11/16 Leo AMPS 304, +3 274, +6 274, PMPS 331

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Last Condo:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56375

Well we have seen no action from the vial that my dad purchased on Monday, so now we assume its the cat and FD :roll: I am relying heavily on my father to make sure that nothing is wrong with Leo. He tells me everyday that Leo is doing fine, playing more often than usual, eating lots and starting to drink more water. Grandpa tells me that he thinks Leo is very lonely and misses me and that he's always wanting to hug and headbutt. Grandpa also told me to stop babying Leo so that he'll toughen up while i'm gone to work...... :lol: I just spoke to DGp and he told me that Leo's tummy seemed to be a bit sore last night, he thinks the belly scab is really starting to bother him, he was wondering if there was anyway to encourage it to fall off, i told him just put a warm, wet compress on it and that's all we can do. But other than that he said that Leo was in a great mood this morning and he belly wasn't bothering him. I told my dad to start Leo on methyl B12 again so his neuropathy doesn't come back with a vengeance.

I asked my dad point blank yesterday what percentage of food he was feeding Leo, he said "those blue-green cans in the package that you brought, you know the ones that say 15%" The FF elegant medleys?!?!?! :o :o I had bought a wack-load of medleys and gravy foods for Leo to eat when he was sick a few weeks back, and my dad thought that's what we were still feeding him. So since Friday he's been eating HC fuds more often than not, he is back to eating LC fuds as of yesterday mornings +4.

We have seen no action from Leo being on 1.0u, and this morning was cycle #6 on it. His cycles have been yellow and pink, and in fact he now goes higher at his usual nadir of +3. So barring any action today, i have instructed my dad to take him up to 1.5u for tonight.

Yesterdays Numbers:
AMPS 328
+3 328
+6 324
+9 313
PMPS 293
+3 333
+6 279

I am so confused by his numbers lately, why would he go so high after being so well regulated for so long?
 
Re: 11/16 Leo AMPS 304

I have no advice and no idea what could be going on with Leo. ((((Tracy)))) Could it be from the higher carb food, maybe have an infection of some kind going on or maybe just the stress of you being gone? Is Leo hunting or is it too cold in Canada? There are so many things it could be or it could just be the cat. I hope you figure it out and get him back into those blues and greens where he really loves to be.

DGP is really getting a grilling. :-D I know you worry so much while you are gone. It has to be stressful. Hang in there and have a great day Tracy!!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/16 Leo AMPS 304

Tracy & Leo said:
I am so confused by his numbers lately, why would he go so high after being so well regulated for so long?

If you figure this one out, please let me know! Leo and Trixie are definitely in cahoots these days. I have to raise her to 2 units tonight...never thought I'd see anything near "2" before.

Maybe Leo just needs a little time to clear all that HC. Hugs to you guys!
 
Re: 11/16 Leo AMPS 304

I hope Leo enjoyed living in the land of HC while it lasted! It must be hard trying to coordinate all the details of his care long distance!
 
Re: 11/16 Leo AMPS 304

As far as i know Leo feels great, DGp takes him outside every few hours to do his "kitty business #1 and #2" and all other P's in place. DGp told me everything is as it should be, i asked if he thought Leo had some sort of infection and he didn't think so. Mouse hunting season has officially closed for the winter and its cold out, 5 F with lots of snow so he's no big fan of going outside now. I would think the HC would have cleared his little system by now. I also asked about kibbles and were there any out that Leo could get his paws on? Nope, they don't have any kibble in the house at the moment.

DGp gets a thorough grilling twice daily. I should become a detective or investigator of some sort the way i question my dad. I should seriously consider finding a job in the city, one where i'm home every day :roll:
 
Re: 11/16 Leo AMPS 304

Hi guys .. no advice on what could be causing leo to be so high .. It has to be frustrating after seeing him so well regulated, but I know he will get back there, it's just probably going to take time .. hang in there!
 
((((((Tracy)))))) I hope the new dose and getting him back to LC fuds will help. I know haw hard it is to be away to the furbabies, i skipped the trip to japan again this year, mainly because of Tess (although I don't admit it to others.) You are doing so well and your parents too. Leo is lucky to have such a family!
 
Tracy, that is so frustrating. I hope he comes down soon. I'm glad to hear he feels good. 5 F, is that the high or low? I'll have to check the weather channel.
Liz

ETA: that's the high. Brr!
 
Tracy --

These aren't Leo-like numbers. Unless there is some residual response to the HC food that just over taxed his pancreas, I'd want to rule out anything out of the ordinary. If Leo's numbers don't start coming down by tomorrow, I would have the vet take a look at the scab. Sometimes, when a wound heals, it can heal over an infection. I don't like the way Leo's SS looks and I don't think it would be a bad idea to have some blood work (e.g., a white count) done and let the vet take a look at the scab.
 
Good luck Tracy - I know you must be concerned about Leo's numbers. Sienne may had a good point. Maybe the vet should take a look? I dunno... It is good though that he feels well, and is juts being Leo. It does make one wonder when they go to numbers like these after being so regulated. Back to the good stuff Leo!

I almost had to chuckle at the 15% fuds feeding... been there too. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top