11/14 Shishi AMPS 133 +3 91 +5 77 +6 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29489

Hello all

Shishi still has the 5P's and she stopped purring again. Her BG seems to be more predictable again, and I have backed off the dose to 3 units now. The only thing that seems to be normal is her pooping.

Shes doing ok, and is still trying to figure out a way to gain access to the kitchen, or reminding me to feed her 1 or 2 hrs before mealtime. After she eats she usually goes to sleep as there is no more action for about 6 hrs.
 
Re: 11/14 Shishi AMPS 133 +3 91

Hi Will,
nice to see you posting today.
Shishi looking good there, nice catch on the green :mrgreen:
And normal poop is better than no poop right? :lol:
Take good care guys!
 
Re: 11/14 Shishi AMPS 133 +3 91

You might want to get another test in -- a +4 or +5. Shishi is in a good range but you don't want her to drop too low.
 
Thank you for the reminder.

Here the update on Shishi. I have just fed her and she went back snoozing again. I check her regularly to see if she is responsive and shes doing ok.

Shes in a pretty low zone so I am extra cautious these days. I know one of these days 3 units will be too much, its just a matter of when.
 
I think it's helpful to keep in mind that in order to earn a dose reduction a newly diagnosed cat (i.e., within a year of diagnosis) needs have BG drop below 50. If the research didn't support this as safe, the protocol would never have been published. You're not going to deliberately let Shishi stay in those numbers for hours and hours. The other thing to remember is that as long as you have a meter, strips and HC food, you are in control of the cycle. That said, the first time your cat drops below 50 is unnerving. And, we'll all be here to help!
 
Thanks for the support, I will keep in mind of the regulation protocols. She has not went below 50 ever, and for me to back the dose off was against protocol.

I will hold this dose and hopefully be in a good range for her. I am always open to dose suggestions and still learning everything I can.

And yes, Shishi is a very beautiful cat, but I find all cats very beautiful. I really like this picture of her in my avatar, something got her attention and she looked away, and I took the picture.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top