11/15 Tigger 328 AMPS 301 +8 296 PMPS, vet tomorrow

Breanna H

Member Since 2019
Previous thread

Just wanted to check in and ask for some good luck wishes with Tigger's vet appointment tomorrow. The vet is an hour away, so it will be a stressful event for him, at least 3 hours from start to finish, if not more. But, we finally are getting his acro/IAA testing done. Fingers crossed. I really hope the vet is open to a cabergoline trial if it is a positive acro diagnosis.
He also has a lump on his neck, which my previous vet said it was a cyst, that I want checked out. It has gotten bigger since February when he last saw a vet so I'm kinda worried about that as well, not that it bothers him any.

We haven't had the best numbers this week and if I don't remind my husband to test Tigger while I'm at work, he won't, so we missed a day or two because I was really busy and forgot. Lots of litter tracking because he constantly steps in it. I really could use a break. Honestly, with getting out of bed early, even on my days off, his litter box emptying (at least daily, if not twice daily), filling his feeders twice a day, cleaning them out, testing, feedings, shots and running the vacuum every day, I am exhausted and I feel like all of my work and effort is for nothing and not getting us anywhere. Not to mention work, other house cleaning, dinner, ect. I know you all can relate and most of you do it yourselves, so it helps to have you.

Thanks for listening to me whine. Have a good evening! :bighug:
 
Good luck with the vet and hope everything goes as smoothly as it can :bighug: btw, I thought I read another high dose kitty increasing by one unit once they got to 10 units. You may have already considered this but if not you may want to throw up a question to get input. I’ll try to find the post to link here.
 
Good luck with the vet and hope everything goes as smoothly as it can :bighug: btw, I thought I read another high dose kitty increasing by one unit once they got to 10 units. You may have already considered this but if not you may want to throw up a question to get input. I’ll try to find the post to link here.
Here's the post I was thinking about just incase you wanted to consider 1 unit increases or get more in put.
 
I thought I read another high dose kitty increasing by one unit once they got to 10 units. You may have already considered this but if not you may want to throw up a question to get input. I’ll try to find the post to link here.
I was increasing by a unit at a time from 10 to 15, he just is getting so expensive I slowed down and have been doing half dose increases. I have been holding doses longer as well until we got to his appointment so maybe I can get some answers as to why he is a high dose cat.

Unfortunately, I honestly can't justify the cost of potentially having to give him 20u, twice a day, if it got there. Even getting his levemir from Marks, its costing me $195 roughly every two months where we are now :( with how much food, litter, testing supplies, syringes and zobaline he is going through, it's really adding up. I love him to death and am doing my best but he's an expensive big guy, haha.
 
I was increasing by a unit at a time from 10 to 15, he just is getting so expensive I slowed down and have been doing half dose increases. I have been holding doses longer as well until we got to his appointment so maybe I can get some answers as to why he is a high dose cat.

Unfortunately, I honestly can't justify the cost of potentially having to give him 20u, twice a day, if it got there. Even getting his levemir from Marks, its costing me $195 roughly every two months where we are now :( with how much food, litter, testing supplies, syringes and zobaline he is going through, it's really adding up. I love him to death and am doing my best but he's an expensive big guy, haha.
Hang in there :bighug: I was sure you had probably considered it but just wanted to pass along in case you hadn't. I hope you can get some answers. We are all doing the best we can :bighug:
 
Paws crossed for a successful but not stressful vetty visit tomorrow.

Once you get him to a better dose, the cost of litter and food goes down. What brand of litter are you using now?

Once you hear back on the acro/IAA test results, we could possibly think about using R as a bolus insulin to nudge his numbers down. It's a lot cheaper insulin. We've had one or two caregivers use R to supplement and not have to increase the L by as much. However, this is something you only want to do with certain diagnoses, and with the help of an experienced R user.
 
Hang in there :bighug: I was sure you had probably considered it but just wanted to pass along in case you hadn't. I hope you can get some answers. We are all doing the best we can :bighug:
Thank you for the suggestion though! I always am looking for advice!

What brand of litter are you using now?
I am getting the Tidy cats unscented free & clear clumping litter in the 35 lb tubs from Chewy. I order 4 at a time which gets me about 2 months. I tried to get him to use "the breeze" system so he doesn't get it on his paws and all around the house but he was not having that.
 
Once Neko got regulated, she was down to about 2 normal size pees a day, pretty close to the same as the non diabetic cat. I spent quite a bit of time trying different litters, some clump better than others. I had to stop using corn based ones, cause Neko thought they were tasty. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top