11/16 Squamee +10 167

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
Squamee did not eat last night. It seems like Gator's theory that her numbers are mostly food related is right on. I am not sure how to proceed today. I know not to shoot until she goes up (I think I will consider 200 the no shoot point) but then how much? And I can't be here all day--I am around for the next 2 or 21/2 hours. I will try to check in during the day, but I am not sure just when I will be able to. She is doing that just standing by her food and looking funny stuff, or lying under the dining room table. (I put sheets on the couches and I don't know if that is keeping her away). She has not taken the pill---not last night and not this morning. Last night I gave her the transdermal gel---but I don't know how well that works. I am going to hold off on giving it this AM for another hour or so, in hopes that maybe she'll take the pill.
Any recommendations on dosage or when to shoot? (what if she goes up slowly during the day? Would I shoot at,say, +18 or +20? or just skip the shot and wait till tonight so I am back to my 12/12 schedule?
 
AMPS 291 (at +12). Am going to shoot .5. Her AMPS is about 30 points lower than PMPS, so I guess holding steady is ok. Hope I am right.
edit--ended up doing .4 because she is not eating at all
 
I think .5u is just fine and I agree, if AMPS & PMPS are about the same or AMPS is lower you are making progress.

Fingers and paws crossed that she eats her food and her pill.
 
The not eating thing can't go on long with cats. They will develop hepatic lipidosis [fatty liver] fairly quickly. I would definitely have an understanding with your vet about how long she can go without eating [or just how little she can eat] and what actions you should take. I believe usually after a couple days of not eating at all is danger territory. But I would get input from your vet on that.

Also if they are not eating it is likely they are not consuming water as well. So when H would go through pancreatitis spells I would give the LRS.

Has Squamee been tested for pancreatitis?

Also when she does start wanting more food again her insulin needs will race off again. I think I mentioned before that when that happened to me I felt like I was a cycle or two behind trying to play catch up. But it's better to be a cycle or two behind then overcompensate. So you just kind of have to have some patience. At least with a variable type dosing you can catch up fairly quickly.
 
I can't believe I did it, and I am still shaking, but we just gave her LRS (that stands for lactated ringer solution?). Husband helped, and was in charge of monitoring the fluid bag. All your tips were most helpful, I warmed the bag with a heating pad that I wrapped around it and put in a blanket (it took a long time!). I used the Terumo 21g, 1 in. needle. I am feeling somewhat sick to my stomach from looking at that needle--but it is done! I used clothespins on her scruff and wrapped her in a big beach towel with a hole cut in it to put the needle through. She stayed pretty still, and I brushed her the whole time. She tried a little to go, but I held her and brushed her and talked to her, and she stayed. (but I would like to never have to do that again).

So- I spoke to the vet and he is concerned about her not eating. He gave me a syringe of phenobarb. to inject her with this afternoon,, in case it is her mouth that is keeping her from eating. I did that, but so far, she has not eaten. Oh, she did eat a little bit around noon, and also drank a little bit of water. (tho she tends to do this weird thing where she just stands over the water dish but does not drink.). But the phenobarb does not seem to have made a difference. He said to call him in the morning and let him know if she is eating.

He is thinking that maybe she has a brain tumor and is having petit mal seizures.

I asked about pancreatitis and he said that is a possibility he could test for, that usually they do a lot of drinking and it runs its course, but since she is not drinking much he could consider a long acting antibiotic injection.

She is due for insuliin in about 45 min. I will post her BG shortly. I assume it will be up and could use help in deciding dose. Thanks!
 
Shake it out! :-D Great job!!! It becomes routine after a while just like testing etc.

I don't know about the drinking and P-titis. That was not a symptom with H. Marcy and Robin should be able to chime in if that is a symptom for their kitties??

Antibiotics and may help with P-titis but not 100%. Oral antibiotics may upset the GI too which would = less eating. If she has had whatever antibiotic he suggests and she did well on it before then I would expect her to do well with it again. I do not know anything about long acting AB injections??
 
I don't believe she has ever had antibiotics before.
Today:
AMPS 291
+4 268
+10 297
I just found she vomited some time today. And she has hardly eaten. What does that mean for dosage? Can I shoot if there is a chance she may not eat at all tonight?
 
The long lasting injected antibiotic is Covenia. Dr. Lisa posted a warning about it and there have been a few discussions on the board about it. Read up on it before agreeing to it.

I only initially read enough to know that I shold say no to it. But when I was filing Harley's paperwork from being boarded by my Lovely DIL and she gave him back to me diabetic again, she had given him a dose of Covenia, it was on the invoice. I panicked and went back and reread about it, if they are going to have a deadly reaction to it, it will happen within the first 10 days, I was relieved and mad.
 
Thanks for alerting me, Rob. I will go check it out. I sort of remember reading about that---Dr Lisa was opposed because if there is going to be a negative reaction that would be long lasting. She felt you could not justify it just because it was easier than giving daily doses. The problem is , that Squamee has thwarted all my attempts to give meds---so I am not sure there is an alternative. I guess I will have to talk with the vet about being super sure that an antibiotic in indicated, and then discussing the possible negative effects. Damn, this gets more and more complicated!
 
It seems to me that she is needing .5 even when there is no appetite to speak of and vomiting is going on. I think .5 would be safe tonight. .5u at 300+ is a lot different than 1.1u at 170 [and not eating]. :smile:
 
Actually to my surprise she ended up going down there are the end. So .4u would have perhaps still taken her in the right direction. You may need to back off to .4u in the morning if her drop from PS to PS is bigger than 30 points.

You dealt with the 1.1 pretty awesomely so don't beat yourself up about it. :smile: I view it as a confidence building experiment.
 
wow, I would really hesitate to give her covenia..... really really hesitate....

I give fluids daily, and if it is p'itis that WILL help. I warm the fluids in hot water and it is much faster. also, the height of the bag makes a huge difference in how long it takes.

I never noticed an increase in drinking, but I do notice lying in a "frog legged" position Or some say a "meatloaf" pan position

and vomiting food

and decreased appetitie

fluids with B vitamins - if they inject B complex into the fluids you have to protect it from light. I have used a brown paper lunch bag over the fluid bag during storage.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top