11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57,+4 48,+4.5 60,+6 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denise & Honey

Member Since 2012
Looks like she had a nice night.
Previous Condo

*** just realised I was an hour out on my times listed.
Don't know what happened there - just fixed them

amps 134,
+2.75 56,
+3.25 58,
+4.25 84,
+6 98,
+11 108
+12 84
 
Re: 11/16 Honey amps 134,+2.75 56,+3.25 58,+4.25 84

oohh that was a bit stressfull!
I'm getting used to numbers in mid 50s at +3 but I had to go out for at least an hour and there was no one here to test/feed.
So, I gave her a bit more MC (actually LC (TJ Tuna) & gravy ) than I would normally and then worried the whole time I was out.
Luckily, all's well!

It was my son's first kindergarden performance for Thanksgiving - no way I could miss it... :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - dosing advice for pm shot

Her +11 (actually +11.25) is 108 - she's been green all day.
I also had to give her LC+gravy as I didn't want her going below 50.

This is the 4th cycle on this dose when I've given her gravy to keep numbers above 50.
Wondering if I should reduce back to a 1u Fat?
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - dosing advice for pm shot

Thanks Rhiannon - very happy with the numbers but I feel like she will drop more unless I manage her - not sure if that's good or bad :?
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - dosing advice for pm shot

Denise

I wouldn't give her gravy to keep her above 50. When you first had low numbers, we might have had you give her gravy to keep you feeling in control. But after the first time, you shouldn't need to give her anything but LC if she's above 50. For a newly diagnosed diabetic, you don't want to try and keep her from earning reductions like we do with long-term diabetics who fail reductions. Let her have them....the point is to go down the dosing scale :-D :-D

If you
  • have all the supplies
  • are well and rested
  • can stay up and monitor

I'd shoot the 1.25u and just feed LC. If she goes below 50, then use the gravy and take the reduction tomorrow and see how she does. She's already nadired today and is on her way up so she might come up a little more before her PMPS.

What do you think?
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - dosing advice for pm shot

No no!! You can shoot that number. It's just a second dip. If you meet all the criteria I set above, I'd go for it.

Sometimes what happens when you stall is numbers keep dropping. This is a very shootable number. You might have a busy night because my guess is she's ready for a reduction but even if you stall, you'll have the same busy night because of the depot.

So if you have supplies, are rested, and can be up and monitor...SHOOOOOOTTTTTT!!!!!!
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84

ok - shot (at least, that's how I feel...! phew!)
Read your post Marje and ran back upstairs to do feed & shot.
Got all the supplies except almost out of kitty crack :shock: but I have FF appertizers - not sure about the "rested" bit...

I thought if the pmps was less than the +11, you stalled?
And I thought we try to keep them above 50 if newly dx - so I should wait until she's under 50 to give HC/gravy?
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84

Stalling is for new members without any data or for when a kitty is not in numbers safe enough to shoot. You've got lots of data, you've handled low numbers, 84 is a safe number to shoot. Shoot low to stay low when it is safe to do.

Tomorrow, I'm going to do a "Today's Lesson" on Stalling so instead of putting it all here, you can read it tomorrow. :-D :-D :-D

And no....you don't want to keep a newly dx cat from earning reductions. You want to allow them to go down the dosing scale and move towards remission.

Feed her at least two good tsp of LC food now and then get a +1 and +2. I'll be checking on you and I can stay up with you if need be, ok?

Good job!!! Great Shooting and you earned your BOS!!!
file.php


See you at +1! And Honey...now you can eat, sweetie!
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96

Great. We want to just feed LC....do you normally feed her at +1? It's ok to give her a tsp or two but you don't want her too full in case she decides to drop below 50 during the cycle.

See you at +2. :-D
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96

sometimes she finishes off food at +1 but I usually give her more at +2.
It depends I usually don't test until +3 because her numbers always (of course, they won't now...) drop at +2 and I'd panic so I might as well panic at +3 when they are usually not sooo bad, eg. in 50s or 60s.
She'll eat if its something yummy - or with kitty crack sprinkles but I'm nearly out of them -
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96

She does drop....it's better to catch it a little earlier than +3 just to flatten it out.
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59

Ok...just give her a couple of tsp of LC. Retest in 30. If she's in the 40s, go ahead and give her some gravy to get her up. If she's in the 50s, give her a bit more LC.

See you in 30 :-D
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57

so, she dropped just a few points.
Gave LC - Friskies Mariner's Catch pate - if I want them to eat, fish is the best and they prefer the Friskies to the FF (TJ tuna is the fav.).
They are all such cheapskates...
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57

Nice! Are you comfortable waiting an hour in between tests? I normally ask that you test every 30 mins but you've been dealing with a lot of numbers in this range....although looks like you usually give gravy. So it's hard to tell when she nadirs. She should just really be onsetting so I would expect numbers to drop a bit more.
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57

I think an hour is fine - I'm close to that anyway now (had to put kids to bed - very late, but its a sleepover night).

She ate more LC at +3 and seems fine
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57,+4 48

Ok...retest in 30 and take a reduction in the morning. Unless she has a really high bounce into the 300s. Then you could shoot through the bounce once with the current dose and reduce tomorrow night.

Can you post after the next test so I can be sure she is coming up? Looks like I'm going to have to sleep test with Gracie and if you are comfy with dealing with Honeys numbers, I will probably try to get some rest. I mainly wanted to get you through in early drop.
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57,+4 48,+4.5 60

Looking good - amazing how that 1tsp gravy can up the numbers!

For the reduction, is it a .25? So I would shoot 1U (rather than 1.25?)

And, thanks again for you help! Get that rest!!
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57,+4 48,+4.5 60

Very good! Be sure you keep an eye on her so the HC doesn't wear off and numbers come back down. You might want to give her a good helping of LCnto help keep her numbers up. Now that she's earned her reduction, I'd keep her above 50.

Yes...her new dose will be 1u. Good luck. Great job tonight.

Yes...sleeping for about 1.5 hours now. Hope you get some rest. I'm proud of you for shooting :-D

Ni Ni.
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57,+4 48,+4.5 60,+6

got the +6 - she's climbed slightly but we should now be at/after nadir - I've only had it twice were +7 was lower.

Got to get to bed. So tired!
 
Re: 11/16 Honey - pmps 84,+1 96,+2 59,+3 57,+4 48,+4.5 60,+6

Great job last night. LC can be your friend and you learned to shoot low!!!!
clapping-happy-smiley-emoticon.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top