11/14 Milo,PMPS 69 +1/59, +2/71,+4/103

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56362
Running late to work, but wanted to post....Milo in still in normal range even with skipping last night.. I stll wanted to shoot him but no one will be around until 2PM today so I did a reduced dose .50...is it just me or does he seem to being staying in range even without insulin? Is this normal?
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79

Good morning! Did you feed that 41?

I can understand shooting a reduced dose, please make sure you leave food out for Milo.

This happens sometimes, that's why we keep saying Milo is on a mission. I would guess he won't be on insulin long....it appears Mr P (pancreas) is on the job....(producing some insulin).

ETA: I had to run out the door myself, but I did want to add that you don't want to just stop giving insulin, even if he stays in the normal range when you skip. You want to provide support for as long as possible, to give him the best chance at a strong remission.

Skipping shots is not ideal, it might be better to reduce the dose so you can shoot twice a day. I'm not a big fan of unearned reductions, but in certain cases, it is necessary. We'll see where he is later.

You did great this morning, good for you! :smile:
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79

Hi guys .. how exciting to see such nice numbers with little to no insulin! It was probably a good idea to reduce the dose today, if no one is around .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79

Go Milo ! :mrgreen:

when BK was sliding down the dosing ladder at lighitning speed, there was an occasion where I was advised to, and did reduce the dose based on a string of constantly un-shootable PS's.
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +9/84 Green day

AMPS-79
+7 -64
+8 -60
+10 -84

Milo has had a great day But I am thinking he may of dropped a bit low earlier today, my daughter was able to start the testing when she got in from college, he did have food out so i knew he would be ok, but was very suprised by his numbers!! Im so excited about him doing better but I dont want to keep skipping and I want to keep him safe.. so if he is still under 100 tonight for his PMPS I think I will do the .50 do you think it will be ok??
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84 Green day!

Here's what I'm thinking: Reducing from 1.0u to 0.5u is a 50% reduction, that's a lot. It might be fine, but you could lose momentum, and I would hate to see that happen. Trying 0.75u might be better. After all, you just reduced from 1.25u two days ago. Reducing too much too fast could stop his progress.

Maybe others will weigh in with their thoughts as well....
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84 Green day!

OK, That make sense .. I wil post his PMPS and go from there :-D
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84 Green day!

You might want to put dose ? in your subject line to get some other opinions. I know Sandy has been through this herself, and it never hurts to get more eyes. Peer review is a wonderful thing! :smile:
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84 PMPS 69 Dose?

Milo's PMPS is 69, this is getting frustrating to me because I just don't know what to do when shooting these numbers, and feeling comfortable with it. Imworried about testing him all nite, because I had a late day, and have an early morning...and I am afraid of not testing him often enough tonight, Im just confused. I dont want to loose where he is going by not doing the right thing.. I'm very overwhelmed :?
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84 PMPS 69 Dose?

You are going to have to go with your gut here - I know it's overwhelming

I agree with Laurie regarding taking such a large decrease and risking losing momentum.

I have however, done 2 BCS doses in a row, and once a BCS dose ended up being the new dose. Flying down the ladder is crazy making.

So your optioins are-
skip (least desirable IMHO)
BCS
tale a 0.25u reduction to 0.75u
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,+12/ 69 Dose?

OK, I gonna shoot a .75 tonight then...and try to keep it there numbers permitting so I dont bounce around.. Im nervous but my daughter has committed to helping with him tonight so as scared as I am Im gonna go for it :o
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84 PMPS 69 Dose?

Let's see what Sandy thinks...can you hold off for a few minutes?

He seems to like to dip a bit at the end of the cycle...that's not unusual with Lantus. The 69 is not really that low, you have shot low 70s several times. As far as testing, get a +2 and go from there....you may not need to get too many tests if he is surfing at bedtime.

I know it's stressful and overwhelming...it always is when they race down the ladder! He isn't allowing you the luxury of time to get comfortable with the green numbers.

I'm a slow typer...I see Sandy already posted. :lol:
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,+12/ 69 Dose?

OK, sorry 1 more question before I shoot.. if he drops and I catch it.. I can reverse it by giving him gravy right?? Like it wont get worse than that? I have read about people cats bottoming out..(sorry this is my ocd kicking in lol lol)
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,+12/ 69 Dose?

If he drops below 50, you give gravy. Remember the other day? You gave gravy, he came up. If he doesn't come right up, you add a little karo to the gravy. I don't think you need to worry about losing control of the numbers as long as you monitor....he is not that far over dose...if he's over dose at all! I'll be watching the condo for at least the next 4 hours. Post if you are worried, keep your header up to date, ok?
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,+12/ 69 Dose?

