11-16-11 Introducing Mikey

Status
Not open for further replies.
Welcome :-D
Mikey's spreadsheet looks good, so far.
You know to test before every shot of insulin, right?

Post, everyday, if you can. Ask all the questions you have. You've come to the right place to help your kitty.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land! This is the most supportive and informative place to be to help Mikey feel better.

Take a look at the stickies - lots of very helpful information about shots, dosing, how to handle lower numbers as Mikey's diabetes becomes controlled. And as Lisa said, ask questions anytime.
 
Hi Jennifer, welcome to LL (Lantus Land)! I read over your other threads, thank you for opening your home to a diabetic cat! The spreadsheet looks good, I'm glad Marje helped you get that set up....you will love it because it allows you to see patterns, and it makes it easier for others to help you as well. I know you said in a previous thread that you reduced the dose from 3.0u to 1.5u, when did you start giving 1.5u? If you can, you might want to add the doses that you gave before you started testing onto the SS. I would also suggest putting the food on the SS, in the comments section, especially because you are transitioning.

A good place for you to start is by reading the stickies at the top of the forum....beginning with the "New to the Group? Please read..." sticky. There's a ton of info in the stickies, you will want to reread them periodically as you go because some things only make sense later on. Please ask any questions that you have, this is a big group, but people are very willing to help each other out. The best way to get prompt answers is to put something in your header (subject line) of the first post in your condo (thread) so others will know you need help and will visit. You can also use the ? icon. If you visit other condos, and look at the SSs, it will help you figure things out too.

I would suggest trying to get at least 4 tests per day...the preshot tests and one spot check per cycle. Dose is adjusted based on the nadir, so it would be helpful to get a curve when you can to try to get an idea of when Mikey's typical nadir falls. That will help you know when to get a nadir check....ideally one of the spot checks should be at or close to nadir. In the real world, we all have lives, so please let us know how we can help you work around any problems. ;-)

Does Mikey have any health issues other than FD? Any history of ketones or DKA, and are you testing for ketones? Does he take any medications? What meter are you using?

I hope to see you posting often!
 
Thanks for all your help. I am using the Contour test kit. I don't know much of his history other than he has been receiving insulin by his previous 3 units BID and eating both wet M/D food and dry food and that she had him like that about 3 months. I got him on Sunday- he has not had any dry food since then and I've given him 1.5 units BID since.

I took your advice and added to the SS
 
Just a quick housekeeping point. When you link your previous thread, you don't need the equal sign(=) after the first url bracket. If you go back and edit your first post and remove the =, it will be a live link.
 
Hey Jennifer:

Good job!!! One thing on the health condo link; could you please open up your first post in this thread where you have the link, click on "edit", and take out the second bracket so it looks like [url=http etc etc? Hit submit. That will allow us to link to
the condo.

Starting tomorrow, you can do what we call a "condo" each day. That condo is where you post to us and we post to you....one per cat per day no matter what. In the morning, start it out like this in the subject line:

11/17 Mikey AMPS XXX
With the XXX being his number. Each time you get a test, add to it by opening the first post of the condo, click on "edit", add his numbers, click "submit". Only works on the first post of the day. So by the end of the a.m. cycle, it might look like this:

11/17 Mikey AMPS XXX +2 XX +4 XX +8 XX +10 XX

Then for the PM cycle, open up the first post, click "edit" go to the subject line, delete everything after his name and start over with PMPS and add the numbers. Click "submit". If you have a question, just put something like "dose ??" or "need help" in your subject line and click the "?" mark button above the subject line. As soon as someone helps you, take out the "need help", unclick the "?" button.

Let us know if you need anything at all...ask questions. We're here for you. AND WELCOME TO LANTUS LAND!! Where there's always a party!
 
Just wanted to say Welcome To Lantus Land--What a kind heart you have to help an FD cat--
The rewards are amazing, Mikey knows you are helping him..Like they said, ask questions, test his bg's & post the numbers--Someone is always here to help....
 
HI,
I just wanted to say welcome, and to tell you from first hand experience that this forum will help you more than you can imagine. I have only been on a few months, and have not only learn alot, My cat Milo is doing so well. Everyone is so helpful and they really care. Good Luck!
 
Hey, Mikey! Sorry ,couldn't resist! :lol:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=56414

Actually this is what you need to do to make the link active. There are 2 ways: To just show the url click the URL button and paste between the two sets of brackets [color=#FF40BF]paste here[/color] or if you want ot give it a shorter name, click the URL button , type a NAME between the brackets , place cursor inside the first set of brackets, type = and paste the URL. [url=paste URL here]NAME[/url] You did the second option , but forgot to put a name between the brackets.
 
Thanks for the housekeeping tips. HELP! Now I have a more serious beginner issue. I just gave Mikey 1.5 u of Lantus by mistake. He already had his 2 doses today, so this is his third. I called Jennifer w/ DCIN and she said it might be ok because he was just on 3 units BID 2 days ago. She said it might be wise to give him some dry food. She also said to test him throughout the night. Anything else?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top