11/15 Lucy PMPS=160;+2=88;+3=92 WOOT!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

11/14 AMPS=139; +2=157; +9.75=187
11/14 PMPS=209; +2=160; +5.5=167; +7.5=155

11/15 AMPS=115; +2=158; +6.75=148
11/15 PMPS=160; +2=88; +3=92; +7=115

Lucy is doing fine this morning.
She ate her 1st breakfast fine too.
She gave me the nicest PS number in a while this morning, and I suspect it has something to do with last night's sub-q fluids.
I gave her reduced volume, only 100ml (used to be 125ml), and it seems it's still affecting her BG.
That's fine when she is hanging in yellow - higher blue like now, but if she's in lower blue - green range, this could be a problem....

I really don't know what the degree of pain is for her now.
I've been careful not to let bupe wear off, strictly every 8 hours the past 2 days.
She ate her dinner well last night, but didn't want the bedtime mini-meal.
But then she was purry when I woke up, and ate the 1st breakfast fine.
So...... Lucy..... Is it getting better or not?????????

I hope everyone's having a nice day!
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158

I'm glad Lucy ate good for you this morning. I hope she is feeling better. It's so hard to tell if a cat is in pain. Sending prayers for Lucy.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe

Lucy is starting to complain about being given a dose of bupe orally.
She growled and moved her head a lot this morning, and I don't know how much of it stayed in her mouth without being swallowed.
Now she's very upset, which isn't good for her pancreatitis, I'm sure.

:?: I know bupe can be injected.
Is there a difference in the effectiveness?
Is there a reason oral administration is preferred than injection?
:?:
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

My vet just told me that J.D. gets enough injections.

I think it works the same way, but I've never injected bupe before.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

Hi Mariko, Oh I'm sorry Miss Lucy not feeling so well,
have no advise on the Bupe sorry, I hope she starts feeling
a little better and lets you give her the meds she needs.
All well in Lucky land he is just such a clingy cat these days
he is everywhere I am he drives me crazy. Little Feathers will
be on here way to Arkansas soon, hope weather holds up.
You take care I will check in or drop me a line PM
Healing vines to my little Lucy and you
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

Gus used to do that until I started getting it compounded and flavored because he MUST have it and I'm already sticking him every day with a 21g needle for fluids. Now that it's flavored and compounded, he doesn't have any issue with me squirting it up in his cheek pouch.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

Marje that's nice to know, thanks for info didn't know they would do that for animals. :-D
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

we injected it for punkin - he didn't like having his mouth messed with and i could never tell if it was there long enough to get absorbed. the vet did tell me that it absorbs in the cheek pocket very quickly.

he didn't mind the injections, but .. . whenever you inject in a cat there is a risk of them developing a tumor at the injection site. so if you can get it to work orally, that might be the best route.

i think you can't add bupe to the fluids, but if you have anything else you're giving her, like Vit B12 for the pancreatitis, or adequan, those can be added to the fluids. there's a port where you inject into it and it mixes with the fluids right as it goes into the body. for some reason, i'm remembering you should do it with bupe, however.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

Thank you very much, all.

My bupe is chicken flavor, and Lucy just doesn't like me sticking syringe in her cheek.
She does get poked enough, but I thought injection might be less stressful for Lucy.
I'll try oral administration for a couple more days.... and see how she deals with it.
I don't think I can inject chicken flavored bupe anyway.....

Julie, I've been trying to do fluids and B12 on separate days.
I though because B12 is water-soluble, if I give them togher, it would get flushed too fast and she would not fully benefit from it. ---- is what I thought... but just my made-up logic.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

Hello Mariko and Lucy! It sounds like Lucy must be feeling somewhat better if she's purry and eating well. Maybe she needs sushi-flavoured bupe :-D
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i think you can't add bupe to the fluids, but if you have anything else you're giving her, like Vit B12 for the pancreatitis, or adequan, those can be added to the fluids. there's a port where you inject into it and it mixes with the fluids right as it goes into the body. for some reason, i'm remembering you shouldn't do it with bupe, however.

yikes - where did my "n't" go? i think Bupe is not supposed to get added to fluids, if that wasn't clear.

our vet suggested to us to add it to the fluids, so that's what we did. you might check with your vet on it.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

julie & punkin (ga) wrote:
i think you can't add bupe to the fluids, but if you have anything else you're giving her, like Vit B12 for the pancreatitis, or adequan, those can be added to the fluids. there's a port where you inject into it and it mixes with the fluids right as it goes into the body. for some reason, i'm remembering you shouldn't do it with bupe, however.


yikes - where did my "n't" go? i think Bupe is not supposed to get added to fluids, if that wasn't clear.

I thought that was what you meant, but thank you for clarifying. :-D
I also thought about what you said about the risk of a tumor at the injection site, and decided to stick with oral administration.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy AMPS=115;+2=158 // Bupe - oral vs injection

Usually, if there's a lump at an injection site it's a lipoma -- a fat lump. They go away.

I've given Gabby both oral and injecable bupe. Neither has been a problem.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy PMPS=160

Thank you very much eveyone for your visit, advice, sharing of experience.
It really helps to hear about other beans' experience.

The good news is, I *think* she might be getting over this flare. :-D
Her appetite seems a little bit better.
Maybe just a wishful thinking or my imagination, but I feel it.
It's not like she's all better now - it's hard to see how she's truly doing with the pain meds on board all the time.
I'm going to reduce bupe dose and also may extend the in-between period to see how she does.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy PMPS=160

Excellent news....I'm so glad Lucy is starting to feel better. And I know that gut feeling, too... a bean just knows. Have a great night, Mariko!!
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy PMPS=160

Sending lots of feel better vines for Lucy. Paws crossed she is getting over this p'titis flare. Her numbers seem a little better now too.
 
Re: 11/15 Lucy PMPS=160;+2=88 WOOT!

Woot!!!
First green since Monday's cliffdive, which does't count since it was affected by sub-q fluids given too close to the shot.
And if we ignore that Monday's green, it's the first real green since 10/30!!!!!

Maybe Lucy really IS getting over the flare!!!!!!!
 
Yay for the green :mrgreen: She's purry, happy, green and doesn't want her bupe...must be feeling better :-D Go Lucy!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top