11/16 Bosco Decreasing units AMPS 164

Boscosmom

Member Since 2025
Thanks to this group, Bosco may be heading towards the direction of remission...
Please review his chart and give me any feedback.
He is now at 1 unit of Lantus twice a day, except when his AM or PM PS is lower than his normal range.

Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Bosco's spreadsheet sure has improved! Well done. It also looks like he earned a reduction down to 0.75 units with that 70 today.
 
Yeah! So, continue to lower, as long as AM and PM PS are within the preferred range? When at zero units, monitor? Do I then do AM and PM sugar checks to monitor daily?
 
It's to early to predict what will happen. With SLGS, you keep reducing when he goes below 90. You can also shoot when he's 90 or above, and can monitor. When and if he gets down to 0.25 units, post back for more help and we can decide what happens next. Typically a cat will go to the 0.1 unit dose next and may or may not go to an even smaller dose after that. If a cat gets off of insulin, we suggest a two week trial (called the OTJ or off the juice trial), and have a process for that.
 
It's to early to predict what will happen. With SLGS, you keep reducing when he goes below 90. You can also shoot when he's 90 or above, and can monitor. When and if he gets down to 0.25 units, post back for more help and we can decide what happens next. Typically a cat will go to the 0.1 unit dose next and may or may not go to an even smaller dose after that. If a cat gets off of insulin, we suggest a two week trial (called the OTJ or off the juice trial), and have a process for that.
Sounds like it would be a good idea for me to get a caliber to ensure that anything below .25 is measured correctly?
 
Some people eyeball the 0.1 units.
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
Back
Top