11/15 Essi's AMPS 144 PMPS 99 (NO Shot), +2/148, +4/132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

Member Since 2010
Recap 11/15

AMPS 144
+2 48
+2.5 42
+3 40
+3.5 46
+4 50
+4.5 70
+5 105
+6.5 164
+8 137
+9 129
+10 126
+11 117

PMPS 99 (No Shot) Fed PMPS (two helpings), +4 (two helpings)
+2 148
+4 132



Good Monday Morning All,

All is good here, Esmeralda was very hungry this morning, and playfull. She did a good job surfing yesterday. Her poor ears yesterday; did a lot of testing. I did not give her a shot last night, due to her numbers.
Hope we all have a great Monday, cant believe Thanksgiving is next week. Wow time is going by fast.

Recap 11/14
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29762
 

Attachments

  • imagesCA3Q7OWI.jpg
    imagesCA3Q7OWI.jpg
    8.3 KB · Views: 1,599
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144

Morning guys! Nice blue amps for essi today ... hope she is able to surf the day away for you ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144

Good morning, Danette! Nice blue AMPS! Nice job with the testing yesterday. I hope she'll surf nicely for you today!

I know, time flies, doesn't it? I have to start thinking about Thanksgiving, huh? I'm so lucky, DH always cooks, I just have to shop and bake. (I can burn water, nobody wants me to cook! :lol: )
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48 - Heart Attack here!

Nice catch! She's acting alright, right? Give her some HC gravy to boost her and re-test in 20 minutes, ok? You're doing fine! No panicking, ok?

ETA: She's earned her decrease now. :-D Don't be afraid to use the karo to boost her up if you need to, let's get her up into the 60s at least. It's early in the cycle, so you may need to be more vigilant with testing for a while to keep her up there.

Please keep updating us as you can. Breathe, Danette, you have control of this. :smile:
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48 - Heart Attack here!

LAURIE - hahahahaha, someone needs to staple DONT PANIC, on my forehead. My boys think ive lost my mind, running around here trying to feed her a lil HC. I would like her to come up naturally, maybe a lil boost from HC. She is acting fine, big eyes, looken a me like Momma Bean has gone "Bonkers".

She was hungry this morning, she didnt eat her snack last night. Do you think that might have something to do w/ the dip?
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48 - Heart Attack here!

LOL Danette, everybody panics over the lows at first, don't worry! You should have seen me the first time I saw a 37, I was dumping whole cans of HC down in front of Tinkles! :lol: :lol: :lol: He thought I was crazy, but he was loving it!

Just don't let her continue to surf in the 40s, Danette...that's why I say get her into the 60s and try to get her surfing there, it's safer. It's still in the healing range, that's what's important.

It's hard to know if no snack made a difference. No data, so I'd be guessing.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42 - Heart Attack here!

okay, will retest at the top of the hr. Also, I noticed yesterday and today, her back legs are a lil shakey, can these numbers be to low for her?
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42 - Heart Attack here!

Is the shakiness only when she's low? How low was she yesterday when she was shaky? You should use karo on her gums if you think that is related to the numbers....she may be too low, that will bring her up quicker.

What meter are you using?
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42 - Heart Attack here!

One Touch Ultra Smart

Yes, I noticed it yesterday, I have her on Xobaline 3mg a day, her shakeyness is doing better,until yesterday, and I know she surfed in the mid greens all day yesterday. And I didnt shoot her last night either.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42 - Heart Attack here!

UGH 40, damn, just put some syrup on her gums, well the roof of her mouth, will retest in 15

How come nothing is working?
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42 - Heart Attack here!

Still dropping, put more syrup on her gums in a few minutes, keep putting it on frequently. How is she acting? Test in 10 minutes.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42,+3/40 Heart Attack h

She is okay, she is eating when I put the food in front of her. Her eyes are closed, I have her in the office w/me
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42,+3/40 Heart Attack h

Keep an eye on her. Thank goodness she is starting to come up.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42,+3/40 Heart Attack h

No problem....that's why I said be more vigilant and use the karo...it's early and the insulin is most potent now, you're really fighting the drop this early.

Keep testing often, the karo doesn't last long. Once she's up out of the 40s, start adding HC food/gravy to the karo to help keep her up.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42,+3/40 Heart Attack h

great job on managing the drop with karo .. remember, you are in charge!
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42,+3/40 Heart Attack h

Good job, Danette...glad she's more alert! Keep us posted. It doesn't matter if she zooms up, you want her to be safe, so don't be afraid to overdo the karo/HC for now, ok?
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42,+3/40 Heart Attack h

Okay Laurie, thank you, she just had some HC w/some syrup; last test was at 50, will test her again at the top of the hr
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+2.5/42,+3/40 Heart Attack h

I'm following along too (haven't dealt with a low yet - just seeing greens the other day had me spooked).
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

Ok, glad to see that 70. Now you can stop the karo. Try a little LC, see if bits of regular food will keep her surfing up there...but keep testing every half hour, ok? She could drop quickly again.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

Whew.....I have been watching from the sidelines biting my nails waiting for that Karo to kick in.
Good job Danette!
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

Hey Laurie,

What do you use for HC food? I just noticed I grabbed the top can of HC, its Fancy Feast, Grilled Ckn and Beef in Gravy, maybe it didnt have enough carbs in it.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

You did great, Danette! :thumbup Essi is a drama queen....she really didn't need to be THAT dramatic to earn the dosecrease! :roll:

For HC, I use 9 Lives tender slices with real beef in gravy...24%. I use it because it has a good amount of gravy that is pretty easy to separate from the food. Not sure what that FF is, have to look it up.

