11/15 Papaya AMPS=260 +4=91 PMPS=137 +4=77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday bounceville

Papaya came down slowly through the yellows last night from an ugly black start to the day yesterday. Today started off pretty well for her, and she was already down to 91 by +4. I wanted to slow the drop and hopefully avoid the bounce back to black, so I gave her some 14% carbs food and it seems to have been just right to keep her surfing right to a nice blue PMPS. She came out to the kitchen for supper and waited to get her shot before she trotted back to the living room, although she swore at me when she got the shot tonight!

Thanks for the visits last night, Carla, Ella, Devon and Jess.

Jess - as we often say here, ECID - every cat is different. Feeding low or zero carb when BG gets low may work for Mr. Cat, or I daresay for most cats, but trust me, it does not for mine. As noted in Papaya's profile, after suggestions from experienced caregivers (including some familiar with the steeper drops seen on PZI) I actually switched Papaya up to a wet food that is in the higher range of what is still considered low carb. Her regular food is 9% carbs, her medium which I use at the start of a drop is 14%, and if she is having a day where she really wants to dive she gets 22% and that barely keeps her surfing the 40s if she's really on a mission. I've been doing this sugardance for over a year now, and while it may not look like it from the continued bounces, Papaya is actually doing better than she used to - she clears the bounces quickly, and her overall health is better. Those black AMPS do pop up, but she's spending a lot more time in good numbers. Zero carb for Papaya would make the drops sharper and the bounces worse.
 
Re: 11/15 Papaya AMPS=260 +4=91 PMPS=137

Hi Amy! Well those numbers don't look too shabby to me! A greeny bluey night would be great :-D :mrgreen: Papaya...no bouncing K kitty cat_pet_icon Have a great night Amy!!
 
Re: 11/15 Papaya AMPS=260 +4=91 PMPS=137

Thank you for the info on my condo Amy. :-D I was a little concerned about his appetite, not sure if I should call it less appy or normal (now). But hearing that Papaya was the same...whew! We may have entered the realm of a new normal :lol:
 
Re: 11/15 Papaya AMPS=260 +4=91 PMPS=137

Papaya is looking awesome today! The whole ECID thing is so interesting for sure, and Papaya is a fine example of it - and you are awesome for learning how her body responds and reacts to fuds and insulin.

Have a great night, Amy!
 
Hi Carla and Kim, thanks for visiting! She's still looking good and having a bluey greeny evening with some more of her favorite 14% turkey and cheese shreds.

Kim - glad that helped. :-D Welcome to the new normal!
 
Look at Papaya - two cycles in a row with :mrgreen: :mrgreen: . Well done. Have a great evening Amy. :-D
 
Thanks Amy! Yeah I'm happy to see an entire day of good numbers instead of one cycle good, one cycle bad :shock: I think it worked well today to not let her go to far down into green. But of course as soon as I think I've figured out something she'll change the rules :lol:
 
Hi Wendy! It is quite amazing to have two green cycles here - usually I'm sticking a green smiley on the subject line of a day that started in black :roll: Papaya suggests that if she gets turkey and cheese shreds she'll do green every day . . .
 
Wow Papaya!! Look at all that green today :mrgreen: she is really clearing her bounces fast, Amy. That's a good thing. Maybe one day, she will just quit bouncing.

Hope you have your most comfy PJs on. :-D
 
Hi Amy, thanks for visiting us earlier. I appreciate your explaining Papaya's feeding strategy. Tigger likes to dive, too - I've increased to all 5%, which helps, but I think he may need a higher %. Reading your strategy & that it works for Papaya, & seeing her SS, I can see the difference. She's really doing well & seems to be adjusting well to the lower doses, even with the bounces. She's clearing them fast, tho'!

Wendy told me that some cats bounce until they are nearly OTJ - I forget who she listed as an example, though. :roll:

Congratulations on the :mrgreen: !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top