11/15 Tigger PMPS/323+2/67+2.5/31+3/43+3.5/54+4/51+4.5/54

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Good Morning, LL! ~O) ~O)

It's been a slow morning here - still obsessing over paint colors - will take advantage of Tigger's hi numbers to get more samples. :lol:

We were up late last night - Tigger hit a PM+3/47 last night - 2 subsequent readings were 50 & 51. I ended up feeding more 9% than he probably needed @ +3.5, but I'm never sure how fast he's going to drop. :?: I shot through Tigger's major El Stinkerino PMPS/409 this AM, but should take the reduction or hold this dose? This dose might be a little much, but he loses momentum when we reduce. My goal is to level him out, & the increase to 5% has been helping.

Anyone have a crystal ball? :lol: :lol: :lol: I appreciate any input on this!

Funny thing, Tigger acts pretty much the same at 400 as he does at 100 - he's still chirping away, & running around when the alarm rings at breffis times. :lol:

Also will get some sort of new 'shirt' for Spankey - looking for the thunder shirt (thanks, Ann!). He's still scratching his wound. We've done Circus Cat (blue fabric vet collar), Hospital Cat (band-aids & tape), Baby-Cat, (baby t-shirts), and now Cowboy Cat - (blue levi's bandana)- that's the cutest. He hates them all & as soon as possible he rips everything off & - scratches! I'm keeping ointment on it (thanks, Julie!) & it's not infected, just not healing, either.

I hope everyone is having a good day, and all sick kitties & beans are getting better. Thanks everyone!
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger AMPS/409 +3/317 Reduce Dose?

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

If anyone suggests otherwise, they are putting your cat at risk! Our kitties are not just numbers. They are living beings who trust us to look out for them. The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive.

Keeping YOUR cat safe is the #1 priority of the FDMB.
Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus Tight Regulation ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.

I think since he's still a newly diagnosed diabetic, but not holding previous reductions, and you are a caregiver that really monitors a lot to keep Tigger safe, that i would shave the dose just a drop or so. You would draw up the 2.25 dose, hold the syringe up in the air, "screw" the plunger and squeeze out one or two more drops. 47 is not a dangerously low number, if it were really low you would need to take the full reduction of .25u, but in my opinion, in your situation, you would be ok trying to shave the dose.
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger AMPS/409 +3/317 Reduce Dose?

I so want to see a picture of "Cowboy Cat" :lol:

It's good Tigger is feeling okay despite the bounce. I notice quick bounces never seem to make much of a change in Papaya's mood either - just if the dose is too low and she's in high numbers for longer. I hope he is done with this bounce soon.

Whatever you decide with the reduction, just remember if it doesn't work you can always go back up again! Have a good evening, Suzanne.
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger AMPS/409 +3/317 Reduce Dose?

Hi Suzanne! Hoping whatever form of reduction you take works to Tigger's advantage :smile: Glad you could get out and about today. Way to turn a Stinkerino into an advantage :lol:
Too bad you couldn't find some kind of halloween costume that has little rubber nibs or something on it that would make Spankey not want to touch it... Porcupine Cat! :lol:
Have a good night and catch up on that missed sleep I-)
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323

Hi Julie, Amy & Kim, Thanks for stopping by today!

Julie: Thanks for all the detailed information and input. Tigger's still bouncing, so I held the dose again tonight. I like the shaved dose idea, tho' I was told it's not as effective for new diabetics. I can wait for up to 3 drops between 40 & 50 -again, generally not recommended for new diabetics - but since Tigger hit 47 then went to 50 & 51 immediately afterwards, I'm thinking of holding this dose a bit longer - & see where he goes when he clears this bounce. Then shave the dose - unless we get a low 40's or below drop - I'd take the full reduction then.

Amy: Cowboy cat was too cute! I'll try & get a photo tomorrow - Spankey wasn't impressed, tho' & I'm not sure I can get it back on him! :lol:

Kim: Yes, I took full advantage of the errands & got home just before PS. Speaking of halloween costumes - I got one at Petsmart (80% off & waay cheaper than the Thundershirt) - so now we have Bat-Cat!!! :lol: I'll get a photo tomorrow - working great so far!

Off to bed - need some zzzs - will catch up w/ LL tomorrow - Caturday, yea! 'Ni-'ni all!
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 definite reducie tomorrow!

After I thought Tigger's reduction strategy out & decided to hold for more than 1 drop between 45-50, & wrote it out, I tested Tigger at +2: 67! Re-test is 62. PMPS was 323, so that's a new record for Tigger: 257 points in 2 hours, 8 minutes! ohmygod_smile :o

:roll: Definite reduction tomorrow AM!
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 definite reducie tomorrow!

Hey Suzanne

You are probably in bed by now but I thought I'd toss in my thoughts.

