11/15 TiggyPMPS 284 gave 1/2 dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

I havent measured his BG yet but I wanted to post this to get some input before I do. He hasnt eaten much since last night - begs for food , goes over and licks his lips. He has eaten a little food (maybe a couple of TBLSP of boiled chicken) and water but not much else. Since he is eating a little do I shoot? how much? I am thinking half his normal dose.

I have a vet appointment at 11.15am(AMPS+1.15) so will be leaving shortly after his shot. They are going to give him Sub Q plus they mentioned some anti diarrhea meds and maybe anti nausea. Are there any of these type drugs I should be making sure they DONT give him given his diabetes?
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

If they give a probiotic for diarrhea (especially if it's a liquid or gel), there are some that contain sugar. Make sure you ask what are in the ingredients in any non-pill medication. Even some of the liquid antibiotics have a sugar syrup base. Many of us give FortiFlora for diarrhea, which you're already doing.

It really sounds like with the lip smacking that Tiggy is nauseated. I would talk to the vet about an anti-nausea/vomiting med. Many people here have used Cerenia (maropitant) or Zofran (ondansatron). Vets like to prescribe Reglan (metoclopramide) which is really for gastric motility issues and does little to address nausea (unless the problem is related to gastric motility). Pepsid (famotidine) may be an option but it doesn't sound like Tiggy has an acid stomach. If your vet wants to prescribe an appetitie stimulant (e.g., mirtazepine or cyproheptadine), if Tiggy is nauseous, it's important to get the nausea under control prior to starting an appetite stimulant. (Think about how you would feel about eating while nauseated.) All of these meds are fine to use with a diabetic cat.

Flagyl (metronidazole) is also used with GI issues if the vet thinks there's a bacterial problem in the gut.

With regard to dose, you're going to need to gauge whether you can get food into Tiggy. The balancing act is that if there's an infection brewing, food and insulin are important to keep ketones at bay. It's fine to shoot a reduced dose if you need to.

I want to really encourage you to get the vet to evaluate whether there's an infection. The diarrhea and loss of appetite started after Tiggy's surgery. It may be coincidence but it may not.
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

Please let us know what the vet says. Sending Tiggy healing vines.
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

Thanks for the healing vines..

Just got back from the vet - sutures and wound look great - no infection signs.

Gave him Sub Q and an injection of Cerenia. Gave us Flagyl/metronidazole pills for the nausea. we will see how it goes!
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

I hope it works. The ondansetron (zofran) tends to help a little more with nausea and you can give it at home. I hope the cerenia will help.
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

Glad that the vet visit went smooth. Get well soon Tiggy!
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

I think the Cerenia is working.. he ate 1/4 of a 5.5oz can of Medi-cal recovery food. Yeah i know its HC (?) but at this point we just want to get him to eat.
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

Yeah for eating! Dr. Lisa's latest chart has Recovery RS as 7% carb so looks like a great choice. Get well quickly Tiggy!
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

Think i spoke too soon. Hasnt eaten since and is walking around begging again :(
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

FYI: The Flagyl is for combating anerobic bacteria that can be found in the gut. It may help with the diarrhea.
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

sorry to hear that Tiggy is not eating .. Hope he gets well soon. I know the stress we get if they don't eat, wish all goes well and you can relax.


have a good one
 
Re: 11/15 Tiggy - reduced eating -dose/meds to watch?

I just dont get it - he seems hungry - he is wandering around meowing. I put any food in front of him, he sniffs it and walks off. He even has some energy - I throw a treat and he chases it.. and normally he would eat it all up once he "caught it".. nope.. just walks away. He did have a big bout of brown liquid maybe half an hour ago so maybe once that passes he will feel better. I am really worried though.

When do I start to force feed? he ate 1/4 can of the Food at 1pm EST and hasnt eaten anything since. He is drinking water though.

How long does the flagyl take to kick in?
 
He ate some more around AMBG +10 and PMPS was 284 so given he is eating under 1/2 his normal food, and his BG is getting high, I gave him only 2IU instead of the usual 4.5IU just to keep it from getting too high. Will keep a close eye on him.
 
Wendy

I'm so sorry he's still not eating well. Usually sniffing food and walking off is a sign of nausea. I wouldn't think the cerenia has worn off but perhaps it just didn't address the nausea.

I would probably be trying to purée the recovery and syringe feed him. I'd put water in it so he gets more water unless you are giving him squids. I would imagine the flagyl, which is an A/B, will take at least 24 hours to kick in.

I'm glad you gave him some insulin.
 
If you do end up syringe feeding, the Recovery is one of the best. I used it when I had to force feed a foster cat with hepatic lipidosis. I just added a bit of water and didn't have to puree it. Of course, once force fed that, they may not like eating it on their own. At the time I was using Recovery, the vet wanted me to get a whole can in per day. But he was a Maine Coon so a bit larger. Paws crossed here that Tiggy will start eating some more soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top