11/16 Racci AMPS-149,+4-95,PMPS-99 Adequan-BG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=83236
11/15 Racci AMPS-132,+3.5-117,PMPS-148

Happy Friday!

As you can see, Racci is still running mid blues. :? I really don't understand why she's not running greens. Her dose is high, she's not in pain that I can tell, she looks well, is not constipated, has no bottom rash or infection. The only things I can think of are the food again or possibly the Adequan. Has anyone who uses Adequan noticed an increase in BG?

I hope you're all doing well and have a great weekend planned. Also hoping that Moonie is feeling better and Roni has made progress with the house and moving into the apt.

TTYL, Hugs!
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149, Adequan-BG?

The other point you overlooked in your list is maybe Racci needs more insulin. Is there any way you can start getting tests during the PM cycle? I'm not comfortable suggesting you raise Racci's dose without PM spot checks.

I've not seen Adequan raise BG numbers. Take a look at the ingredients to make sure there's nothing in the drug you have that would not be used with a diabetic cat.
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149, Adequan-BG?

I know Patty of Patty and Champ uses adequan on Champ. She'd have to confirm it, but I'm pretty sure she has not noticed a rise in Champ's BGs since she started using it. I think Dyana uses Adequan with J.D., too...

Food could be an issue. Trixie seems to very sensitive to some foods that are techinically consider LC. For example, if I feed her Wellness Chicken, her BGs run all over the map, and if I remove it from the menu, she settles down again. For her, I recently started blending FF Classic Chicken, Purina One Chicken Pate and Purina One Turkey Pate, and all of a sudden she started asking for lots of dose reductions....could be coincidence, but I think it's the fuds.

I hope you figure out Racci's numbers!!
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149, Adequan-BG?

I agree with Sienne and Amy...I've not seen adequan raise BGs on cats getting it.

Sometimes our kitties just need more insulin...even on a dose they've done well with in the past. But you have to be able to get enough tests to be sure that an increase is appropriate and safe.
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149, Adequan-BG?

Hi Melanie, Glad Racci is well :-D hope she comes down soon. Food and insulin seem like good avenues to explore. Could your insulin be wearing out? Could some ingredient in Racci's food have changed?
Really sorry you are still sick, healing vines for you and hope you feel better soon. Still looking forward to seeing Racci in her new wardrobe when you can get to it.
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149,+4-95 Adequan-BG?

Hi Sienne,

I thought about the insulin but I already brought her back up to 3.25u when she was finally almost down to 2.75u! It makes me sick, it took us so long to get there and I had to shave so many times to do it. I was thinking of going to 3.5u again. I just hate bringing her all the way up there once more.

Right now I'm very low on strips. I'm waiting for her order to come in so not testing too often. I'm going to have to start using her other meter tomorrow though and that's going to throw me off with different numbers which will be confusing. The other meter is about 15% different usually. :?: :YMSIGH:

The Adequan has alcohol, sodium hydroxide,hydrochloric acid, water & polysulfated glycosaminoglycan. Are alcohol or salt bg raisers?

Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149,+4-95 Adequan-BG?

Thanks Amy. If they don't notice my thread, I'll send them pm's to ask them about the Adequan. Maybe they'll have some feedback since they use it.

The food is very likely with Racci also, like Trixie. I've had trouble with this BG from Merrick and in fact this is what started Racci's rise in numbers! The company swears they did not change the formula, yet it is changed. It definitely looks different. I have to buy certain months expiration dates because they are the most like the old formula. It's crazy. It's the only food she will eat though so I can't just change foods!

Thanks for your help!
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149,+4-95 Adequan-BG?

Hi Marje,

Thanks. Now you know why I was in no rush to reduce her the other day. :smile: That was almost a freak event for two days the way Racci is going lately. I answered your post last night by the way on my post from yesterday. I probably should have put it here. Whenever you have a chance.

When my new strips come in I'll get some more tests again and see if she does need another increase. I don't want to do it with the wrong meter. It will be too confusing to base changes on.

TTYL
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149,+4-95 Adequan-BG?

Hi Leslie,

Good suggestions but the insulin is new. As I just said in another post though it could very well be the food. They did change her food and she won't eat anything else!

I'm definitely going to do some shopping for Racci but just haven't been able to do much of anything without falling asleep in the middle with this bronchitis. As soon as I feel up to it, I'll be shopping and I will definitely have Racci model them for you. :lol: I can't wait.

I hope you all have a great night!
 
Re: 11/16 Racci AMPS-149,+4-95 Adequan-BG?

