11.15 Revson AMPS 233, +6 450 (Improved SS)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Revson

Member Since 2011
Julie & Sienne... I really do want to do the right thing for Revson.

I've updated the SS.
I've gotten (3) mid-cycle readings.
I can do a curve tomorrow.

Food: Anything low-carb I can get him to eat.
FF Flaked, especially the Fish & Shrimp
Cowboy Cookout
Innova Kat & Kitten
Stelly & Chewy's Chick Chick Chicken complete freeze-dried food
Newman's Own Organic Liver
Fresh Shrimp & Chicken

I've got a drawer full of canned cat food from the Binky list and another list.
With a 6lb weight loss, I'm desperate to get him to weigh more.
 
Amy --

Over what period of time was the 6 lb weight loss?

When you have a chance, put your doses in the turquoise columns. It's much easier to scan what you've been doing if the dose is in the "U" column vs. in the comments.

I would go ahead and increase Revson's dose to 2.0u at both shot times as soon as you see a yellow pre-shot. I think that Revson may be bouncing off of the yellow numbers. I wouldn't advise increasing during a bounce. Rather, once the bounce clears, go ahead and increase.

I noticed that you were giving different doses at AM and PM times yesterday. Lantus works best with consistency. If you shoot different amounts, numbers can get wonky.

I'd also encourage you to keep getting spot checks. They don't always need to be at +6. The more you can vary when you grab a spot check, the more you will fill in the spaces on Revson's SS. I'd also suggest evaluating the dose increase after 3 days. If you read over the protocol, we don't hold a dose for more than 3 days unless you are seeing blues and greens.
 
Sienne... what do you suggest for tonight? The same 1.75 that I gave today?
The different amounts yesterday were because of the replies here, that .5 unit increase was too much.
I had hoped that with only 1 dose at 2U, it would be ok to drop to 1.75.

I'll fix the SS, I missed the Units column.

The 6lb loss is over several months. However, he lost the last 1lb in the last month.

Amy
 
one thing you should be doing is testing regularly for ketones. i think that might've gotten mentioned, but am not positive. did you get some strips and are you testing his urine? watering his food is one thing you can do to help also. punkin gets soupy food, but he doesn't mind.

the question about his weight loss is a big deal. can you tell us more about it?

you're doing a good job getting those extra spot checks in. i like getting them about every 2-3 hours so i can spot what's going on.

When Gus (Bev & Gus) came to FDMB he used to get HI so often - it is depressing. but it's something that can get under control with good dosing, so don't be too discouraging. do you know the Lantus Land saying? It's a marathon, not a sprint!

next job for you - put the dosing into those blue columns so the dosing is right next to the numbers of the cycle. it helps a lot.
 
that's great! how many hours from now til your shot time? can you wait for sienne's answer? you can edit your subject line and include a request for dosing advice.
 
I think Revson is bouncing -- either off of the yellows or maybe a lower number that you didn't catch with limited testing. You want to hold the dose for tonight unless you see that Revson is back down. Basically, you want to increase the next time you catch a yellow pre-shot. Increasing during a bounce can be a problem. Once the bounce breaks, if you've increased you could end up giving too much insulin.
 
He was 416 at +1 hour.

Just shot 1.75
Will check in an hour.

He is shaved on his flank (both sides) so I know I am not giving a fur shot.
 
Amy:

Please fill in BOTH "U" columns.

Also, I want to edit what I said -- and this is due to not having the info in the dose columns. Please hold the 1.75u dose for 3 days/6 cycles. It's very hard to follow your dosing, mostly because I'm used to seeing the SSs follow a particular format.

Also, please open only ONE condo each day. You can always edit your subject line if you have a question. The "rule" in Lantus Land is one condo, per cat, per day.
 
Amy:

I'm moving this over from your other condo so you can delete the extra condo. I've asked Dyana to remove her post.

Hi Amy:

You just took him up and so you have to wait six cycles to see what he is going to do. I hate to say this but it's really hard for us to figure out how to help him/you if you don't test alot more. There are only two people who can read invisible numbers.....the numbers for the times you don't test....and that's Jill and Libby and neither one are available to us right now. Revson could be going low and then hitting these high numbers and if so, the last thing we want to do is recommend more insulin.

It's also really important that you only do one condo a day. Otherwise it gets too confusing. It would help us if you would post like we all do with the date, his name, his AMPS/PMPS and his BG. We have to have organization in order to follow all these kitties. I hope I don't sound too harsh....I do not intend it in that way at all but it would just really be conducive to us helping you.

Bottom line...more tests. It's tough but we all have to do it to keep our babies safe.

I hope that helps....but please don't take him up again and please be sure that you don't jump doses. You gave him 1.5u pm cycle 11/13 and then 2u am cycle 11/14 and then back to 1.75u for two cycles. Let's try to keep him on a consistent dose while he's this high and see where he goes. When he's done with six cycles at 1.75u and you've gotten more tests, then please please post again and ask for us to help you out with the dosing.

He's going to feel pretty lethargic at these numbers. Please be sure he is getting plenty of food and water so he does not develop DKA. DKA can develop if they have consistently high BGs without enough insulin, not enough food, and not eating. I would recommend you put extra water in his canned food each time you feed him.

(((Hugs)))....hang in there.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Amy:

I'm moving this over from your other condo so you can delete the extra condo. I've asked Dyana to remove her post.

Hi Amy:

You just took him up and so you have to wait six cycles to see what he is going to do. I hate to say this but it's really hard for us to figure out how to help him/you if you don't test alot more. There are only two people who can read invisible numbers.....the numbers for the times you don't test....and that's Jill and Libby and neither one are available to us right now. Revson could be going low and then hitting these high numbers and if so, the last thing we want to do is recommend more insulin.

It's also really important that you only do one condo a day. Otherwise it gets too confusing. It would help us if you would post like we all do with the date, his name, his AMPS/PMPS and his BG. We have to have organization in order to follow all these kitties. I hope I don't sound too harsh....I do not intend it in that way at all but it would just really be conducive to us helping you.

Bottom line...more tests. It's tough but we all have to do it to keep our babies safe.

I hope that helps....but please don't take him up again and please be sure that you don't jump doses. You gave him 1.5u pm cycle 11/13 and then 2u am cycle 11/14 and then back to 1.75u for two cycles. Let's try to keep him on a consistent dose while he's this high and see where he goes. When he's done with six cycles at 1.75u and you've gotten more tests, then please please post again and ask for us to help you out with the dosing.

He's going to feel pretty lethargic at these numbers. Please be sure he is getting plenty of food and water so he does not develop DKA. DKA can develop if they have consistently high BGs without enough insulin, not enough food, and not eating. I would recommend you put extra water in his canned food each time you feed him.

(((Hugs)))....hang in there.

I was replying to the above post when it disappeared :roll:
I was going to say the same things as Marje. Stick with the same regular dose, for at least 6 cycles, test more, and try to stick to only one condo per day with all the information for the day is contained in one location.
Also, I would add, to please try to get ketone tests as often as you can. I will sometimes, bring the litter box up from the basement, and put it in the middle of the floor where me and the cats are hanging out and where I will notice if he gets in.
He's coming down now. Keep coming down nice and easy Revson.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top