
 
Re: Need help with vacation dose

sorry, no advice here either .. but I'm sure you will get some ideas before to long .. have a safe and fun trip!
 
Re: Need help with vacation dose

thanks!

We are going to the University of Florida-Appalachian State University football game. While I did not go to Appalachian, DH got his masters there and is located in the town where I work ( a teeny tiny mountain town in North Carolina). Appalachian's claim to fame was upsetting Michigan a couple of years ago :o

Boo had better behave while I'm gone :-D
 
Re: Need help with vacation dose

2.0u should be fine. However, it is not advised to pre-fill syringes. If you take a look at the sticky on how to handle Lantus/Lev, there is information advising against pre-filling a syringe. Your petsitter should be able to draw a dose that's on a line.

FWIW, I take water that I add food coloring to and load an old syringe with the amount I want my petsitter to shoot. That way, she has a demo model. Others have used a piece of tape to mark the amount on a demo syringe.
 
Good morning Wendy! :mrgreen: happy Wednesday to you and Boo! :mrgreen:

Here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29886

Sienne is right about prefilling syringes. What I did was left some colored water in a sample syringe for my PS. I also left a list of things...the "no shoot" number in case Shadow was down at preshot time. (I was super conservative and said that anything <200 was a no shoot because Shadow is a diver)
I left cans of HC gravy food too, marked with a marker and told her when to feed the gravy.

Shadow is on Lev too...late nadir, etc. If they can only test at preshot time, it is best to be conservative with the dose.
Will Boo eat food on his own during the day? Tell them to leave food out for him of course, right?
Are you comfortable with the 2.0u? Will they be able to contact you when they get to your house?
 
I'm ok with 2.0. They can contact me via cell phone if they have any questions, and I'll tell them to leave down plenty of soupy low carb FF out for him to graze on. I'll also make high carb available for them to put out if necessary. I'm debating on what to set my no-shoot number at though. 150? Boo has yet to drop very low-but of course that could change as soon as we leave ohmygod_smile

Thanks everyone for your help!
 
i'd go with 2.0 or 1.5, just to be safe. (leaning toward 1.5 coz of his heart, to avoid stress).

re predrawing syringes, effectiveness goes as time goes on. did see a study sometime this past year that said it was basically okay to predraw @70 hrs in advance but not much longer (for lantus, not sure about lev). other insulins like PZI could be predrawn earlier than that.
i usually predraw a sample syringe with some kind of colored liquid like tea, coffee, or pomegranate juice, in case the sitter has to draw up a syringe. i put mine on a window ledge so the cats cant get to it but wherever is safe for you. predrawn syringes of insulin should still be kept in the fridge in a spot that's less likely to be moved.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top