11/14 Zyler AMPS 160 +1.5 106 PMPS 102 +1 112 +2 109 +4 114 +11 129

I know, it’s great to see him lower but it sure makes me so scared to leave, hoping I can soon capture a curve when he’s in these numbers so I can understand how low he’s going.
I tried to give him 8% but unfortunately he not eat that flavor, he’s so picky so haven’t found something in MC that he will consistently eat yet. I ended up putting down 2:1 LC:HC and he did eat that at +2. I did 3:1 LC:HC that will open at +4 for him (hopefully I put it in the correct spot today)
 
Zyler did eat his mixed food today and the leftover MC food around 3 that I didn’t pick up since I didn't think he’d eat it since he refused this morning.

Is he ok to get his normal dose? Worried that all this higher carb food is compensating for too high of a dose?
 
Can you monitor if you shoot?
Shooting lower numbers usually results in flatter cycles. If you can monitor, I would shoot the full dose.
If you can't and need sleep etc, then maybe a token dose. Just be mindful that the higher depot effects the first half of the cycle.
 
I can monitor tonight, I’d really like to collect the data so I can feel more comfortable with his numbers. How often should I test?
 
Can you explain more what active cycle means, is it good or bad?
its Good :cat:. From the Sticky - The Basics: New to the Group? Start Here, an active cycle is describes how Lantus should work. The excerpt from the sticky is below:

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus and glargine biosimilars cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar/Semglee cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.​

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
An active cycle also gives us some understanding of how our kitties respond to insulin, ie onset (when the insulin starts working), nadir (the lowest point of the cycle) and duration (how long the insulin lasts).
 
Thank you, I remember reading that now. I think I was getting confused cause I wasn’t sure if we hoped for numbers that stayed flat or still did drop.

Zyler got spicy after his +2 test and bit me. This is unfortunately normal behavior for him, he’s a very dominant cat and I wasn’t aware he entered a staring match with me after his test. Usually I catch him and am able to redirect and leave the room but I was busy reading the site. Hopefully after a little break from each other he’ll let me test again at +4
 
Oh no! I'm so sorry he bit you. Are you ok?
I’m ok, luckily wasn’t too bad this time. Thankfully I was wearing long sleeves that helps prevent the deep punctures that cause infection. In this state urgent care reports it and then I get a call from animal control and while they assured me that they don’t take action, it’s always something I’m terrified of
 
Back
Top