11/16 Revson AMPS 287. 1st Curve day, please review

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Revson

Member Since 2011
After last night's fun of super high numbers I decided to curve test today.

This is what's he's eaten today:

Primarily (1) can of FF Flaked Shrimp/Fish
Fresh Chicken & Shrimp. Very small amount of canned tuna (mixed with FF)
Some BeechNut Turkey/Turkey Broth baby food (0% carbs on the label)
Some EVO Cat & Kitten Food - Turkey/Chicken Formula
Possibly some Before Grain Tuna, not sure if he actually ate any
Purebites Chicken crumbled on food.
Purebites Shrimp for treats when getting poked.

*Concerned that we have 3 hours until next shot and his numbers are climbing*

Comments?
 
Not EVERY LL kitty gets a first AND last name! :-D

Sorry, I haven't followed Revson's progress, so I shouldn't comment on dose. I checked the protocol, though, for this:

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

Not sure why you tried a .5 increase last time, then moved to .25, but looks like another increase is in Revson's future, after 5 or 6 shots at 1.75.

I would probably hold steady tonight at 1.75, because he does look better today than yesterday. Maybe the shed is filling, and you'll see more action on this dose. But hopefully wiser ones will come along!
 
Amy, this is the 4th cycle on 1.75u, you will need to wait 6 cycles before increasing. His numbers are better today, as Kathy said. Hang in there!
 
Hi Amy & Revson...Looks like a pretty good day today--As Laurie said, I would hold the dose also--Lantus takes well to consistency & patience...THis is his best day so far..Let's see how he does tonite.
You are doing great especially this curve, you got a lot of info by doing this...Good job.
 
I agree with Laurie and Sandy. I know you don't want to see high numbers. Sometimes, it's a matter of gritting your teeth and holding the dose in order to make sure that it settles in and you get the results you want. If you raise the dose too rapidly, you can easily end up giving too much insulin and seeing big time bounciness.
 
great job getting those tests in - so his low point of this cycle was at +4, and then by +8 he was at 336. interesting. i'm wondering if the 336 is a bouncing number - if so he'll keep going up after his pm shot. your tests this evening will tell us. since one thing we're trying to see is if he's bouncing, i'll be really curious to see what he does this evening.

his numbers are better than yesterday! you're on the way - hang in there!
 
This calls for -


:-D ;-)
 

Attachments

  • pink-fur-lined-handcuffs.jpg
    pink-fur-lined-handcuffs.jpg
    7.4 KB · Views: 270
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top