11/16 Mocha-pmps 81/.5=136/+1.5=170/+3=214

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think the bounce cleared days ago - bounces are usually high and pretty flat whereas Mocha has been coming down from blacks at least into yellows. An additional night test would really help shed some light on what is happening. Ugghh on the house buying such a horrible stressful time, but won't it be wonderful when you're all settled!
 
I think the bounce cleared days ago - bounces are usually high and pretty flat whereas Mocha has been coming down from blacks at least into yellows. An additional night test would really help shed some light on what is happening. Ugghh on the house buying such a horrible stressful time, but won't it be wonderful when you're all settled!
Indeed it will be amazing. So much work to be done here and there. I guess I don't test her early in the night after the pm because to me she seems to only go up and the pattern is somewhere around 3:30 am for a dip. She has not woke me up (thankfully) the last two nights and I am sleeping in her turf to avoid plane noise upstairs.

Since she plummeted I will be getting a curve every 2-3 hours or less (if drops, 30 minutes).....

The view from the new home will be amazing from the 11th floor looking into the city of Chicago. We don't travel so pretty to see from a distance and also off a golf course with ponds in view.....city and country together. Perfect for two people who can't travel with physical ailments.
 
Last edited:
Hi Kari, I really think you need to do a full curve in the next day or so and continue getting more tests. She has really big drops and it's hard to tell with the data you have what she's doing during the day :)
 
Even when Furball was high at PMPS or AMPS I would always try to get a +2 when I could just to make sure she wasn't going to surprise me and go down. If you can work it out, an early morning test (around +9 or +10) during the night cycle is a good idea.

I hope things work out with the house buying.
 
Hi Kari, I really think you need to do a full curve in the next day or so and continue getting more tests. She has really big drops and it's hard to tell with the data you have what she's doing during the day :)
I am in trouble. I have never missed the glucose read except tonight. I am not feeling well and after the insulin I realized it. She was a mere 81. And she was given the same dose as before 3.75. I am scared. I gave her gravy food because I figure her drop is coming in a few hours. I am furious with myself. Of all the times to do this and her have her first green!

The honey is to be given only below 40 right?

testing every 30-60 minutes until she rises correct?
 
I think the bounce cleared days ago - bounces are usually high and pretty flat whereas Mocha has been coming down from blacks at least into yellows. An additional night test would really help shed some light on what is happening. Ugghh on the house buying such a horrible stressful time, but won't it be wonderful when you're all settled!
ah, yeah she cleared the bounce and now I am hysterical about her possible dive to hypo......no sleep tonight
 
You're Ok....that 81 is good and the 136 means she's going up but it could just be a food spike. Keep checking...you got this Kari.
I wanted to bang my head on the wall. I think I saw others spreadsheets that show they were ok with giving insulin below 90. But, I should have reduced the dose by .25. I can't believe the day swing......509 to 81! I think this girl can go to remission. Maybe I am a dreamer but she is kicking the numbers down to the floor isn't she from way up high?

How long does the food help keep numbers inflated? I don't want to "stuff her." I stopped feeding after the last read but feeding a few spoons is how I must test her....but will only go back to the low carb until another drop is my plan.

SHOULD I TEST HER EVERY 2 HOURS, AS LONG AS HER NUMBER IS NOT DROPPING? THEN GO EVERY 30 MINUTES?
 
It's actually good that you shot the 3.75 because it will help her through the potential bounce but surely reduce in the morning. Good that you stopped feeding her incase you need to give her a little later. By the looks of your last test @ +3 she's doing good. I'd probably test again in 2 hours and as long as she's not going down it's likely safe to get some sleep. To be on the safe side you could also set your alarm for +7 depending on the +5 reading.
 
