11/16 Max amps 169

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Max started his renal diet last night (Royal Canin). He likes it so far, but I think it is causing his numbers to be a little higher. I was also wondering if he was bouncing because of yesterday’s cycle. I guess it could be because of both bouncing and increased carbs in the renal diet. I was wondering if I should hold the dose just like I normally would since he had those green numbers yesterday or if I should go ahead and increase a little because of the diet. What do you think @Wendy&Neko ? I took Max today for the urine culture. They also did an ekg and the vet listened to him. She said it was normal sinus rhythm with a mild grade 1/6 murmur. She still thinks I should use the sub Q fluids 50cc once every week or two to flush the kidneys. I’m still anxious about doing that so I don’t know? The vet made our referral to Internal Medicine. Waiting for a call to get that appointment.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-15-max-amps-84.283623/#post-3123557
 
Let's wait another day and see what his numbers do. If they trend up higher, you know it's the diet. In the last little while, he's gotten over bounces from lower numbers in 3 cycles or less.

Are you checking his resting respiratory rate each day? Once a week 50ml doesn't seem like a lot, especially if you closely monitor his RR.
 
Sounds good to wait a day. He’s looking like he’s going to come down tonight so far. Thanks!

Yes I do check his his respirations regularly. His are between 22 and 26 usually, so they’ve been fine. Maybe the fluids would be fine. I’m just freaking out about everything lately. I wasn’t expecting his kidneys to decline so fast.
 
Back
Top