11/15 PMPS 448/ AMPS 166/NS +4=400/PMPS 453

Nadirs move around with unregulated cats. Insulin isn't a drug, it's a hormone, so it works in waves of action. Since you didn't get any tests last night it's hard to know exactly what is happening but if you want to get rid of any insulin resistance that may have built up you might want to consider shooting below 200. Start with not shooting below 150, then went you get more comfy with that don't shoot below 90. If you look at my Ruby's SS, you'll see that it's pretty safe to shoot lower numbers. Vets have an interest in keeping cats in high numbers because most caregivers don't have the support of the FDMB to help you through lower ones and they don't want to be responsible for hypoglycemic events.

FWIW, even the labs that analyze bloodwork for dogs and cats have a BG range of 72-150 for "normal" levels. 200 is higher than that.
 
Nadirs move around with unregulated cats. Insulin isn't a drug, it's a hormone, so it works in waves of action. Since you didn't get any tests last night it's hard to know exactly what is happening but if you want to get rid of any insulin resistance that may have built up you might want to consider shooting below 200. Start with not shooting below 150, then went you get more comfy with that don't shoot below 90. If you look at my Ruby's SS, you'll see that it's pretty safe to shoot lower numbers. Vets have an interest in keeping cats in high numbers because most caregivers don't have the support of the FDMB to help you through lower ones and they don't want to be responsible for hypoglycemic events.

FWIW, even the labs that analyze bloodwork for dogs and cats have a BG range of 72-150 for "normal" levels. 200 is higher than that.
Thank you. I don’t feel comfortable giving 1U. Should I give .5?
 
If you're around to test every 2-3 hours today, then yes, you should go ahead and give a token dose.
I’m not, I have to work later this afternoon. I’m going to be over cautious and skip. I know there will come a time when I shoot below 200 but we are only a couple of weeks in and she has a curve on Wednesday. I’m off tomorrow and Wednesday so if this low number shows up again, I’ll .50U and keep an eye. Thank you for your speedy response. Much appreciated!!:cat:
 
Back
Top