11/14 Klinger AMPS 367 3.0u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning,
AMPS 367 3.0 u's

So, I tried the FF Shredded Chicken and the FF Roasted Turkey night of 11/12 and yesterday morning. Big mistake! He was in the 500's by +8.
He loved both of the choices and cleaned his plate by +4.5, he usually doesn't do that with the Classic, but that could be because the shredded and roasted are both lower in calories and fat so he was probably hungrier??
Anyway, I won't be giving him those slightly higher carb foods even tho they are lower in fat for his p'itis. It's not worth it. Once +7 hit he was miserable.

Have a great day!
 
Well now you know how carb sensative he is. Have you looked at the Sophisticat flavors, some of those are really low carb.

I'm still going to try to put together some kind of home made to add to Harley's Wellness to lower the fat content. I'll let you know if I come up with anything, if you find something, let me know.
 
I picked up some boneless chicken breasts and will cook that "gently" in water today. I think he'll like it.
I'll pick up some of the SophistiCat food tomorrow. I have to go back to that post. So, being that Klinger is so carb sensitive...if I put him on the SophistiCat, which if memory serves me, some of the choices were 1 or 2%, should I cut him back to 1u?

+3 417
 
I just went through Janet & Binky's chart(s) again and wrote down all food that is 2% carbs or below. The FF Classic's that he's currently eating are 3-4% carbs.

Tomorrow's a new day of shopping.

Robin, I'll let you know if I come up with lower fat options.
 
I don't think you need to reduce your dose. He's high enough that if the lower carbs bring down his bg's he'll be in a much nicer range, where you want to be.

I would test to see how the new food effects him though.

BTW I don't trust the carb content of the new FF Classics, I think they are much higher carb now than they used to be. They have spiked way to many of our kitties bg's including Harleys.
 
Robin - it's interesting you mention that. My own suspicions from other kitties in here is one of the reason I went to Nestle and requested the current as-fed or DM breakdown of the requested flavors here in PZI.

I think the way it ended up was that there was supposedly no change from J&B's...

Here's that topic again:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7743

Thought I would also mention my "food improver" technique also reduced the carbs along with the fat... :-D Just hoping to bring you guys over to the dark side. :mrgreen:

I certainty did not want to make my own cat food and do all the requisite research to ensure I was doing it right. But H had what I assume was a pancreatitis flare and he was very much in pain. That did it for me, I couldn't see him in that much pain again. I was willing to do whatever I could no matter how kooky.
 
Gator - You are a very complicated man who requires alot of reading :-D

Thank you for doing all of that work on the FF, I'll have more time to study it on Monday

Home cooking - I would love to come over to the dark side, your recipe sounds great but I'm not sold on having to buy their suppliments. Is there a way to modify your recipe to add my own suppliments? I havn't had time to look into it yet but somewhere around here I have the list of suppliments and the amounts to add to make home cooked meet nutritional needs.
 
Sure you can buy the same thing that is in the bag KWYF sends you. You will need a very sensitive scale to do it.

The ingredients from their web site are:
Egg yolk powder, calcium carbonate, taurine, iodized salt, vitamin E, iron amino acid chelate, copper amino acid chelate, manganese amino acid chelate, zinc oxide, vitamin D3, folic acid, vitamin B12, vitamin B1.
http://knowwhatyoufeed.com/alnutrin_with_calcium.html

Nothing crazy in there. And IMHO totally worth the price - to have it packaged and shipped to my door and not me messing around weighing every ingredient out etc etc. Basically the ingredients replace what would normally be found in the bone of the animal and the taurine lost from cooking. Plus the use of their calculator is pretty nifty too. I even have left over that I could probably send you when I get back to LA... A bag of it lasted me at least 3 months - probably up to 6 months, I just kept it in my fridge.

I get no reward for my enthusiasm for their product. It just worked out really well for me and I felt very lucky to find their product and service. I was searching and searching for a way to know fairly precisely what I was feeding H. The raw with bones diets that are frequently recommended here really do not allow one to know what they are feeding since the SR21 database [the old SR 21 database link does not seem to be working but this one will do the same thing] does not include the bones in their nutritional listings. Plus the bones diets are typically too high in phosphorus IMHO. The calculator allowed me to play with various ingredients [KWYF will add more on special request] and ensure I was meeting the AAFCO cat food guidelines. All the other "methods" or recipes of creating cat food were not as transparent as with KWYF - with others is was more like "well this *should* work" without any quantitative measure. In a nutshell, that was my basic thinking.
 
PMPS 487 3.0 u

He likes the gently boiled chicken breast pureed with a little water. :smile: Gave him about a tablespoon to see if he would eat it. After a few sniffs and head turning he became interested and ate the chicken then looked at me for more. I gave him a smaller amount, which he quickly gobbled up. I'll have to see if he still likes it tomorrow. I may have to order the supplements. I think I have two different food scales. I'll have to hunt them up.
 
It requires 2 different digital scales. One that is more of a cooking scale that can measure larger quantities in grams. The other a smaller scale that is more sensitive that can measure in the 0.1g. Of course use any you have on hand that will work - otherwise I'll be happy to give scale suggestions.

Good to hear the chicken seems attractive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top