11-16 Moey AMPS=51 +1=52 +2=48 +2.15=48 +2.30=59 +3=53 +3.5=61 +5=84 +7=71 +9=81 PMPS=105 +2=108 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

11-16 Moey AMPS=51 +1=52 +2=48 +2.15=48 +2.30=59 +3=53 +3.5=61 +5=84 +7=71 +9=81 PMPS=105 +2=108

Briere Fur Mom

Member since 2019
11-15 (Yesterday) Good morning lovelies! I hope everyone has a beautiful day and a wonderful weekend.

Wish me luck....shooting my first 51! I was actually a bit shocked with this AMPS because his cycle was more or less blue last night. Maybe he'll want to stay at the lagoon most of the day today. Moey's cycles are looking good. A little more blue creeping in lately. We'll take the blues over lemons and "cotton candy" any day! I wonder if the Lantus is starting to lose potency? It's been in use for almost 8 weeks now(being punctured 4x daily). While on NPH-N it seemed after 6 weeks the insulin started losing potency. Hmmm... no way of knowing unless I open a new pen.

Prayers for all the sweet ones and their Beans. Be good, lil sweet furry babies....surf safely and avoid those pesky sharks!
 
Last edited:
Another late nadir for Moey, be sure to get a +1.


I wonder if the Lantus is starting to lose potency? It's been in use for almost 8 weeks now(being punctured 4x daily).
No I don't think it's losing it's potency, with that 51, it looks to be working just fine.

It can last a lot longer than 6 weeks as long as it's been looked after.

. A little more blue creeping in lately.
Last nights blue's were low blues, as long as he is nadiring in the 50's hold that dose, no real margin to take him up, he may just need a little more time to settle into a lower range, or he me have other ideas.

Surf Safely moey.
 
Moey is looking pawsitively wonderful! Congrats on shooting your first 51! Doesn't look like Ittle gave you the opportunity to earn these so here you go..........
upload_2019-4-17_18-5-3.jpeg
 
Well I'm not seeing a food bump yet. The question is should I try to steer now or wait a little bit longer? ATM the MC I have available is 15% and the HC is 20%. Ran out of the 13%:oops:
 
Sometimes it takes 20-30 minutes for food to affect BSL. At 48, it's not too different from 51 so next time, you could try to wait 30 minutes to re-test after feeding higher carb to avoid overfeeding.
 
Sometimes it takes 20-30 minutes for food to affect BSL. At 48, it's not too different from 51 so next time, you could try to wait 30 minutes to re-test after feeding higher carb to avoid overfeeding.
Yeah I may have hit the panic button too soon. I get squirrely on #'s around 50...as y'all know by now:rolleyes: I was telling myself that 48 is essentially 50 but, then my nervous side kicked in. He had no food bump this morning which played into my decision I guess. :nailbiting:
 
Looks like Moey has a surf on.

cat-and-dog-surfing-peter-adderley-canvas-print.jpg

Regarding the dose tonight, have you given that thought?

Moey is a long term diabetic, so unlike his Bro, Ittle, he earns a reduction with a single drop below 40,

From the TR sticky
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
Some CG with long term diabetics use 3 drops under 50 on separate days, this is taken from the protocol as it is followed on the German cat forum
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Looks like Moey has a surf on.

cat-and-dog-surfing-peter-adderley-canvas-print.jpg

Regarding the dose tonight, have you given that thought?

Moey is a long term diabetic, so unlike his Bro, Ittle, he earns a reduction with a single drop below 40,

From the TR sticky
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
Some CG with long term diabetics use 3 drops under 50 on separate days, this is taken from the protocol as it is followed on the German cat forum
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
So basically...he hasn't earned a reduction yet. He needs to drop below 50 at least 1 or 2 more times.
 
The three drops below 50 is not for long term diabetics, but rather for cats that don't hold reductions well. In other words, can also be used for relatively new diagnosed kitties. Of course, it could be argued that many long term diabetics have a hard time holding reductions.

The other guideline for reductions, no matter how long diabetic, is a week in largely normal numbers. Maybe Moey will pick that one.:D

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
My, my, my! Look at that Moey work that juice! Great job Briere! It's always great to check in on your cuties...what a model for those other kitties (names, I shall not mention, who just don't get with the program (Luci???) - oh yeah, I said, no names didn't I)...she's so stubborn...

You guys are looking good! Keep up the great work!!:bighug::bighug:
 
So basically...he hasn't earned a reduction yet. He needs to drop below 50 at least 1 or 2 more times.
I just want to clarify that it’s three drops between 40-50 or one drop below 40 or a week in normal numbers mostly below 100.

You did a great job shooting today and managing the curve. I’m also glad you held the dose. Beautiful cycle, Briere and Moey!
 
Back
Top