11/14 Nico Amps- 449, +2.5- 381, +5- 258

Good morning, hope you get a relaxing day today, after last night and an easy bounce for Nico!
They say our body prepares us for the hunting we have to do every day, so we're more alert in the morning.
 
Good morning, hope you get a relaxing day today, after last night and an easy bounce for Nico!
They say our body prepares us for the hunting we have to do every day, so we're more alert in the morning.
Thanks! It was indeed a bit of a roller coaster. It was nice to finally get to sleep. And he actually let me sleep in till 6! Wooh! I know to expect crazy numbers today. I just pray he will eventually return to the good numbers. In the past, he'd gotten to 200's, but then went back to red and black.:/
I will hold out hope though.
By the way, I was reading through the papers that come with the boxes of test strips, and their normal numbers lie between 75-120. And he got down to 111 last night. I don't know if the AlphaTracks good zone are the same and that's why 100-120 are in the blue instead of green. But according to the makers of my test meter, he did get in the green lady night. So I'm thrilled. Scared a little last night. But thrilled.
 
Check out my guy out in the area of the house again. Catching the rare patches of light I allow in for them.:)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251114_135131546.jpg
    IMG_20251114_135131546.jpg
    711.5 KB · Views: 36
Hi, first time I've had a look at Nico's spreadsheet. Lovely to see him hit blue last night and yellow today - he is responding to the Lantus and learning how to work it. Good job Nico! ⭐
An exciting time. Altho as you say, it feels like a rollercoaster. Sleep as much as you can, as there next few weeks may well get interesting. There will be times you will be up late monitoring him.
It is a fairly common pattern to see lower numbers at night rather during the day. I don't know why that is.
 
Hi, first time I've had a look at Nico's spreadsheet. Lovely to see him hit blue last night and yellow today - he is responding to the Lantus and learning how to work it. Good job Nico! ⭐
An exciting time. Altho as you say, it feels like a rollercoaster. Sleep as much as you can, as there next few weeks may well get interesting. There will be times you will be up late monitoring him.
It is a fairly common pattern to see lower numbers at night rather during the day. I don't know why that is.
Thank you veto much for the warning. I will aim for early (though his +4 is at 11pm) nights to prepare me for the sleepless ones.😁
I left a message on the SS forum, asking anyone to either explain how to change the color coding or if someone can do it, as the pet meter color chart is wrong, at least the lower ends. Like last night he hit 111. In their version, that's blues, but it's actually greens. My pet meter clearly states 75-120 is 'normal', or green. That's a bit important for those of us desperately trying to get our babies to those green numbers. I looked at it and not talented enough to fix it myself. Hoping someone can help there. Cause he really did reach greens once last night.🥰
 
The colour coding is not wrong. My understanding is that the spreadsheets were created along with the colour coding by the Mods according to reference numbers to be used to help with dosing methods and when to implement increases and decreases. This also helps us see trends in our kitties as we learn how they use insulin. The colours are not meant to reflect the manufacturers colour coding on any individual meter. Pet or human.

Does this help?
 
Well if the goal is to 'aim for green' (the green being the ideal number range for our sugar babies), then the numbers in the labeled green area should show what the pet meters tell us is 'ideal'.
I don't know if I'm explaining that right. But essentially by boy had 1 reading just a little high last night, but the 2nd reading an hour later was idea number.
 
Here's that link to yesterday's post: 11/13 Nico NEW dose amps- HI, +2- 546, +5- 437, pmps- 395

We don't do anything much different for the dosing methods whether pet meters or human meters. The only difference is that if following TR, pet meters reduce at under 68, human meters under 50. We use the spreadsheets to help us decide what to do about dosing. Personally, I don't want to see different colours on the spreadsheet for different meter types, other than the reduction point which is the only point we do something different. After this many years of looking at spreadsheets, I've kind of gotten used to them the way they are. ;) And many of us who have experience with spreadsheets can see patterns in colour. (regardless of meter).

When we say "time in green", you can read it as "time in normal BG range".

Because of those blues you saw last night which were a first for him, you'll be holding this dose 10 cycles. Unless he subsequently goes under 68 of course. BTW, if he had seen green, you would also be holding for 10 cycles.
 
He registered HI preshot, but it might've been too little blood? I've stabbed him so many times last 24, thought I could wait. Can I try him at +3 tonight? Or should I stick with his usual +4 @Wendy&Neko?
 
Rule of thumb you could use is greater than 20% drop.

At what times are you feeding Nico? Feeding several small meals early in the cycle can help slow down those big drops, which can themselves cause bounces.
 
Rule of thumb you could use is greater than 20% drop.

At what times are you feeding Nico? Feeding several small meals early in the cycle can help slow down those big drops, which can themselves cause bounces.
He gets a bigger meal at 7am & 7pm. Then he gets half meals at 9 & 11am. And depending on how tired I am, either half meals at 9 & 11pm, or another whole meal just at 9.
 
That's a good place to start with the feeding. Once we get more data the timing might be tweaked a bit. It would be good to know when Nico onsets with Lantus, as many cats do a bit drop at that time. At some point, getting some +1 or +1.5 tests when he starts in 300's or lower might be useful data points.
 
Will do. I did it once on the 11th of this month. It was quite a drop.
I guess the HI reading for his pmps wasn't wrong, as his +3.5 was 547.:(
Guess I can go to sleep now.
 
Back
Top