11-16 Small Kitty - amps 535 +11 391 pmps 380 +4 237 +6 256 - Heading down

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning eversybody,

This morning is a top scorer for the worst. Yesterday, following some good
results after making exercises I left the family go out.. Not sure if it's related
or if it was due to happen (high GL level), we'll never know. One thing is sure
is that the backyard gate was close and Small Kitty was not very far, he came
up within 2 min of calling. I also confirmed with neighbor that there was no
feeding, still in vigor...

I'll try not to care about it, on the 14th he must have came very low and it could<
be now that he's rocketing.

Sorry if many of my posts are pessimistic but I think they are realistic.

Wish all of you a wonderful day.

Sébastien

Yesterday
.
 
It does seem like SK is bouncing from something. I wonder how low he went last night? It's just one number. Try not to get discouraged. He'll come back down. It might be a good idea to try and get a test in sometime tonight to see what he's doing.
 
Sorry about the black amps, it's possible he is bouncing, but who knows if he ate something, maybe its both, with the data available it's not possible to make an educated 'guess'.

I haven't visited SK's condo for quite a while, so don't know what your schedule is, but if you can try to get an evening test before bed every night, and if you are able to and your schedule permits, grabbing a test in the am cycle would also be very useful(at any time whether that be +1 or +11 or anything in between). With just amps and pmps tests it's pretty impossible to figure out what's going on with SK.

At any rate, I hope you see some better numbers for SK.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(at any time whether that be +1 or +11

Thanks for your visit Gill ! I usually get a +3 or 4, that's withing bed time. What kind of information could bring a +1 and 11 ? I wake up slightly before am shot time and leave 1h after. Food is then being processed and insulin not yet travelling in the blood stream. I might also be missing some principles. Strips are not free here, must make good
use of them (almost 1$ each).

If this is of major help, guess it would be better in low numbers ? I usually see high numbers as lost
cause when doing a curve, a member mentioned a while back that this is what she was doing.

Thanks again for your visit Gill, no help is luxury.

.
 
Hang in there Sebastien, could be lots of things causing that discouraging bounce number . I have noticed that when SK goes outside your patio it seems like he throws a higher number..is there some way the neighbor is sneaking him food?? I know you've ruled it out but cats are quite resourceful and SK is pretty good looking....just saying...
He might very well be going lower when you are sleeping or at work.....
And I know you have to be careful with your strip supply ( dang that is $$$ you are going to have to deal with a lot of grumpy customers to keep SK in those!:p)
But could it possibly be a bad test strip?
Or the moon?
Bouncing kitties are aggravating and discouraging but hopefully SK gets tired of it and comes back down to less stressful to the Captain numbers. :bighug::bighug:
I'm glad you are staying with this, SK munching mice seems a sign he is still feeling like a feline should, lithe hunter that he is!!
 
I think Gill was saying +1 or +11 because that's the start and end hour between the shots so meaning Any hour you can after the shot will be better than no info..
Ideally a bit farther in when you suspect he's going lowest or close to that as I could test would be what I'd aim for..trying to nail down what that number is because that's the magic number to tell you what dose he needs. :cat:
At least that's how I understood Gills post!:bighug:
ETA that + 5 when he comes home would be a good number to test if you can, its pretty close to when the Lantus should be starting to head back down in strength, its pretty close to mid cycle
 
What kind of information could bring a +1 and 11 ? I wake up slightly before am shot time and leave 1h after. Food is then being processed and insulin not yet travelling in the blood stream. I might also be missing some principles. Strips are not free here, must make good
use of them (almost 1$ each).
I didn't explain myself very well. What I was trying to get at was to get at least one midcycle test on every cycle. It doesn't matter when that is.
Every test you get will give you some useful info.
eg if you were only able to get a +11, on one particular cycle then you could see if the numbers are going up or falling by ps, that will tell give you the heads up of the possibility of an active cycle.for example

How about this for a couple of scenarios:

If pmps was 400, then you got +11 of 100 then amps was 150,
although the amps might seem low, you can see that in actual fact his numbers are going up, and that he probably dropped lower earlier in the cycle and is actually now on his way up, so it will likely be ok to shoot even if you had to leave to go to work. If on the other hand you didn't get that +11 so all you had was a pmps of 400 and an amps of 150, you are left thinking OMG is he clearing a bounce? are his numbers falling? What's going on?, that would likely see you skipping, doing a BCS, or stalling (and getting of schedule) because of the uncertainty if you had to leave.
I'm not saying that a +11 would be better/ or worse than a +5 test just that they can all tell you something about how SK body is reacting to his dose.


Equally with a +1 consider this
amps 350 (SK has been in high numbers for a while)
+1 200 (ohoh! bounce clearing)
You have to leave to go to work, but no worries, SK feeder loaded with MC, and maybe you give an extra snack to help him surf.
pmps 420 (you know this is a bounce, from either the fast drop at +1 or he may have dropped further midcycle, or maybe you overdid it with the MC)

If on the other hand all you have is amps 350 and pmps 420, you have no idea that SK dived and is more than likely starting another bounce, so you don't know when to watch for it clearing, and have no idea that the dose is taking SK lower than those pinks and reds.


The point I am trying to make is that all data is useful. If for some reason you can't grab your usual midcycle tests ( and actually there is some merit in mixing it up in when you get the tests), then grab one at any time you can on that cycle.

The reason I made the comment is that when looking at the ss in the last 6 cycles you have only got one midcycle test on the 14th Nov, and there are quite a lot of evenings where there are no before bed tests on the ss, perhaps you haven't filled in the ss?? So I was just trying to remind you :)

Strips are not free here, must make good
use of them (almost 1$ each).
They are not free here either, if I had bought Pet meter strips here the cost would have been $1.40 (canadian), that's why I chose to use a human meter 28 cents a strip (5 tests for the price of one!!!). I wanted not to feel limited by my finances when testing George, and though the numbers won't match what the Vet Labs get they are good enough to make the dosing decisions when following either dosing method we use here.;):)
Just something to consider.:)
 
That is soooo interesting ! I always knew there would be a way to drive the curve
with type of food. Right now we're at a maximum of 2% car level or none (I guess for
raw it is) for the in between feeding. I'll try to see if a dive is expected to keep him
out of low numbers. You're right Gill about test not performed after sleep, this will
change now that there is no more +2 feeding. I always felt there was no value in testing
after food is being processed. For strips it's not that bad, I made deep study on using
human freestyle lite strips on AT2 meter and the results is negligible. AT2 strips are
simply a steal.

Small Kitty will be jailed for now so I can get +5 or 6 to know where he's heading
Results above red level after more then 6 months of juice is perplexing.

Thanks to everyone's help, appreciate.
.
 
But could it possibly be a bad test strip?
I'll test them on Big Brother, he's always around 4.

I've eared you mention that testing one one side compared to the other makes a difference ?
Was this a joke ? I usually test on the left side but it's a bit damaged right now to I test on the
other side so it could heal. The right ear is more ''bloody'' so I use it less often, when Small
Kitty is unhappy being tested he shake his head and blood is splashing everywhere
(including my clothes..) :banghead:.

Even though he's a very cooperative kitty, purring as soon as he's in my harms.
.
 
Come on down SK!

I like Gill different scenarios to illustrate the value of testing at +11. That would mean you getting up earlier to get that test. Also, if it were me, I 'd switch to a human meter also to save on strips as the AT 2 strips are pricey.
 
freestyle lite strips on AT2 meter
I have a freestyle lite as a back up and the strips are quite pricey here too about $1.40 CAD for a strip so not much different to the pet meter, it might be worth investigating which human meters are more economical, I'm not sure which are the best ones in Canada.
I love my freestyle lite because of the tiny drop of blood needed, but I retired it to my back up because it was more than 4 times the price of the one I used as my primary, and if you have ever looked at Georges ss, and over the time it took us to get George regulated that made a considerable difference cost wise.

