11/15 Mikey PMPS 302 +2 283 +3 247 +4 240

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/15 Mikey AMPS 260 +2 379 What the heck????

Oh, Mikey!

It looks like he told a fast drop from your PM cycle last night and decided to bounce this morning.
 
Re: 11/15 Mikey AMPS 260 +2 379 What the heck????

How can he bounce when he's not been getting any insulin. This brat, I mean cat, does not follow the rules, does he? He could be one of my second graders! :lol:
 
Re: 11/15 Mikey AMPS 260 +2 379 What the heck????

Remember though, Lantus is a depot insulin....so even if you are not giving insulin, he still has "reserves" from the depot that will need to drain...

Someone else will come around to correct me if I am wrong, but I think even that can cause the fast drops, as he is still working on his depot...I am not sure how long the depot lasts though.....
 
Re: 11/15 Mikey AMPS 260 +2 379 +3 266 +5 337

No, I wouldn't increase his dose tonight. You'd had 4 cycles of no insulin and this being the first dose again, it will take a few cycles for the depot to "refill" and for you to be able to see what he can do with just the drop.

If he doesn't go below 50 on this drop, then you'll hold the dose for at least 6 cycles to see what he can do with it.

Fingers crossed for you!

hehe second graders! :lol: This year I'm only working with K-2 and OY VEY, they are so young! One of my favorite sayings from when I was in youth ministry was "it's like herding cats." "Nailing jello to the wall" is another appropriate one. :lol: Mikey is definitely keeping you on your toes - he doesn't want to follow the manual at all.
 
Re: 11/15 Mikey PMPS 302 +2 283 Some questions (not pressing

Thanks, Julie. I held to the 1 drop dose tonight. So far his levels really haven't come down, but I'll watch that and tune in for more directions tomorrow. One of my second graders soaped the bathroom mirror this week. I think Mikey is imitating him. :lol:

I have some questions. These are not pressing, so no rush on answers.

1. What is the difference between HC and MC food?
2. Are all foods with gravy HC as opposed to MC?
3. When do you use MC? I know HC is for under 50.
4. When will I run out of questions?????

Thank you!
 
Re: 11/15 Mikey PMPS 302 +2 283 Some questions (not pressing

mmmm, i'm not going to be the best person to answer those questions. Punkin had acromegaly - we used low carb most of the time and high carb if he went under 50. So i'm not experienced at finessing with carbs.

But I'll take a stab.

Low carb is considered everything under 10%.
High carb is considered over 15% or over 20%, depending on what list you see.

Medium carb is in between.

I had been using a Fancy Feast with gravy that was around 15% carbs and one of the people teaching me, Laurie, said that she always used a HC of more than 20% - the higher the better. I think the difference in carb amounts can also explain why some people need to give more gravy to pull up their cat's BGs. Using a 15% I needed more than Laurie with her 24% carbs.

The best way to know the carb content is to check the list at http://www.catinfo.org. I'd assume anything with gravy is going to be higher carb, but that might be faulty assumption. I assume that classic pate style cat food is all low carb, but even within that it can vary from 2% - 9% or so, and that can make a difference.

As to when you use what - yes, HC for under 50 or if you're trying to stop a too-fast drop. Low carb for most of the time. Medium carb for certain situations when you're finessing things. Having said that, it's all going to depend on how Mikey responds to carbs. Some cats are extremely carb sensitive, some are not. So it's going to be a matter of trying things out with him and making notes of how much of a bump various foods give him.

When will you run out of questions? I don't know - I still ask people more experienced than me and I've been doing this almost 4 years. FD has lots of twists and nuances.
 
Re: 11/15 Mikey PMPS 302 +2 283 +3 247 Some sm. questions

Come on down Mikey - slowly please!

Just to complicate the picture more, not all HC foods contain gravy. I'm currently using Merck Cowboy Cookout (18%) as my HC. It doesn't contain wheat, but instead relies on potatoes and other veggies for it's carbs. Some HC contains rice. Neko doesn't process wheat all that well and the CC seems to work just as well for her. Marje tried CC for Gracie, and it's not working as well for her. ECID.

When you use MC is also somewhat of an ECID thing that requires experimentation. Cats are different in how carb sensitive they are. I need less cowboy cookout than I do of the fancy feast gravy lovers to bring Neko up, but both are the same carb levels. Some people will use MC to slow down a fast drop at the beginning of the cycle. Another use for MC might be to use it at the end of the cycle when kitty goes under 50, instead of HC. The insulin is waning then and you might not need as high a carbs to bring kitty up. I've even seen some people use a higher LC (say 8%) at that point. Experiment and record what you do.
 
Re: 11/15 Mikey PMPS 302 +2 283 +3 247 Some sm. questions

Mikey is looking better. Maybe a drop, once his depot fills, will keep him more level and not diving.

And to add to the confusion, sometimes a MC works like a HC. :roll: :roll: So it might not be the amount of the carb but the kind of the carb and how the cat reacts to it. I used to give Gracie a 10% carb food that stopped her drops and brought her up and I rarely EVER had to use karo. But it had fish and she developed a sensitivity to it. So began the search for something else and I've tried many things. As Wendy said, the CC just isn't doing it for her and I've been having to use karo (which I hate to do). Today is my first day trying Soulistic Good Karma which is very high quality and has no grains, about 20%, and has a ton of yummy gravy. Two tsps of gravy alone brought her up very nicely. Next experiment is to see if it stops the fast drops.

It's always a learning process. Always. We always have questions....all of us.

And really....your questions are nothing compared to mine as a newbie :lol: :lol: :lol: I'd have PAGES! ;-)
 
:lol:

And really....your questions are nothing compared to mine as a newbie :lol: :lol: :lol: I'd have PAGES! ;-)

snicker. it's true. ;-) i suspect i had a lot, too, but i think marje won an award. (love you marje!!!) :lol:

But look at how educated she got with all those questions! :-D
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: in this case, the truth does not hurt.....it's just the truth. (Love you too, Julie.....my partner in newbiness).

I'm thinking we give Mikey one more cycle at 1 drop for a total of four and if he doesn't get with it, back to 0.1u. At least he's flat.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I'm thinking we give Mikey one more cycle at 1 drop for a total of four and if he doesn't get with it, back to 0.1u.

In the spirit of trying to learn everything I can....I thought a drop and0.1U was the same thing....is it not?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top