How wonderful that your daughter is willing to team up in this!

No one can predict how low he may or may not go, he seems pretty steady. Yes, HC gravy and a few drops of good old karo can bring numbers up quickly., if needed.

Take a look at BKs ss the week of 02/09/2009 and 02/16/2009. You can see where he kept throwing me unshootably low (for BK at 5.0u at the time) PMPSs
On 02/12/2009 he was at 5u and by 02/19/2009 he was down to 3u. Only once in that period did I catch a number under 50.
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,+12/ 69 Dose?

Yes, I was studying yours when Laurie said you had experienced this.... So I'm going for the .75 and see where it takes us! And yes my daughter Shawna has been so awsome in helping me with him... she's crazy about him!!
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,PMPS 69

It helps so much to have a buddy during crazy times like these. It helps you not lose momentum.

It seems that there is not a way to avoid some period of around the clock monitoring when going quickly down the dosing ladder.
IMHO it's worth the sacrifice, if it increases the chances of getting to the Falls and staying there a while.
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,PMPS 69

What Sandy says is true. Mr T took his time, so I didn't have the same experience personally, but I've been around for a few of these kitties that are in a hurry. It's crazy and overwhelming, there's a lot of lost sleep, but it's worth it in the end! It's great that your daughter can help you out!
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,PMPS69 +1/59

Milo is 59 @+1.....Stay tuned lol
 
Re: 11/14 Milo +11/41 AMPS 79 +10/84,PMPS69 +1/59

The 02/2009 crazy time ended when gingivitis once again came onto the scene. I didn't realize it until 05/2009. After all, BK had a big dental in December.
Wish I have figured it out earlier - We had by then climbed back up, from 3u to 5.25u. . .

But, FIV+ kitties are prone to mouth problems. Once I realized it, back to the dentist we went 05/28/2009.

A month later we were doing the whole crazy slide over again! The last week of June being particularly crazy, BCSs all over the place, one of them ended up being the new dose.
Slowly things became less frantic and by October he was OTJ..
 
Re: 11/14 Milo,PMPS 69 +1/59, +2/71

The 11+/41 was not correct he was at 74 then....don't ask me how the heck I got that there lol....Wow black kitty has been thru it....he is soo sweet looking and Laurie Mr Tinkles is soo handsome!!! Milo is looking good so far with his +2/71 :razz:
 
Re: 11/14 Milo,PMPS 69 +1/59, +2/71

Ok, thanks. I didn't see it on the SS, so I was wondering. Milo is looking good so far! Mr T thanks you for the compliment! :smile: I love Milo's pic...he looks like he's waiting for tummy rubs!
 
Re: 11/14 Milo,PMPS 69 +1/59, +2/71

Oh yes, he is the only cat I have ever had that has loved his tummy rubbed.. He is a mamma's Boy for sure... he has a sister.. she is a calico (very moody, loves my husband though, actually loves all men) but tend to be a bit shall we say snippy with me and my daughter lol,,,but she is a very beautiful long haired calico..
I also love the way Milo's numbers are looking tonight! This always helps me next time im too chicken to shoot! You have been awsome helping me so much with him.. I appreciate it soo much!! And Sandy's help from her own experience has been so helpful as well...I just feel blessed to have found this forum!
 
Re: 11/14 Milo,PMPS 69 +1/59, +2/71

Tinkles is DH's cat...he is up on his lap as soon as he sits down. Calicos are so pretty too! I had 2 torties, one just crossed the bridge a few weeks ago....what an attitude she had, but I loved her anyway! My other tortie is named Pita, because she is one...a pain in the butt...into everything, doesn't know the meaning of "get down off the counter!" :lol: None of them are mine, really...Pita is my DD's cat.

You're doing great, really! I know how scary it can be when this happens, I want to make sure you have help. :smile: There are others who can help just as well as I can, I just don't want Milo to get overlooked and you to have a situation because of it. This is a busy place! I haven't been able to be around much for a few months, I'm just starting to get caught up on everybody....I'm trying to be here more now, when I can.
 
Re: 11/14 Milo,PMPS 69 +1/59, +2/71

I am heading to bed. If Milo goes low overnight, please put something in your header and use the 911 icon to get attention if you need help. If no one is around in LL, post on Health, ok?

Here's a link to the sticky on how to handle low numbers.....http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147....the part on low numbers is at the bottom of the page.

See you tomorrow!

ETA: I just saw the 103, that looks like permission to get some sleep for you!
 
Aw sorry to hear about your tortie...Milo's looking good tonight so i am headed to bed as well..but will get a +11...nite!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top