She does seem to like to drop quick sometimes...I'd suggest that you get a +1 as a matter of course when she's got a blue preshot. That might give you a idea about if she is going to pull a repeat performance. I saw the +10...good job with that...and with no shot last night, it wouldn't have made me suspicious either. She wants to be a tricky girl!!
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

Excellent job! Essi sure kept you busy! On the FF with gravy - most are in the 17-18% range ( and I think most are on Janet and Binky's food chart), the Gravy Lovers version is 14%
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

The liver and gravy yesterday brought her up, in a nice manner.... But today, was wow, she is being difficult today, but I used Ckn and beef w/gravy today. Will have to look it up, Ess just is doing this to get attention, she knows I have a lot of accounting to do today. J/K, she can take all the attention she needs ;-)
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

SUPER job keeping your wits about you managing the curve, danette... and hats off to laurie and the others for their expert guidance!

essi definitely earned a reduction to 0.1u today. continue monitoring because she may bobble up and down a little bit. let's see how the rest of the day plays out. if she remains on the lower side, you may want to skip tonight's shot to empty the shed before resuming insulin in the morning.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

Jill, from here on out, go for the .1u? but maybe skip tonight depending on how she does today?

,I cant thank everyone enought for holding my hand thru all of this.

Next week, I will be lost, we will be camping from Tues-Saterday (23rd-27th), my lap top always goes w/me, but will have too look into wireless connection, its in the middle of no-where. lol
Going to take lots and lots of supplies, Essi will have her own cuboard in the motorhome.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

wow...talk about being busy!
i thought i had it bad with Rocket but certainly not! scary but nice to know you were guided...haven't had a chance to visit or read condos as i've been pretty busy myself...but not scary busy....hope Essi gives you a little break!
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+4.5/70,+5/

Danette...also been trying to stay out of the way. Great job!! You handled it like a pro. Now you know you can control low numbers. Collecting the data through testing will let you know how she responds to the %carb you gave her. As you can see, Laurie uses 24% with Mr. Tinkles when he's dropping, Michelle uses 16-18%, and if you look at our condo, I used 9% and Gracie fired back up.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+5/70

Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) said:
Jill, from here on out, go for the .1u? but maybe skip tonight depending on how she does today?

,I cant thank everyone enought for holding my hand thru all of this.

Next week, I will be lost, we will be camping from Tues-Saterday (23rd-27th), my lap top always goes w/me, but will have too look into wireless connection, its in the middle of no-where. lol
Going to take lots and lots of supplies, Essi will have her own cuboard in the motorhome.

yes, essi has earned a reduction to 0.1 unit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/29764149@N02/2783154839/.
and yes, let's see what she does today before shooting tonight. if she bounces, you may want to shoot. if she remains in the lower range, i would skip tonight's shot as a method of draining the shed.

several of us have our eyes on essi's ss. as shot time approaches we'll chime in with suggestions.

it's good to be prepared, but don't worry about next week yet. let's cross that bridge when we come to it.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+4.5/70,+5/

Her PMPS will be Pacific time 6pm. I went to the grocery store, got some 9lives, thank you Laurie.

Has anyone today, "say you guys are the best"? IAM :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thank you
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+4.5/70,+5/

Oh and also, I was able to check her urine this morning, negative for Keytones... It was histerical watching me run across the house to get her test strips and back to the litter box b4 she finished peeing. No privacy in this house today, lol! All three furbabies think I have lost my mind today. I think I overheard the two youngest whispering since Essi's been sick, they get NO ATTENTION.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+4.5/70,+5/

Glad you got some more HC, Danette...never know when you will need it with Essi! :mrgreen: Too funny about the ketone test....I've done that before! The cats all know I'm crazy, there's no doubt in their minds! :lol:

Just help someone else out when you feel like you can, Danette...that's what we're doing, paying it forward for the help we got. :-D That's the beauty of FDMB...we all help each other when we can.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+2/48,+3/40(UGH),+4/50,+4.5/70,+5/

ditto to what laurie said! paying it forward. it's what we do. just as someone else held our hands along the way.
made note of ps time. we'll be around...
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+5/105,+6.5/164, +8/137

Its been a "Monday" for sure, UGH, its almost over right?

Essi gave me heart failure today. Good Lord! She would be grounded for acting up, LOL, as if I could get away w/that. LOL
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+5/105,+6.5/164, +8/137

:shock:

uh, what a morning you had, wow!

Great job Danette and *everyone* who helped here today. I love this place. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+5/105,+6.5/164, +8/137,+9/129

Crazy Essi today, she is driving me crazy and she doesnt even know it, and shes been napping today, but she is slowly dropping, I did feed her +8, her eating is super, she is gaining a lil weight.
 
Re: 11/15 Essi's AMPS 144,+6.5/164,+8/137,+9/129,+10/126,+11

danette, how much did you feed at +8?
please post essi's ps number before shooting, k?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top