11/15 help please AMPS 106, PMPS 342, +10 58

Nate2021

Member Since 2021
SS might give someone some clues? Seems well this morning, however ?he may have went lower as he ate a lot this morning.

Wondered what the 300 at +7 yesterday suggests. I gave his regular dose yesterday morning, on the premise that he rose at +2 with similar numbers the evening before.

the 'fat' 3, and 3.25 have barely any difference between them, so I would say i've pretty much held this same dose for 10 shots
 
What you are seeing is a bounce from the bg dropping to 86 at night. He’s not used to normal normal bg so his body reacted.
 
From the basics sticky:

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."
 
From the basics sticky:

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."
Thank you. I thought it was likely a bounce, in the past with him though a bounce usually stuck for a full day. I'm guessing the amount of insulin he is on is still enough to pull it back down quite fast. Should i continue on with his regular dose if he hasn't dropped further at preshot?
 
Yes. A good dose helps a cat clear bounces faster. Their bodies getting used to lower numbers also helps.



With the nadirs you are seeing, you want to hold the dose a little longer.
thank you this makes a lot of sense. I vaguely remember him having late ndairs on Lantus in our first diagnosis, think i ended up shooting through them. He's not come up after food an hour ago, due for his shot now, wondering if i should delay to be on the safe side?
 
If you stall he might go lower. Will you be able to monitor if you shoot? Grab another test now.
 
If you stall he might go lower. Will you be able to monitor if you shoot? Grab another test now.
Can definitely monitor today so that's something. Due to the amount of food he's consumed this morning, 3x regular amount (he's not an over eater usually), and not coming up from that I'm giving him a slighter higher carb and stalling at least the first hour I think
 
The test will be food influenced though which you don’t want. Is the food you gave under 10%? Was it more than a teaspoon or two?
 
The test will be food influenced though which you don’t want. Is the food you gave under 10%? Was it more than a teaspoon or two?
The food was about 5 of the diabetic dry kibbles which I never gave. Generally they have caused a rise in his bg but not too dramatically, very small amount. But he had 1 can of the ziwipeak LC which is about 2.5 x a fancy feast pate. And he had a fancy feast pate, the carb content for the quantity i thought should have raised him a bit. These combined haven't raised him, testing still at 54 right now after all of that
 
I vaguely remember him having late ndairs on Lantus in our first diagnosis, think i ended up shooting through them.
Yes. If your cat has end of cycle nadirs when clearing bounces, you get used to shooting low - knowing that invariably, numbers will head up from there. It's Ok to feed a snack at +10 if he is dropping so that he doesn't drop below 50 at shot time. Like Elise said, you don't want to stall if you can monitor and risk numbers dropping further. The requirement of not feeding 2 hours before the shot is more for unexperienced caregivers who are new to lower numbers/shooting lower preshots.
 
Back
Top