11/16 Sooty PMPS 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
here's yesterday's condo...

Today: AMPS 315 +2 273 +4 243 PMPS 276

Well we're up to 7.0u now, uncharted teritory for us... !

Should be hearing from our vet today, about Acro & switching him over to Levemir, will let you know...

You know that tooth-grinding, that I asked about a couple of weeks ago? We just realized - it's stopped...! Not seeing anything obviously different about how he chews his food, so I hope this doesn't mean he's lost a tooth, or something...! I think we'll have to let the vet take another look, just in case.

Otherwise, all OK here today, so I hope everyone has a good Chewsday! (Off to tbp in a minute...)
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Hope Sooty isn't experiencing any dental problems as well. Bless his little heart. He's so fortunate to have such a great bean taking care of him.

Have a good day and let us know what the vet tells ya.
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

I hope this is the dose you have been working towards ... new uncharted territory could mean exciting numbers! I hope the vet doesn't find anything wrong with sooty's teeth ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Tena and Curry said:
Hope Sooty isn't experiencing any dental problems as well. Bless his little heart. He's so fortunate to have such a great bean taking care of him.

Have a good day and let us know what the vet tells ya.

Thanks Tena - you too - And yes, will do...!
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

PeterDevonMocha said:
I hope this is the dose you have been working towards ... new uncharted territory could mean exciting numbers! I hope the vet doesn't find anything wrong with sooty's teeth ... have a great day guys!

That would be good, his numbers are very puzzling lately! Thx for dropping by too - you always brighten our day! - hope Mocha plays nice today...
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Ok Sooty....more juice...hope you use it well. Can't wait to hear what the vet says...

ETA: what are your thoughts about switching to Levemir Perry?

I see 9/24 new vial....couldn't find another notation for the lantus...have you gotten a new vial since then?
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Ok Sooty....more juice...hope you use it well. Can't wait to hear what the vet says...

ETA: what are your thoughts about switching to Levemir Perry?

I see 9/24 new vial....couldn't find another notation for the lantus...have you gotten a new vial since then?

H Pat , we have decided already to do the switch now, because a) Levemir is kinder to inject in large doses (being pH neutral) and b) the current 10ml vial of Lantus is indeed, now about 7 weeks old. I really don't want to risk going to any new supply (of whatever insulin) and finding out the hard way, that our 'old' vial was not working and then we find are suddenly shooting 7 or more units of dynamite into him... could be dangerous.

Actually I was thinking about posting a question on here somewhere, to ask advice on that very point - whether it might be prudent to change (reduce) the dose a bit, when we do make the switch... for the above reason... I'm not sure what others have done, and do people usually keep the same dose of Levemir, as they were giving of lantus?
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Dental issues... Shadoe was up to about 14u when she went for her first ever dental. She had a good clean, and one upper rt canine was bad enough to pull, plus 3 others were iffy before cleaning.
Her dose dropped HUGE after the dental, so be sure to get advice on dose before and after dental work because you want to be prepared for any big surprises from Sooty.
When was Sooty's last dental and how do his teeth look right now? It may be an idea to get the teeth shined up so that you know any dose increases are not due to any lousy tooth issues.

As for switching to Lev, some do suggest to drop down a bit with the Lev starting dose, but I can't remember how much. That's a good idea to start a post to ask about the switch, but what you could do first is to search on the site for previous insulin switch advice.

Good luck at the vet.
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Dental issues... Shadoe was up to about 14u when she went for her first ever dental. She had a good clean, and one upper rt canine was bad enough to pull, plus 3 others were iffy before cleaning.
Her dose dropped HUGE after the dental, so be sure to get advice on dose before and after dental work because you want to be prepared for any big surprises from Sooty.
When was Sooty's last dental and how do his teeth look right now? It may be an idea to get the teeth shined up so that you know any dose increases are not due to any lousy tooth issues.

As for switching to Lev, some do suggest to drop down a bit with the Lev starting dose, but I can't remember how much. That's a good idea to start a post to ask about the switch, but what you could do first is to search on the site for previous insulin switch advice.

Good luck at the vet.
Sooty's never had a full (the kind they have to be anesthetized for) dental exam, but the vet checked his teeth a few weeks ago when we had the teeth grinding issue and we asked her to look - she said he has a little tartar but she saw nothing wrong. I'll ask her again about doing a full dental exam though... we have an appt tomorrow at 6PM... (I hadn't realized b4 but she's OOO on Tuesdays)...
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

if you look at Shadoe's ss around March18/09, you'll see we were at 14u BID, and from there it gets fuzzy because it was around the same time that I took her for her very first dental cleaning (even though the vet said the teeth did not look bad), plus we also switched over to Lev! On our switch, you'll see we decreased a fair bit but it could have been because of the dental work and a drop in her insulin needs.

