11/15 Bama Kitty AMPS 158 +1 154 +4 89; PMPS 177 +1 170 +2 148 +3 134 +4 125 +5 133 +8 131 +9 177

Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: 11/14 Bama Kitty AMPS 250 +3 269 +9 338; PMPS 409 +3 303 +4.75 224 +7 198 +9 180

Good morning Kitti-verse!!

Bama's appetite woke up last night about the same time his BG dropped into yellow @ PM+4.75 when I started feeding from his FF can freshly opened at PMPS through the overnight tests and he has just finished that can now at AMPS plus about 1/4 or so from a new can of FF. Also fed 1/2T or so of Dr. Elsey's kibble. He is strictly on the Clean chicken kibble now that the salmon is gone.

An overnight pee and a nice turd already this morning in the box and the day is looking good. Planning to get a +1 and offer another teaspoon or so of FF if he's still hungry. He's enjoying his warm after breakfast drink of warm water in his food bowl. His stainless steel water bowl has fallen out of favor. He says it's really a dog water bowl but I think he has trouble seeing the water level. I have trouble seeing the water level in it so I know he must. The vet told me some months ago he had "vision changes" due to his diabetes--cataracts. His water setup now consists of 3 water bowls on a turned-up lid of a plastic tote. He sticks his paw in the bowl and yanks it forward so that it spills out and he drinks from the rivulets that form around it. Two of the bowls are these UPSKY Double Dog Cat Bowls Premium Stainless Steel Pet Bowls No-Spill Resin Station I got from Amazon.com. No spill. HaHa. Some days he has a nice little foot-bath/wading pool inside the tote lid.

61ltimUfpKL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
 
+1 holding steady @ 154. He doesn't seem hungry so I didn't offer more food. If he wants to visit the green in the next few hours I'm okay with that. I'll take a +2 to see what the cycle may hold. If he snags another reducie before Wednesday, that will save me from having to perform a curve.
 
+2.25 & 122; I waited a few extra minutes to make sure the number is not food influenced. He's dropping at a decent clip. So in roughly an hour or so, he should be below 90 and be justly rewarded his reducie. He did not get out of his bed for his test so he is probably not hungry at all. Will wait a bit to offer any more food. Testing in an hour.
 
@+3.5 and into the green and ohh so close to a reducie at 92. Will test again soon. Not sure if he's hungry. He did get out of his bed to be tested but he has not started meowing for food. If he can hold off just a little while longer. . . . Dark greens are good, just like dark leafy greens are good. But, no light greens just yet. He's not a limey. No smear intended on our English brethren and sisteren. I learned in school that limey was used to refer to those in the British navy who discovered the use of limes for their vitamin C content to prevent scurvy. Very good discovery. Go Brits!!! :cool:
 
Ding!!! Ding!!! Ding!!! He has won the prize, another reducie! He is now enjoying a reward--a loving spoonful of FF LC--since he was meowing and he was due for an AM snack. Also gave 4--6 pieces of Dr. Elsey's kibble. Apparently, I added a tad too much warm water to the FF as he ate some and licked the rest into the curves of the bowl. He does that a lot. Now I'm ready for his numbers to stabilize. :smuggrin:
 
@+4.5, 85; ok you can stop dropping now, Bama Kitty. Mama Bean has things to do. Fed 1t FF LC; staying off MC & HC for now. Would consider a drop or two of Karo to bring him up if needed. The only recent documented trips into green have been on no shoot cycles and he started rising by +4 with food and possibly a drop of Karo.
 
+5, 87. So, since meter variance has shifted to the upside slightly, I will not feed this hour and will hold off another hour or so to test.
 
Has been an hour and a half since food. He's risen to 103. Think I can relax a bit now. He sure wants to. Mama Bean has interfered with his sleep night and day. He needs a break. :cat:
 
Took a +10 reading--good @ 187--and 30 minutes later he's vomiting yellow liquid, not a huge amount and not much in it but the bile. He last ate a small snack of kibble @ +7.5. What is the likely problem given his on again off again appetite? Planning on phoning the vet.
 
Bama has a vet appointment tomorrow at noon. These frequent vomits and inappetence episodes are worrying. I had given an Ondansetron 1 hour after the vomit and 1/2 hour before PMPS. He ate well and drank his after dinner warm water drink. Then went and got in his bed, started kneading and purring. Plan to get a PM+1 and see what may be ahead tonight. Any thoughts welcome.
 
Busy day!

I honestly never know when vomit is worrisome. It's hairball season here, plus he tends to eat a little too fast sometimes. So it's usually a pile of something or other every day, usually bile and hairball
 
Don't want to trigger another reduction so soon after he just got one; feeding a little Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Chicken kibble topped with Squeeze Up and taking tests every hour for next hour or so. Last time he visited the green, he got into the yellows by the end of the cycle. Holding firm in the blues thus far.
 
Back
Top