11/16 Lovey AMPS 221 +4.5 83 +5.5 101 +7.5 154?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
I am wondering whether to reduce a little. I reduced to 2.25 units and I like the green numbers, but I am not sure if it is too green when I am at work. I have been feeding extra food when I see a lower number before nadir.
Do you think a fat 2 might do the job? I am concerned when I am at work or if I get a lower preshot. I guess I could try and see what happens. does a reduced dose need time to settle in to see if it is effective or could I tell right away?
 
Hi Catherine, normally we wait until the cat goes under 80 on the Alphatrak before reducing. Lovey is getting close. I'd suggest taking advantage of the weekend to keep her at the same dose and see if she tells you she needs less insulin by going under 80. You could re-evaluate tomorrow night before you go back to work.

With members with relatively newly diagnosed cats, we don't recommend fat or skinny doses at this point. We also don't wait for a reduced dose to "settle in". From the protocol under the section on reducing the dose:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.
That means that once any bounce clears, if you aren't seeing nadirs you want, then you go back up again in dose. Paws crossed Lovey helps you with the decision this weekend.
 
Looks like she got awfully close to that 80 today Catherine!!

You probably didn't need to feed more at 5.5 when she was at 101 but she stayed and surfed nicely for you so she's looking good!!

Just a housekeeping note...I see on your spreadsheet that on 11/11 AM cycle, she had bounced into the 500's...that's supposed to be a black number..not sure where the brown came from unless you colored it yourself, but then on 11/12's AM cycle, she was at 410 and you've got that same brown color...it should be red

No big deal, but it helps to keep those colors straight just so it's easier to see those patterns

Be interesting to see how she does the rest of the weekend on the 2.25 dose...she may just earn that reduction!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top