11/16, Bell, AMPS 283 +2 286 +4 274 +6 236 PMPS 239 +2 327

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

I know TR protocol states that I need to wait 6 cycles before increasing, but I just wondered if it would be ok to increase early for Bell here. I will be around all day tomorrow to monitor. I'm feeling a little discouraged/scared that these last two increases don't seem to be doing anything beyond the initial run of greens she had on 3 units. Feel free to tap the sign that says "Follow the rules" :). I need to grab a ketone sample, which I will try to do tonight or tomorrow. It just feels like she almost is reacting to the insulin by going higher. I did start a new pen a week ago, which I haven't seen any results with, but I doubt it is that. I don't notice any other issues with Bell, besides the excess urination due to the high numbers and her being a bit more sleepy, which isn't unusual. Apologies to be so reactive, I'm sure you all have seen this a million times and I just need patience (working on it!), but I really would like to get her down below her renal threshold. Feel like I'm failing somehow here.
 
Last edited:
Funny Bell story. She was sitting across my lap today and I had my phone right next to me so she was looking right at it. She could see her reflection in the phone screen and thought it was another cat. She keep sniffing at the phone. Whenever I moved it, she would jump in my lap. She raised a paw to touch it, but then got too afraid and just went back to starting at the phone. She may not be the sharpest tool in the shed, but she is the sweetest. Such a good cat.
 
upload_2024-11-16_21-39-52.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-16_21-39-52.png
    upload_2024-11-16_21-39-52.png
    498.6 KB · Views: 77
No apologies necessary! Watching our kitties in higher numbers can be hard. You aren't failing her at all. FD is weird - sometimes it feels like you are taking 2 steps forward and 1 step back! Or vice versa.

Since you can monitor and you have experience with lower numbers and more importantly, she has a history of ketones, I think it's OK to fast-track this increase and go to 3.5U tomorrow.


She may not be the sharpest tool in the shed, but she is the sweetest. Such a good cat.
Sound like my Bandit! :kiss:
 
No advice on what to do about the dose, but just wanted to say hi and good luck, either with the patience, or with the increase :bighug:
She is sweet and cute. I love that she stays on your lap, I miss that with Bella. She does not, or extremely rarely! But she likes to be close, very close even, and purr loudly.
 
Consider it tapped. The rules are there for safety. Unless you are currently seeing ketones (rubs eye's, doesn't see results of recent ketones test ;)), I'd put on your patience pants for another day.
Yeah, I haven’t been able to catch her to get a urine sample yet. If it could be unsafe for Bell to increase early, I can stick to this dose for another day.
 
Hi Seth,

I know it is hard to watch them in high numbers and it drives me crazy if I don't know what is going on. I want things to be predictable and logic in life. Maybe that contradicts my decision to live with a cat. :) So sweet how Bella reacted on her reflection! She is definitely a cutie!

I don't have any advice on the dose but it sounds logical to me that the ketones are a good guide what to do. Did you think about measuring her ketones in the blood? As testing is not a problem for you and to measure the ketones in the blood is more accurate, that might be an option? I usually measure ketones and bg with one poke. The only downside is, that the teststrips are horribly expensive but if nothing special is going on, I just measure once a week. And as I don't go out anymore because of Binie, she is saving me some money on the other side. :)

Hope you have a relaxed Sunday and see some movement in her bg soon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I have a pair of patience pants you can borrow, but be warned, they are a bit snug :p. Give this dose another day; TR is already an accelerated method, so I’d give it the appropriate time per the method. Give the current dose a chance to work and for Bell to get adjusted to this dose first. Let’s see what Bell can do with it.
 
Hi Seth,

I know it is hard to watch them in high numbers and it drives me crazy if I don't know what is going on. I want things to be predictable and logic in life. Maybe that contradicts my decision to live with a cat. :) So sweet how Bella reacted on her reflection! She is definitely a cutie!

I don't have any advice on the dose but it sounds logical to me that the ketones are a good guide what to do. Did you think about measuring her ketones in the blood? As testing is not a problem for you and to measure the ketones in the blood is more accurate, that might be an option? I usually measure ketones and bg with one poke. The only downside is, that the teststrips are horribly expensive but if nothing special is going on, I just measure once a week. And as I don't go out anymore because of Binie, she is saving me some money on the other side. :)

Hope you have a relaxed Sunday and see some movement in her bg soon! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
This is a really good idea. I almost bought one when Bell was first diagnosed, but at that time I wasn't having any problem getting urine samples. That was probably due to the frequency she was urinating. Might be time for that investment. I missed her again this morning :rolleyes:
 
I have a pair of patience pants you can borrow, but be warned, they are a bit snug :p. Give this dose another day; TR is already an accelerated method, so I’d give it the appropriate time per the method. Give the current dose a chance to work and for Bell to get adjusted to this dose first. Let’s see what Bell can do with it.
upload_2024-11-17_8-48-16.png

They fit fine!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-17_8-48-16.png
    upload_2024-11-17_8-48-16.png
    513.8 KB · Views: 55
This is a really good idea. I almost bought one when Bell was first diagnosed, but at that time I wasn't having any problem getting urine samples. That was probably due to the frequency she was urinating. Might be time for that investment. I missed her again this morning :rolleyes:

Good sign she isn't peeing that much anymore! As far as I know the ketones in the urine reflect what happened the last days. The ketones in the blood give you a picture what is happening at the moment. So go for it! :)
 
I ended up keeping the 3.25 today. She was actually in the low 200s for her AMPS. Which brings me to a followup question for folks: If she ends up hitting blue nadirs today and tonight, would you hold the dose another day? TR specifies 6-10 cycles with the 8-10 caveat if a cat is new to blues, which she is not.
 
Hi Seth! Such a funny story, I love how she reacted. Bella does not react at all to her reflexion. I had a cat who kept trying to catch the other cat, she would go behind the TV (I was a student, the TV was on the floor) and keep running around it. Or lay down on top of it to catch bikers during the Tour de France. She was a weirdo.

As for your dowing questions, here is a copy of the sticky about TR:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
In Bell's case, I would increase tomorrow if she is still all in yellow today and tonight, and wait one or 2 cycles more if her nadirs are below 200. She is still in the higher 200s now, but who knows, that can change fast!
Have a good Sunday!
 
that is super sweet Cecile. Both mine don't react to reflections in the mirror for whatever reason, but the phone reflection got Bell's attention. If I turn on bird youtubes, they both go nuts and start looking behind the TV. I feel kinda bad doing that.

yeah it looks like we are not headed for blues today after all. ugh. really appreciate the dosing advice!
 
Back
Top