11/16 Skooter PMPS 106 +1.5 94 +3.25 71 +5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
11/15 Condo

I have not left the house since I got home from work on Friday and have not looked outside. But as I type this, I do believe I hear the snow plows working on my driveway. I am going a little stir crazy, but I am thinking I will be homebound for yet another day. But with an AMPS like that, I am A-Okay with that.

I did retest the 65 and got a 62, so I kept the 65 as the average would have been 65, rounded up to 64, would only be a point different than the original.

This is the lowest we have ever SHOT. We have had lower numbers before but I have not felt comfortable shooting them because I have not been home to monitor or knew I would not be able to come home from lunch to do a midday (and yes, I did go through his spreadsheet to confirm before writing that lol).

He did get his small snack at +9 (3am), which I think has helped keep this lower number. I am not sure I want to do the +9 during the week when I am not sure I will be able to come home everyday due to weather or meetings....am I totally screwing with his system if I only give him a +9 snack before AM cycles on the weekends? I can set his autofeeder to give him a small snack at +9 for PM cycle, no problem......the AM worries me when I am not here to watch him.
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +1 65 +2 69

Great job with shooting low!

You could always experiment with setting the feeder during the AM cycle to see if your PMPS is lower. What I found with Gabby is that it's a bit random whether her pre-shot is lowered by feeding at +9.

I went to grad school at U of MN. I remember winter there all too well. And, BTW, thanks for sending the snow to Columbus. I feel like I paid my dues with snow after 5 years in the Twin Cities.
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +1 65 +2 69 +3 71

Sienne and Gabby said:
You could always experiment with setting the feeder during the AM cycle to see if your PMPS is lower.

I like this idea as then I do not have to be at work freaking out if he is going too low....I know how they act in the AM cycle can differ than the PM cycle, but if I can get comfy with his PM cycle with the lower numbers (if the trick works), then I can get more comfy with the AM....

Sienne and Gabby said:
And, BTW, thanks for sending the snow to Columbus.

You are ever so welcome....here in MN we love to share! I guess that includes the snow as well. I have a friend who lives in Kettering (not sure where that is in relation to Columbus), but he always feels the need to thank me for the snow as well....


I am thinking I should be good to give him a break and test at +5 (skipping +4) as he seems to be holding his own. He normally does not do huge drops after +3....Then again, I suppose I could go for a +4.5 and then a +6 depending on what that reading is....He is getting a little not happy with the testing, but since this is my first time shooting this low, I want to get some good data....should I be doing hourly testing for the sake of gathering data?
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +1 65 +2 69 +3 71

Wow! Look at Skooter. Still surfing green. :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +1 65 +2 69 +3 71

Hi Molly,

Congratulations on the lowest shot number! It's too bad that we are three hours away. I would be happy to check Skooter during the week at AM + 9 if you'd do the same for Clare at PM +9! :lol: Well, the time hasn't come yet for Clare anyway.

You and Mr. Skoots are making such great progress together!

Have a restful day,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +1 65 +2 69 +3 71 +5.5 107

Congrats on the new lowest PS!! Skooter is looking fabulous!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I can't advise you on the testing, as I am a testaholic. Just ask Cinco. cat(2)_steam :lol:
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +1 65 +2 69 +3 71 +5.5 107 +9 89

Looking great Mr. Skooter!!

Surf those pretty numbers for your mama! She's getting to be quite good at this dance!! :-D
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +1 65 +2 69 +3 71 +5.5 107 +9 89

I saw your question about the drop dose on someone else's condo. 0.1u is more than a drop in most syringes, so that is the dose a cat goes to after 0.25u when they are going down the dosing scale. There are pictures of it on the New to the Group sticky.

I had also thought they were the same, but realized I'd gotten confused with Marje's post on using calipers and finding some particular syringes held 10 drops to the unit. In my experience, different syringes are easier/harder to draw up the 0.1u. Bigger barrels make it extremely difficult, thinner barrel syringes are much easier.
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +5.5 107 +9 89 PMPS 106

Thanks for the info Julie!

So IF Skooter earns a reduction down to .1 then is the next step a drop or OTJ after that?

Is it dumb I feel a little teary (good teary) over his AMAZING cycle today and that he hasn't really bounced (at least not yet).

I think I will take Sienne's advice and add a small snack at +9 during the am cycle to hopefully bring his PMPS number down....once I get a little more comfy with shooting these lower numbers, then I will add it to his PM cycle (3am) as well...
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +5.5 107 +9 89 PMPS 106

Typically cats go from 0.25u to 0.1u to an OTJ trial. You're seeing lots of flat green cycles with skooter, so I'd assume that would be Skooter's path. Mary has been giving one drop to Mikey because he was going under 50 on 0.1u but then bouncing into high numbers in between. That's not typical. Most of the time cats do what Skooter is doing.

which is pretty awesome, isn't it?! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +5.5 107 +9 89 PMPS 106 +1.5 94

Well, I sure hope he keeps this up.....

Part of me is still waiting for the other shoe to drop and for him to bounce super high......

I have a turkey breast cooking in the oven....granted, it won't be done til about 10 or 1030 tonight, but it shall make for nummy lunches this week!
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +5.5 107 +9 89 PMPS 106 +1.5 94 +3

Yay Skooter!!!

I am really really really just trying to enjoy this amazing weekend he has had....most of BOTH days have been GREEN....but it is hard not to be thinking ahead to tomorrow and if he is "lower" again if I should shoot or not....I don't think the weather will be bad, but the only problem with my new job is there are a TON more meetings and I forgot to look at my calendar on Friday for tomorrow, so I am not sure if/when I will be able to come home.....

Currently cooking a turkey breast (lunches for the week!), so the house smells super good right now and even Skooter has been hanging out by the oven, sniffing around...

To keep myself up I am currently watching With Honors.....Brendan Fraiser, Joe Pesci, Moria Kelly, Patrick Dempsey and Josh Hamilton.....


I believe this came out my sophomore year of high school and I remember going to the MOA (Mall of America) to see this opening weekend. I just had to see it opening weekend. I remember being mad because my friends didn't want to see it until Saturday and I really really really wanted to see it the opening night, but alas I had to settle for opening weekend....I cried like a baby (which would be no shock to anyone who knows me lol)
 
Re: 11/16 Skooter AMPS 65 +5.5 107 +9 89 PMPS 106 +1.5 94 +3

Hi Molly

I've missed posting to you and Skooter lately because you all have been doing so awesome. Great shooting this morning, too!
There have been some cats that have just gone into remission from 0.25u and one who is on a trial now that is like that is Chris Farley. It used to be like that in the old days but now most people drop to 0.1u before they try a trial.

Yikes on all that snow. I do not miss living up north at all. I hope you can safely get to work if you have to go.
 
Thanks for all the visits....

FINALLY ventured outside and there was very little snow...I am not sure what I heard this morning, unless of course the neighbors were up and out early, which is possible....

Final test of the night as I need to get some sleep.....very impressed with my Skooterbear this weekend!

As I am not leaving out a +9 snack for him tonight (as I am not comfy with shooting a lower number yet when I am not home), I am completely anticipating a high 100 number in the morning....I would prefer a mid to low 100 number or even a high 90, but we shall see.....I am going to try to remember to add a fourth "meal" aka snack at +9 for tomorrow during the day and see if that helps or not....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top