11/15 Lightning AMPS 343 PMPS 277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
11/12

I've been so frustrated with these pink numbers lately that I haven't even had the heart to create a condo in 2 days!! We got the new insulin on Friday night and it's like nothing's changed. He's still pink, have only had one test with a number in the 150 range and everything else is higher. No green for a week!! He can never seem to hold his reduction and then on top of that we had the new insulin, its like there's too many variables for his body to deal with so it just shuts down. But at least I'm the only one having a problem with it, Lightning has been as normal as ever. The only thing he's been bothered about are his cold ears in the morning. I think now that its not getting warmer than 70 in my house I need to start doing that rice sock thing. I'll have to look it up to see exactly how to make one, but I definitely need one.

Hope everyone else and their kitties are doing well....I'm just feeling like Debbie Downer lately...
 
Re: 11/15 Lightning AMPS 343

Hi Pamela

I'm sorry you're feeling like that :YMHUG:
it sucks I know, but hang in ok?
Overall, Lightning is doing ok, physically, minus the cold ears...a little trick we tried was rubbing kitties head and ears, vigorously but not insanely vigorously, ya know? lol! and you know what? they shake their head and ears are warmed up! Cool! :lol: do you think I'm weird? :lol: but it worked!
the rice sock thing - I tried it once and melted my sock in the micro :lol: (Note to self: make sure your sock has no rubber padding) :lol:
Feel better k? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/15 Lightning AMPS 343

Thanks Ronnie! That made me smile!

I try rubbing Lightning's ears and head but he just wants to get the testing over with so he can eat so he doesn't like to stay still for very long! I just made myself a rice sock with one of my boyfriends socks (he has a whole bag of them to give away because he bought the wrong size). I put it in the micro for 20 seconds and it was super hot, so i'm thinking maybe 10-15 will be better!!

I'll hang in there....just sucks seeing numbers like this....I think next time he goes below 50, I might need him to do it a few times, not just once before I give him the reduction....that way maybe the lower dose will hold. I'll just have to play around with it til we get something that works for him. Sigghhhhhhh.......
 
Re: 11/15 Lightning AMPS 343

lol, hot sock, hot sock, kinda like hot potatoe eh?
that sounds like a plan, just to make sure he will hold it.
but you're doing ok, and he's ok too - and you can vent anytime here.
 
Re: 11/15 Lightning AMPS 343

Hey Pamela! oh yeah - know how you feel, spent many a day on that pink floor, frustrated as heck for what seemed to be forever. Eventually it got better. Sure would be nice if they could hold their reductions huh. been through that with Mannie too. He just got another one, and I am hoping it sticks.

too fun on the rice sock - I'm still laughing over Ronnie's melted one. :lol: but they do help. Mannie likes his.
 
Re: 11/15 Lightning AMPS 343

There are a couple of other things to consider. I suspect you are holding on to doses for too long. I probably would have raised Lightning's dose on 11/11. I tend to think that often we'll suspect old Lantus when a dosecrease is what's needed.

You can always shave for a dose reduction
 
Re: 11/15 Lightning AMPS 343

I agree Sienne, I feel like he's at a dose for a long time before I realize I should make a change. How many cycles should I let it go (without seeing anything below a certain number) before I increase? And yes, at luck would have it, it always seems to be around the time where I think the insulin is pooping out on me!

Thanks Michelle...I'm hoping Lightning likes the rice sock too....at least I know it will keep ME warm in the morning...hopefully it does the trick for him too! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top