11/15-Cini Mini+11/108,+12/89,+12.5/124 A Trak-Skipping Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Previous day's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56460

I tries giving Cini his Nutrical at 6:30am this morning and this time gave just a tiny, pea sized amount. I think that made a difference in the AMPS reading that I took at 8am.

Any suggestions on when I should give the evening dose of Nutrical? I am thinking after I do the evening +2 (at 10pm) that way the extra carbs will assist in his evening curve while I'm sleeping?
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260 A Trak

Hi Cathy,

No advice here, just checking in. I hope Cini surfs the blues and greens as usual today.
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260, +2/185 A Trak

Thanks for checking in Linda.

A bit of good news just now... the Metoclopramide I have been giving Cini is going to be delivered from the pharmacy tomorrow. The Vet was able to get it re-compounded so that he doesn't have to take that sticky, sweet, orange syrup. Instead I was able to request they put the Metoclopramide in a sugar free, chicken flavor solution. :-D

While I was speaking to the pharmacy tech I asked about getting the Pepcid re-compounded and she said they could to that too! She said they could do it in the same kind of suspension as the Metoclopramide (sugar free and chicken flavor) or they can even do it as a paste that you smear on his ear twice a day! Wooo! I feel like a big weight has been lifted! :RAHCAT

Now to work out the boarding situation for the holidays ....
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260, +2/185 A Trak

That is interesting about compounding the pepcid. Is that so you don't have to give him a pill? That is a big relief to get that figured out.
Liz
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260, +2/185 A Trak

Hi Liz, yes. Cini can't take pills because of his throat problem. That's why I have to crush the Pepcid and mix it in something like the Nutrical. Now that I found out I can get it re-compounded in a sugar free, chicken flavored suspension or a paste to put on his ear, that will be a godsend.
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260, +2/185 A Trak

I see! We give Zener a 1/4 tablet Pepcid in a pill pocket and he gobbles it down. We just figured the pill pockets out recently so I know how you feel. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260, +2/185, +6/76 A Trak

Got the Vet to call in the Pepcid to have it re-compounded as a liquid. WOOT WOOT! dancing_cat
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260, +2/185, +6/76, +11/108 A Tr

Oh boy, +11 was 108

See how this stinky Nutrical affects his readings? I can't wait to get him off of this tomorrow.

In the mean time, what should I do if he's not over 150 in another hour?
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- AMPS 260, +2/185, +6/76, +11/108 A Tr

FWIW, we would feel comfortable shooting as long as the preshot value was greater than that 108. If it isn't, do not feed and test again in 20 mins to see if it rises. You might put "dose help" in the subject to get more eyes on your question.
Liz
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- +6/76,+11/108, +12/89 A Trak -Now Wh

Now his reading went down to 89 for the PMPS ? I'm not giving anything yet.

I fed him Friskies Mixed Grill (8%) mixed with Purina DM (8%)

I'll check Cini again here in an hour.
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- +6/76,+11/108, +12/89 A Trak -Now Wh

Hey Liz, sorry I didn't see you post till after I had already fed Cini. :sad:

Not quite sure what to do now. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- +6/76,+11/108, +12/89 A Trak -Dose H

No worries! We did that too, the first few times we got a low reading at preshot. Panic mode kind of sets in and you think FOOD! The idea is not to feed, test again in 20 mins to see which way he's going. Then keep testing every 20-30 mins until you see a rising number. Then it's safe to shoot but you will still need to monitor closely. The next shot should be 12 hours later so it might throw off your schedule. That is the stall tactic. The other two options are to skip the shot or shoot a reduced dose. I think this is probably explained a little better in a sticky.
Liz
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- +6/76,+11/108, +12/89 A Trak -Dose H

i wouldn't shoot it - that's a 59 on our human meters - and at 50 you start giving high carbs. since you've already fed him, i think i'd call it a fur shot and skip til tomorrow. if you can afford to be 2 hours late or so, you could retest that late (because then it won't be food affected) and shoot then if it's high enough. but having had the crazy off-schedule stuff, trying to get back on track, i would just skip, personally.
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- +6/76,+11/108, +12/89 A Trak -Dose H

That is a good point, Julie, 89 really is a low number. I hadn't thought about the Alpha Trak and that's what we use! I would agree that skipping is probably the best choice.
Liz
 
Re: 11/15 - Cini Mini- +6/76,+11/108, +12/89 A Trak -Dose H

Just tested him again (30 mins after the +12) and he's 124. But I'm sure that has to do with feeding him and I haven't given him the Nutrical with the Pepcid yet (tonight and tomorrow morning will be the last times I use the Nutrical).

I think I will skip the injection tonight because by the time I give him Nutrical, and that and the food wear off, who knows where he'll be on the BG scale. :shock:

Also, I don't want to have to work his schedule around again. I just spent the last two weeks getting him back to 8am/ 8pm
 
Re: 11/15-Cini Mini+11/108,+12/89,+12.5/124 A Trak-Skipping

yeah, the schedule thing sways me. i had punkin off schedule by something like 4 hours a while ago and trying to work him back was awful! :shock: make him wait to eat? we all paid for that. he was so obnoxious. so finally when he was somewhat low, i just skipped and got back on track the next morning. it was a billion times better.
 
Re: 11/15-Cini Mini+11/108,+12/89,+12.5/124 A Trak-Skipping

LOL

Yes, our feline overlords exact justice and it is swift

Speaking of morning, what do I do in the morning? This will be Cini's 4th cycle on .50 units. Stay the course if his BG is over 150 or do I adjust to .25?
 
Re: 11/15-Cini Mini+11/108,+12/89,+12.5/124 A Trak-Skipping

I would stay the course at 0.5u since he did not earn a reduction by going under 80 on the Alpha Trak. I have very limited experience though, so if you want a wise one to stop by, you should put "dose question" in your subject line. Have a good night!
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top