It's actually good that you shot the 3.75 because it will help her through the potential bounce but surely reduce in the morning. Good that you stopped feeding her incase you need to give her a little later. By the looks of your last test @ +3 she's doing good. I'd probably test again in 2 hours and as long as she's not going down it's likely safe to get some sleep. To be on the safe side you could also set your alarm for +7 depending on the +5 reading.
Thank you for input. Just wanted to be sure. Gives me an excuse to get more boxes packed for awhile yet and then a snooze. Have a good night! This is the VERY FIRST ONLY NIGHT she has not been staring @ me on the computer for more food.....evening hours are the most difficult. I am pleased that she is content for once!
 
Hi Kari!

I agree with Karen - Mocha's +3 test looks like she's going to be OK. That said, it's possible that you're seeing a combination of the last dose wearing off, a food spike, and some influence from the HC foods. I think it's unlikely she's going to go real low, but not a bad idea to get another test at +4 or +5 just to be safe.

So, intentional or not, you're going to get some good data on how Mocha responds to shooting lower. Often, with bouncy kitties, when you first start shooting those lower numbers, they're still going to head into the inevitable bounce regardless of having shot low. But, having that insulin on board can help them fight back through the bounce.

I was suspicious with the black shots that Mocha's been sneaking lower numbers in there. So, bounces can last for days - meaning that you see fairly high flat cycles that go on for cycle after cycle. Or, they can clear the bounce, meaning the drop out of the high numbers, but immediately climb into the next bounce. I think that's what Mocha's doing. Like Serryn said above, she's clearing those black pre-shots into the 200's at least (and very possibly lower). Even when she's black at pre-shot, I would still try to get in a +2 or +3 test. Sometimes when they're cliff diving, they seem to nadir much earlier. Those huge drops can set off the next bounce just like hitting low numbers can set off a bounce. When Eddie's diving or looking for a reduction, he will sometimes nadir as early as +2. If I didn't catch those early tests, I would be missing reduction numbers. For the kitties that get into the vicious cycle of bounce-dive-bounce-dive, you can sometimes them break out of that cycle by 1) shooting those lower pre-shot numbers which keeps them flat and doesn't give them a chance to climb up to the 400s or 500s, or you can help slow them down from big drops early in the cycle by food manipulation. I think before you start doing that, I'd like to get a better feel for what she's doing between her black pre-shots.

I'm curious to see what your thoughts are on reducing. Since you're doing SLGS, 90 is the cut off for a reduction, she has earned a reduction with the 81 at pre-shot tonight. However, having shot that pre-shot, you can see what her response is, and make some decisions from there. SLGS normally wouldn't shoot a 81 pre-shot, but you've probably seen a lot of TR folks shoot numbers in that range.

I'm going to go ahead and take the liberty of awarding you @Marje and Gracie 's Balls of Steel for shooting an 81 (even if it was unintentional) ;):

boshand.gif
 
@Jen&Eddie
Funny. Needed that after my day! As you can imagine, those black numbers make you look in disbelief and that GREEN number made my eyes red hot and cry in disbelief until I pulled myself together because she is tied to my emotions like a shoestring. Yesterday was tough with a house surprise and she gave me at least 3 neck massages. She knows......but today the house is going smooth until this mishap. But, things happen for a reason and I do believe I needed to see her response. I saw my card about not shooting and it horrified me. Tomorrow will reduce her to 3.5. Two reductions back to back for weeks is amazing to me, considering her spikes. Will get more data. I thought I was seeing a pattern in the cycles but maybe I am not after all, could be missing it. Thanks for the detailed reply.[/QUOTE]
 
The tough part, particularly with our rainbow kitties, is that their nadir can be all over the place. Some cycles it might be at +2 and some cycles it might be at +12. Makes it that much more important to get a smattering of tests throughout the cycle to fill in the puzzle. Eventually, you'll be able to start to spot some patterns. For example, you might eventually see that Mocha likes to drop early in the cycle, and then head right back up to the next pre-shot. Or, you might be able to spot a pattern that warns you she's going to slide all day long and nadir at shot time.
 
I'm sure you'll never do it again - and no one should that 81 could have been a 41 - but I'm a bit glad you shot without testing this morning or you probably wouldn't have shot at all :D What a roller coaster ride for you today! I'm sure Mocha took it all in her stride though :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top