It's pretty hard to get a good look at a cat's teeth no matter how still they are sitting and some problems are not really visible/above the gums. When I took Shadoe in, the vet had a chance to clean up all the teeth, then she Xrayed 4 'iffy' ones, and found that only one needed to be pulled with the others to be watched and checked on the next dental. For that reason, it may be an idea to get that first dental out of the way. Take off the tartar and see what's hiding underneath.
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

I am sure others will be by to talk about which dose of Lev for Sooty to start with....so exited for you guys!! :mrgreen:
It would be good to have the dental for the reasons Gayle mentioned....this is so exciting for you guys.
(uh...I mean, I hate dentals myself...the stress on me is worse than what my kitties go through...but afterward
...oh...it is so wonderful after the healing is done and the numbers start looking good again....)
Shadow needed 2 dentals this year...he gets a lot of plaque. But, who knows what is going on behind the scene with Sooty. It will be good to check it out thoroughly!

When do you figure you will be switching?
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Gayle and Shadoe said:
if you look at Shadoe's ss around March18/09, you'll see we were at 14u BID, and from there it gets fuzzy because it was around the same time that I took her for her very first dental cleaning (even though the vet said the teeth did not look bad), plus we also switched over to Lev! On our switch, you'll see we decreased a fair bit but it could have been because of the dental work and a drop in her insulin needs.

It's pretty hard to get a good look at a cat's teeth no matter how still they are sitting and some problems are not really visible/above the gums. When I took Shadoe in, the vet had a chance to clean up all the teeth, then she Xrayed 4 'iffy' ones, and found that only one needed to be pulled with the others to be watched and checked on the next dental. For that reason, it may be an idea to get that first dental out of the way. Take off the tartar and see what's hiding underneath.

Thanks Gayle it all makes sense to me but he vet is a bit reluctant, clearly. So I guess I'll just have to come right out and ask for the dental anyhow...
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I am sure others will be by to talk about which dose of Lev for Sooty to start with....so exited for you guys!! :mrgreen:
It would be good to have the dental for the reasons Gayle mentioned....this is so exciting for you guys.
(uh...I mean, I hate dentals myself...the stress on me is worse than what my kitties go through...but afterward
...oh...it is so wonderful after the healing is done and the numbers start looking good again....)
Shadow needed 2 dentals this year...he gets a lot of plaque. But, who knows what is going on behind the scene with Sooty. It will be good to check it out thoroughly!

When do you figure you will be switching?

Hi Pat hope your day os going well...?
Agree on the dental question...
On the Levemir, we'll switch just as soon as we can get the Rx and get it filled... OK we have over half a 10ml vial of Lantus left but we might as well do it now, as he's up to 7 units already and that's quite a big shot all in one spot. We're double-teaming him the last couple of days (he's been flinching lately when I give the shot) - Cathy scritches him behind the ears etc, while I do the shot - seems to distract him enough that he doesn't notice the shot so much... but an insulin that doesn't sting at all, sounds better each day!
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 & Dosecrease

All in one spot .... you can split the shot in two spots - that's no problem. You may even see some better numbers - some have tested by shooting in diff locations. Try it on the next shot and see how it goes - shoot half in one spot then pull out and shoot the rest in another spot. See if it makes a difference for him.

For Shadoe, I split her 8.5u in two spots: left of scruff and right of scruff.
For Oliver , I split his in 3 or 4 spots, depending on his current dose: keep the locations a couple inches apart.

the way I see the first dental is this: it's just like getting a full blood work done when you go to a new vet. It's like a snapshot at the starting line. The dental will get you to a good starting line, with all cleaning and extracting done, and then you can start keeping track of how long it's been. You and your vet will also know if there are a couple iffy teeth to watch.

It may be that Sooty's teeth just need a bit of a shining, but better safe than sorry.
If you had a toothache, or grimy teeth, and your dentist told you that your teeth did not look too bad, would you say OK and go home?
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 +2 273 +4 243

When you know when you will be switching, maybe give a shout again...Jill & Libby will take a look.
They usually do suggest a little bit less with the Lev but see what they say when you get close to the time, k?
Woo-Woo....so excited for yous! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 +2 273 +4 243

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
When you know when you will be switching, maybe give a shout again...Jill & Libby will take a look.
They usually do suggest a little bit less with the Lev but see what they say when you get close to the time, k?
Woo-Woo....so excited for yous! :mrgreen:
yep. let us know the day before you want to switch to lev, k? :-D
 
Re: 11/16 Sooty AMPS 315 +2 273 +4 243

Jill & Alex said:
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
When you know when you will be switching, maybe give a shout again...Jill & Libby will take a look.
They usually do suggest a little bit less with the Lev but see what they say when you get close to the time, k?
Woo-Woo....so excited for yous! :mrgreen:
yep. let us know the day before you want to switch to lev, k? :-D

Will do, and will put something in the Subject line... thx!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top