11/16: Lando AMPS: 109, +1 146, +5 90, +107 PMPS: 101

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
I'm hoping for some insight into Lando's spreadsheet today.

I've noticed the last week or so that Lando is spiking HIGH for a couple hours after his 'before insulin' meals. But this issue seems to be kind of sporadic. He is mostly getting the chicken pate, sometimes other flavors but it's the ones that have always been in his rotation.

We're still on FF pate like we almost always have been. I'm trying to figure out what's going on and how I should respond. I opened a new pen to be sure it wasn't the insulin, but part of me is worried all his insulin could have frozen and thawed in the fridge and I didn't notice (my fridge sucks!) And that's my worst fear, as I have 10 pens in there. I want to try to decipher the issue before I go through the hassle of getting new pens and opening one before I have to.

Food is the same as well as behavior. Unsure if I should try a new food, an increase again? I don't think it's from dipping too low, but I'm trying to get mid cycle checks every chance I get (work schedule has been crazy lately) We have a trip planned in a out a month for 4 days and Lando is coming with, so I want to get his squared away beforehand.

ANY insight is helpful!
 
Hi Tank! I'm not sure what to tell you, maybe you could try to increase? I am sure you will have better advice than mine here but I wanted to say hello, and check Lando's hat, too :)
 
Since it takes about two hours for the onset of insulin what you are seeing could be a food bump. Max didn’t onset often before +2.5 unless he started in low green. Lando gas been on .25 for a long time. I think you have room to increase though.
 
Since it takes about two hours for the onset of insulin what you are seeing could be a food bump. Max didn’t onset often before +2.5 unless he started in low green. Lando gas been on .25 for a long time. I think you have room to increase though.
I was thinking about an increase again, but it's just weird to me that I've noticed his pre-shots rising since we went up to .25 and I just can't tell if it's too much insulin or too little since we're doing a sugar dance right now

He always got a little bit of a food bump but it's never been anything like this, he'd usually bump up a couple points but seeing him +50 points 3 hours after insulin is weird for him. I couldn't tell if it was an insulin efficiency issue or not. I'm just getting a little stressed out cuz I want to figure out what's going on before we go on this trip and screw him all up on top of this :nailbiting:
 
If getting too much insulin his bg would be dropping lower. I think he needs more juice. JMHO.
That's what I'm hoping and it's that simple cause I'm just overthinking everything! I'll probably try an increase tomorrow evening since I'll be home to monitor all Friday evening and most of Saturday!
 
Okay so starting today I'm going to start marking on my notes which flavors I'm feeding for each meal to see if that helps me narrow things down! (The AM cycle of snacks is the same as Breakfast and the dinner snacks are the same as dinner) that way it can help me look, and I'll get some more insight through today and tomorrow morning on if we change the dose :)
 
Last edited:
He's so patient. I should try with Bella, not sure she would love to play. The cat I had growing up was very patient with me. I loved to dress her up as a "patient" (I wanted to be a vet, or a doctor, she was my first patient): She wore pretend casts on her legs, dresses, hats... she would go about her day wearing whatever and did not care. Bella is too much royalty to accept that :rolleyes:
 
He's so patient. I should try with Bella, not sure she would love to play. The cat I had growing up was very patient with me. I loved to dress her up as a "patient" (I wanted to be a vet, or a doctor, she was my first patient): She wore pretend casts on her legs, dresses, hats... she would go about her day wearing whatever and did not care. Bella is too much royalty to accept that :rolleyes:
Oh my gosh! She sounds like she was a sweetheart!
Lando absolutely loves to wear his hats, he happily sleeps in them. Now, he won't wear shoes or a harness, but hats are perfectly acceptable. He knows he's the king of the house :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top