I think you have a couple options. As Julie said, you can shave the dose because he was just at 47 or hold the dose for three drops (on separate days) between 40-50 and then give a .25u reduction. I'd pick a method for dose reductions and try to be consistent. If he gets below 40 once, we'd urge you to drop his dose by .25u.

I've shot through the bounce before until the bounce clears. You don't lose the reduction and you test enough to be able to do that. This suggestion is made for Tigger only since Suzanne does monitor a lot.

I bet Spankey looked adorable in all his outfits. :lol:
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 definite reducie tomorrow!

Thanks, Marje, that is great wisdom & I totally agree & am on board with the strategy proposed by Julie & you. However, we'll have to save it for the next time, because Tigger just dropped to a 31! :o Re-test = 28!!! :o :o :shock: nailbite_smile :o

Pull out the gravy - Tigger's fav!

We'll definitely be taking the .25u reduction this time - no questions here!

Tigger's fine, so far, btw - I'm not, but he is!

Bat-Cat does not like his new get-up. :evil:
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31!!!

Sorry....I just walked away long enough to test Gracie and goodness!!!

How's it going?
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31!!!

We're fine, getting ready to test in 12 min (0:30). Tigger's curled up on the chair across from me & I make noise every few minutes to make sure he's responding. He seems fine & thrilled to get (drool, chirp) "gravy!". I didn't have any notice he'd cleared his bounce, so it caught me by surprise. I plan for 100 points an hour drop, but not over 120/hour! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31!!!

The only clue I see that he might clear is that he has cleared the bounces one cycle or the other each day. But that is quite the drop. I would have brought out the big guns at +2......and you probably did but he just had too much momentum. Sometimes when that happens, it takes a couple back to back higher carb minim meals.

So yes....we wish you great luck with the reduction!

And...Tigger might not be one that you can shoot through the bounce more than once.
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 (whew!)

+3/43. Whew. I feel 20 lbs lighter!

Good thoughts, Marje, & yes, I'll be very careful shooting through the bounce more than once again.

When Tigger hit +2/67, I gave him 1.5T 9% + 1T 5%, which usually works for if fed in a large enough quantity (Ts vs. tsps). Lesson learned again. BIG DROPS = BIG GUNS

The big guns brought him to 43. ( I fed 1.5-2T gravy @ +2.5) Just now (+3/43) I fed him 1T 5%. :?: Do you think I should go with higher %? He seems to have good momentum now, but we've never been in this determined a drop before.

Broke out the HC for me, too, actually. TJ's frozen vanilla greek yogurt with bananas (2nd serving :oops: ) Good thing I've got my PJs on - patience pants woulda split!
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 (whew!)

I always think when you get them move up a little, it's always best to follow up with some food if it's not past nadir.

I'd try some of your 5% if you have it to see if you can get him up to the 60s/70s.

Yum on the snacks. I had to become snack free before my patience pants burst :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 (whew!)

WOW Suzanne :o :shock: What a drop!!

Those +2's are such a great predictor of things to come, aren't they?

Hey Tigger!! Maybe a little less drama next time!! You've made your point!!

Good luck with the reduction!!
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 (whew!)

If you are ok and don't need the company, I might call it a night. We are having a small PJ party here but I have the chance to catch a couple winks before the next test if all is ok with you.

I can also set my phone to buzz me for your next test if you'd like.
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 +3.5/54

You are so sweet, Marje. Please go to bed! We are fine here, just tested & we're at 54. I'll stay up with Tigger till we're above 70. I've got lots of gravy & test strips just in case. Thanks for the hand holding, it was like old times! Like having a very smart & funny sister! Thank you & Bless you! o:-) :YMHUG: I-)
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 +3.5/54

Hi Chris! Sorry, I just saw your post. Thanks for stopping by! Yes, just when I was ready to go to bed - wham! Well, I guess that's better than going to bed & missing the drama! I'll stop over at your condo & see what's happening with you.
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 +3.5/54

Evening Suzanne! Look what happens when I step away from the computer for a bit. :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Congrats on that reduction. I hope your are breathing more normally now.

Hey Tigger, momma wants you in the 70's or 80's please.
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 +3.5/54

Okey doke....great job tonight. Ah yes on the funny and smart sister....back atcha sista! :lol: :lol:

I'll dream of Tigger coming up but not too high ;-) Good night!
 
Re: 11/15 Tigger PMPS/323 +2/67 +2.5/31 +3/43 +3.5/54

'Ni-Ni', Marje! Thanks again for all you do!

I second your good dreams - how about under 400? We'll see how much input you have there, too!

Hi Wendy! Yes, I'm off the ceiling now. Tigger's still curled up in his chair, like it's been no big deal, except he got (drool, slurp, chirp) "Gravy!" And I got (drool slurp, chirp) "Frozen Yogurt"!

Tigger just got a 2nd helping of gravy. +4/51, we're back-sliding a little, so he got 1+tsp gravy & 1+tsp 9%. Re-test in 30. Tigger, listen to Wendy. She said 70 or 80, not 50!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top