I always felt there was no value in testing
after food is being processed.
If he were to start clearing a bounce and was diving LC food would likely not affect his numbers. As long as you note (which you do) on your ss when and what you feed him you can make sense of the numbers, for those midcycle tests it does not matter if he has eaten. Having a test in the cycle, even if it is food influenced is better than not having a test at all.
 
:eek:
I'll test them on Big Brother, he's always around 4.

I've eared you mention that testing one one side compared to the other makes a difference ?
Was this a joke ? I usually test on the left side but it's a bit damaged right now to I test on the
other side so it could heal. The right ear is more ''bloody'' so I use it less often, when Small
Kitty is unhappy being tested he shake his head and blood is splashing everywhere
(including my clothes..) :banghead:.

Even though he's a very cooperative kitty, purring as soon as he's in my harms.
.
No not a joke! Gussie has a difference almost consistently between ears..some times it's even about 10! Usually at least over 5 ! Sometimes tho it's the same..it could be where you are hitting that taps into the vein rather than the capilary..Sometimes I have that happen with Gussie..might over time look like a crime scene under ultraviolet light!! :eek:
 
Strange this difference in GL between one hear and the other... :confused: Might worth
testing everywere to seek out lower numbers as moral enhancer :).
Big Brother scores at 90 with this batch of strips so it sounds they're fine.
(btw, I verified other strips at www.diabetesexpress.ca (in Ontario, Canada)
and the cheapest strips are 40 cents each. I verified my ebay biddings and
this is what I ended up paying last time. Still have some vials in stock.
 
I tested Small Kitty on arrival from the office and he was at 391. This was 1h before
Feed / shot time. I will see if he goes down in 1h. The case being it might worth
waking up during the night to see if he's going down.

The only problem is that both Small Kitty and Big Brother are used to be fed
when I arrive, they are now very upset. Same thing at the morning, if I do a +11
it would mean making them wait 1h. after they see me...

Can someone feed and give the shot 1h. after ? Or is feeding BEFORE (1h) shot
counter indicated ?
 
Last edited:
Small Kitty and his brother really didn't like to wait 1h. before being fed.
Had to catch him up on the patio (it's raining and pitch black).

At least we now know he will get lower during the night so I will test
and feed accordingly at +5 or 6.
.
 
Last edited:
Do you have any freeze dried treats you can give during those extra tests? It's not a good idea to feed and then shoot one hour later. The idea is to get a test about the same time you shoot so you'll have an accurate number for Pre-shot. If you feed one hour before and then shoot your PS test will be food influenced.
 
I see! To remember you ha IMG some problems getting freeze dried treats. An alternative would be a tiny bit of poached chicken breast. I've heard folk say that they cook a batch dice it up onto small pieces then defrost portions of it on a daily basis.
 
Do you have any freeze dried treats you can give during those extra tests? It's not a good idea to feed and then shoot one hour later. The idea is to get a test about the same time you shoot so you'll have an accurate number for Pre-shot. If you feed one hour before and then shoot your PS test will be food influenced.

I have chicken slices witch are usually dried treats that I settle down in water. Gave them some
but it was not sufficient... They're used to the real thing :(
 
I see! To remember you ha IMG some problems getting freeze dried treats. An alternative would be a tiny bit of poached chicken breast. I've heard folk say that they cook a batch dice it up onto small pieces then defrost portions of it on a daily basis.

The batch of raw food I prepared in in ice packs, small ones and medium one depending
on the portion I want. Would 1 tea spoon of this chicken based raw food influence the
test result an hour later ?
 
Small Kitty is definitely on a dive bombing run.

Just deployed the dive break / flaps with what I tough was MC food
when it was actually 15% carb..... oups...

Might have left him alone and see where he was heading to increase or reduce..

Will see in 2h what the dive breaks have done. Hope they won't rocket him
up :nailbiting:
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top