11/15/13 Mocha AMPS 442

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mocha'sMom

Member Since 2013
Just took his PMPS and it was 285. That seems like a significant jump. He is fighting a UTI, and got an antibiotic injection this past Monday, and he is having diahrea. Should I be worried about a bounce?
 
Welcome to LantusLand!! Things like a UTI and ABs certainly can affect BG numbers. I took a quick look at Mocha's SS...are you able to get any tests during the day or evening? Since Lantus dosing and evaluation is based on the nadir, and not the preshot numbers, those in-between tests are invaluable with determining what is going on with an FD kitty. Hopefully others who are more astute in evaluating spreadsheet values will come along soon, too.

I hope Mocha is feeling better tonight!
 
During the day is tough, no one is home. But I can get a few more checks in tonight. I definately was planning on getting his nadir tonight. The last time we got a jump in numbers like that was when he started showing the UTI symptoms. I also have never dealt with a bounce, but I'm not sure if I need to be concerned about that.
 
Without knowing what Mocha's numbers are in between shots, it's hard to say whether his preshot numbers are bounces or not. Bounces happen when the BGs drop low and the kitty's body isn't used to . Thinking the kitty is in danger of a hypo, his or her liver overreacts and causes the BGs to jump high. It's sort of a self-preservation tactic. So the only way to know for sure if the preshot numbers are bouncy or not is to know what's happening in between. It definitely can be tricky getting daytime numbers if you work (most of us do work), so it's important to get mid-cycle numbers whenever you can....evenings, weekends, etc. I general, a bounce in and of itself is just one one of the bumps in the road of FD, but if a kitty is sitting in high numbers most of the time, that can become an issue (ie, it's hard on the organs) in the long run.
 
In addition to low numbers, bounces can occur if numbers drop quickly or if Mocha's numbers are in a range she's not used to. I wouldn't be concerned. A cat's numbers bounce until they don't. Some cats are just bouncy whereas others aren't.

Getting a nadir is great if you can. Spot checks can also be very informative. I'd encourage you to get a before bed test every night. A +2 or +3 can also be informative since it may be a signal if it's going to be a busy cycle. Getting tests when you get home, before oyu leave, or any other reason helps to fill in the blanks on a SS.
 
Maybe I should be posting on the relaxed regulation forum. It's hard for me to do more tests, not just because of my schedule, but because his ears bruise up easily and I feel bad continuing to poke him.
 
Do you put a little pressure on his ears after testing? I know Trix's ears did bruise a bit when we first started doing all of this, but as time has gone on, they really don't bruise at all now. I think a little bit of compression after the poke helps with that. Others also use Neosporin with pain relief to help with sore ears. I also rotate ear between ears and location on her ears, too, so I'm not poking the same spot over and over again. And, of course, treats after each poke always help a lot, too!

I haven't really been over in the relaxed forum, but I do think there is more "activity" over here, meaning you'll probably get answer more quickly here than you will over there. I could be wrong, though. Please do what you are comfortable with, but don't hesitate to ask as many questions as you need....It does seem overwhelming to be here, because we are a numbers-driven group, but we are all about helping the kitties and their humans here.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land. We're happy to have you here no matter if you follow the TR Protocol or the Start Low Go Slow Approach. We have other members that follow that approach and, as Amy said, we have many more experienced eyes here.

We also have many members working and following the TR protocol. It's your choice but we will help you either way.

If you decide to switch to the SLGS Approach, it would help us if you could put "SLGS" in bold in your signature block to help is remember.

Thank you and welcome! :-D
 
Amy&TrixieCat said:
Do you put a little pressure on his ears after testing? I know Trix's ears did bruise a bit when we first started doing all of this, but as time has gone on, they really don't bruise at all now. I think a little bit of compression after the poke helps with that. Others also use Neosporin with pain relief to help with sore ears. I also rotate ear between ears and location on her ears, too, so I'm not poking the same spot over and over again. And, of course, treats after each poke always help a lot, too!

Thank you for your feedback, these are all good suggestions I have received from one person or another. So far, it's only helped a little bit. He doesn't really complain when I poke him, but as the bruises start adding up, I start to wonder if he's just being a good boy and not complaining. He does have trouble with one ear that has a yeast infection we can't seem to kick which does affect my ear rotation. He flicks his head at the worst times when I try to use that ear, and *poof* blood droplet gone cat(2)_steam So I tend to use that ear less than the other.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top