? 11/16 jade AMPS 172+2.5=256 PMPS 557!!

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
Another strange 12 hours with numbers for Jade. See thread below. This morning I decided to give .5 unit instead of 1 or none. I will be able to check her every 3 hours. I still don't get how she can be so low in the morning and what it means. Tomorrow is curve day. I hope I did the right thing by giving her juice this a.m.
Also, can someone explain FD and insulin to me in very basic terms. I need a FD For Dummies breakdown. The technical explanation seems to go in one ear and out the other. I don't understand how it works or what i need to be looking for to understand the numbers. I really just know that red is bad and blue and green are good. What exactly is nadir? Again, without being too technical (if possible). I have really bad A.D.D. and it makes learning new things a bit more difficult for me :banghead:. Hard to even ask for such basic help, but I really need to so that I can not be as baffled on a daily basis in regard to Jades treatment. Thank you, I know this is a lot to ask.:bighug:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-15-pmps-448-amps-166-ns-4-400-pmps-453.255494/
 
Last edited:
As you gain experience number you can shoot lower. You could have shot the full dose since you can monitor.
 
As you gain experience number you can shoot lower. You could have shot the full dose since you can monitor.
Ok...can you take a look at my edited thread above? Since I'm giving her a curve tomorrow, I wanted to avoid poking her every 2 hours today or I would have gone with the full unit. Today I will be around but not all day, like tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
Ok...can you take a look at my edited thread above?
Nadir is the low point in the cycle. Lantus is based upon how low it takes your cat and not the amps/pmps. You test to make sure it’s safe to shoot. If low, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if rising on its own. That’s when you should post for dosing advice. You ideally want that to be between 90 and 150 with SLGS. I suggest you post for dosing advice if you see a number under 200. If told to shoot, the person suggesting that will guide you through the cycle should Jade have an active cycle.

Does this help at all?
 
Nadir is the low point in the cycle. Lantus is based upon how low it takes your cat and not the amps/pmps. You test to make sure it’s safe to shoot. If low, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if rising on its own. That’s when you should post for dosing advice. You ideally want that to be between 90 and 150 with SLGS. I suggest you post for dosing advice if you see a number under 200. If told to shoot, the person suggesting that will guide you through the cycle should Jade have an active cycle.

Does this help at all?
It does, thank you. I sure wish this would have happened during the lock down and not the week I started a new job. What should I look for at +3 to know that she will be ok for a few hours?
 
Also, what number at +3 will let me know that she will be ok until I can test again at +6?
?
If the +3 is a lot lower than 172, test at +4. Lantus usually starts working around +2-3. So if lower than the amps you need to test more. I’d get a +4. If about the same get a +5. If higher get a +5-6. If a lot higher you don’t need more tests fir that cycle. It’s good to vary the tests to see how Jade responds. I knew Max would onset, Lantus would start working, at +2.5 so that test helped me decide what to feed and when and when I needed to test.
 
If the +3 is a lot lower than 172, test at +4. Lantus usually starts working around +2-3. So if lower than the amps you need to test more. I’d get a +4. If about the same get a +5. If higher get a +5-6. It’s good to vary the tests to see how Jade responds. I knew Max would onset, Lantus would start working, at +2.5 so that test helped me decide what to feed and when and when I needed to test.
I won't be able to test every hour today, that's why I only gave her .5. Tomorrow is curve day, and that's when I will be home to test her every 2 hours. If she is higher than amps at +3, is it ok for me to leave for 3 hours?
 
If higher at +3 you can go. Feed a little low carb and it’s fine to leave some out. I thought you were home today.
 
If higher at +3 you can go. Feed a little low carb and it’s fine to leave some out. I thought you were home today.
I am off today and tomorrow but I have a few things that I need to take care of today that will take a few hours since I will be staying in for the most part all day/evening tomorrow. I"ll make a grocery run tomorrow during one of my 2 hour windows.
 
If the +3 is a lot lower than 172, test at +4. Lantus usually starts working around +2-3. So if lower than the amps you need to test more. I’d get a +4. If about the same get a +5. If higher get a +5-6. If a lot higher you don’t need more tests fir that cycle. It’s good to vary the tests to see how Jade responds. I knew Max would onset, Lantus would start working, at +2.5 so that test helped me decide what to feed and when and when I needed to test.
+2.5=256 whew!
 
557!!!!! I gave her 1U but how does this happen?? She's acting fine.....I will take down the "911" but I am shaking at this #...
 
It’s not an emergency. What you are seeing us a reaction to the skipped dose and the reduced dose this morning. She needs the juice. This too shall pass.
 
It’s not an emergency. What you are seeing us a reaction to the skipped dose and the reduced dose this morning. She needs the juice. This too shall pass.
Omg. Thank you. I am in tears. I appreciate the quick response and will remove the “911”.
 
I think I’m going to push her curve from Wednesday to Thursday since I tweaked her dosing twice this week. It’s easier than explaining to the vet why her numbers are so wonky since she said not to bother testing her in the first place. If her amps is low ( under 200) in the morning again like the past two days, should I go ahead with the full unit so that her curve will reflect her true #’s? I can keep an eye on her tomorrow. I’m off tomorrow and Thursday. I’m still a bit shaken on seeing 557 on the meter this evening.
 
Back
Top