11/15 . NEED DOSING ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim and Jasmine

Member Since 2020
Hi all. 5 months in and Jasmine's numbers still all over. We were up to 2.25 u lantus with advice but now some FB members feel a decrease necessary (they advised to post here) with what we've been getting. Right now at +6.5 she is 44! Gave her FF gravy and will check again in a few. Please note before I get scolded, since beginning a new job few months ago, I have not had the time to really do a curve. I get numbers whenever I can and my daughter helps when she can. My schedule is changing so I should be able to get a curve soon. Any who, why do her numbers jump so much? How much insulin should she be getting? Vet wanted to raise to 3u after her last fructosamine test which was over 500. Also, I get so nervous increasing because there are days no one is home for 8-10 hours. Thank you
 
Hi, take a big breath there are lots of experienced people here that can help

After taking that big breath please do test her again 15 - 20 after your last test to make sure she's not going down more

And yes she did earned a dose decrease with that 44 she just got on any protocol so you should lower her dose to 2 units and then keep that dose at least for 6 cycles unless she goes under 50 again What protocol are you following?
 
Hi! Have you tested again? Like Veronica said, your first priority is getting Jasmine to safety. Can you update us and/or your SS? :bighug:

Once you have her to safety - here's some info to read:
Here's your last post on the Lantus Board - we like to link for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jasmines-higher-dose-bg.236064/

In your last post, @Wendy&Neko was helping explain SLGS. Have you had time to review the dosing methods on the Lantus Board? I've linked the sticky here for easy reference.

Jasmine's numbers are jumping around due to bouncing - here's an explanation from the The Basics sticky on the Lantus Board:

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Perhaps Wendy or another person with more Lantus experience will stop by.

Hope that helps :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Looks like Jasmine saw a bunch of healing green numbers on 2.25 units, and doesn't need as much insulin now. I agree with Veronica. Go to 2.0 units and hold it, unless she earns a reduction again. The definition of "earns a reduction" depends which dosing method you'd like to follow.
 
Don't forget to update the spreadsheet. It's also good to put in notes in the Remarks section, such as how much extra food you had to give. ie. higher carb, how much and when. Then the next time you see a lower number you know what works and what doesn't.

Bouncing is confusing, glad you understand it now. It's perfectly normal and annoying!
 
Ok, it took a bit, but I now finally understand the bounce thing. Thank you
Glad she's ok and yes the whole bouncing thing is complicated but normal which means she was going to be high not only last night but probably today too, each cat is different but it usually takes 2-3 cycles to actually clear the bounce so don't be alarmed if you see high numbers today too and do not change or raise her dose just wait
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top