Hi there!!! I give Champ an Adequan shot (32 units) every two weeks and there's no change in his BGs at all on those days. Don't fret about having to raise the insulin dose. Many of us had to do the "must go up to get back down" routine a few times. It's all part of the process and certainly doesn't mean OTJ isn't in Racci's future. Unfortunately, there aren't any shortcuts in this dance. Good luck!!
 
Hi Patty!

Thanks for your reply. I appreciate your feedback. Racci is getting .325 of a unit but she's on her last week of twice a week. Next week it will be once a week and the following week she'll be where Champ is at - once every 2 weeks. It's still pretty new for Racci. She seems to be in a lot less pain though she's still not able to jump or walking great. Have you noticed a large difference?

I've had to bring Racci back up several times already. It's very frustrating. I really don't expect her to go into remission but do really want her in normal numbers to keep her organs safe. I think she's probably too longterm & old & complicated healthwise for a remission. I just took it as such a good sign that she was able to maintain normal numbers with a smaller dose. If I have to raise it I will though. Thanks so much for the feedback!!

Have a good night!
 
Sorry for posting in yesterday's condo, but I didn't see one for today yet!!

I'm having trouble figuring out what dose of Adequan you have Racci on. It should be 2 units (2 mg) for every pound of weight. Since Champ weighs 18 pounds, he gets 36 units (I accidently wrote 32 units yesterday in your condo). I had to buy separate syringes that hold 50 units for his Adequan dosing. It seemed to me that it took longer for Champ to see any effect from the Adequan than other cats. He does jump up on the couch and his cat condo again, and he does jump up on the bed, but he's DEFINITELY not graceful. He doesn't quite make it sometimes and, since he doesn't seem to hurt himself, I allow myself to laugh because it IS funny to see!!!

Now, I know other people have propably given you grief over this, but....just a question....how come you don't check Racci's BG right before you go to bed? You know it only takes a second and can help you out. I know you know this, but I needed to say it. Champ has actually gone from the 300's at his 7 p.m. shot time down to the 50's by my 11 p.m. bedtime. Do I stay up all night because of it? Not any more. I know my cat. I always save his last mini meal for when I go to bed. If his number is falling at bedtime, I know I just need to put a spoonful of Elegant Medley's on top of his regular food and he'll be just fine. He doesn't even need high carb, just mid carb food. Of course, that's my cat. Everyone else's cat is different and reacts differently to different foods....you just gotta know your own kitty. Regardless, a BG check before bed really is the right thing to do!!! Just my 2 cents and I hope you know I'm saying it with an arm around your shoulders, not smacking your hand!! :-D
 
Hi Patty,

I just had today's condo all ready, went to hit submit and somehow lost the whole thing!!!!!!!!! I'm furious and was trying to get it back. that's why it's not up yet. GRRRR!

Ok, The Adequan dose is .3.5 ml (not 325, I made a mistake). Don't ask me why the vet did it in ml instead of mg but she did. She also wanted me to use these syringes that are total 1ml!! They would be super easy to read especially if you were doing micro dosing, however they are 25 gauge with a huge needle (that I don't put in all the way) and have this huge Monoject logo in the way when you're trying to read the dose. It has 100 units and the whole thing adds up to 1ml. Racci was about 21 lbs and change last weigh in about a month ago. Maybe I will change to syringes like yours.

I used to check Racci at +3 at night but it's been too hard lately since I'm sick with bronchitis on top of my body aches & pains which are worse in sympathy. You would have no way of knowing but I have severe chronic pain issues (spinal & RSD). Racci's shot time is now 11am/pm so +3 isn't as bad as it used to be at 3am but at any rate, still not working while I'm sick. I do still feed her at night though and I do know Racci. In the over 3 years she has had diabetes she has only had a large difference before 3 hours 2x so it is not a real good way to judge what she will do, tho sometimes is and if I give her a lc meal it will work 9x out of 10 anyway. So I've been making sure I give her a meal at the last possible minute before I fall asleep and leaving her some more. 3 to 4 hours is when she usually starts really dropping and then it is a dive. She has not been normal lately though. She has been high. I also leave a dish ready to go in the fridge in case my dh wakes up before I do. If Racci goes low though she will wake me to feed her. She is always hungry when she is low and I am a very light sleeper. When I feel better I will go back to spot checking her on +3 or 4 at night.

Poor Champ! :) It probably is funny but it's a good sign that he is trying and sometimes making the jumps. He's been on the medicine a few weeks longer than Racci I guess if he is getting it every 2 weeks now. Racci will be starting her 5th week. She still has not tried to jump up. There is only one place she will jump down from and she half slides a lot of the time. She does let me brush and touch her all over her hips and legs now and did not before. That's the big change I see so far but not in her movements yet. Maybe in a few more weeks.

Thanks. I'm going to try to reconstruct that condo again. :YMSIGH:

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top