11/14 Kim's Shadow amps~101, +7~92, pmps~97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim 'n Shadow

Member Since 2010
Morning Lantus Land

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29703

Shadow has had breffis with a bit of seconds. 2 P's so far today, peeing and purring. Bright and sunny here this morning and the kitties are sun-bathing in the living room.

I've been trying a completely different feeding schedule this weekend. I think it will be easy for the cat sitter but the big girl will absolutely have to use the automat so I'm going to coop her up in the master bathroom today and see how she does. wish us luck.

have a good Sunday.
 
Re: 11/14 Kim's Shadow amps 101

Here' s to a successful autofeeder training session today for Shadow. I've been a bit lax w/my training.....

And that 101 is so close to a green its not funny.....

Have a great Sunday....
 
Re: 11/14 Kim's Shadow amps 101

Wishing you luck then! Nice AMPS for Shadow girl...hope you both enjoy your day! (but being cooped up in the master bathroom doesn't sound too exciting to me...) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/14 Kim's Shadow amps 101

Good luck with auto feeder training! Mannie has been sent to remedial feeder school. :-D I hope Shadow figures it all out.

and very nice amps! sure looks green to me...
 
Re: 11/14 Kim's Shadow amps 101

Great amps, Kim. Glad you are having a sunny day!! Good luck with the autofeeder!!! Shadow is so smart I'm sure she'll take right to it!!
 
Re: 11/14 Kim's Shadow amps 101

Wonderful AMPS, Kim :-D Good luck with the feeder training.
Does yours make a noise when it opens?
Mine doesn't and I can't get Checks to go to it. I tried putting a timer next to it, to let him know it opened, but he didn't touch it. Hope Shadow learns. :smile:
 
Re: 11/14 Kim's Shadow amps 101

It's a real big bathroom with a large southern window. It is usually the warmest room of the house and Shadow likes napping on the bathmat. I have a kitty-sized dogbed back there if she gets a chill. Otherwise, she has several favorite napping spots around the house and if she isn't close to the automat, she doesn't hear it. Or possibly she is just being a K-A-T. you know how they are. it has to be her idea or she isn't going for it.

I have been in and out of here today as my chores/football games have allowed and I have read the food talk with interest. Shadow must be a mule in a stable of thoroughbreds. As long as her food is LC, she does just fine. Food brings Shadow's numbers down and with her dose, she isn't anywhere close to going OTJ. I feed her after her nadir and she still keeps level numbers. And we are maybe the only people that the +9 snack works for - in fact, the +10 snack works even better. And because food brings her numbers down, I don't really worry about a food spike at pre-test.So if I sleep thru +9 snack time, I just catch her at +10. I do try to respect the NPO 2 hours before testing rule, but we don't always make it 3 hours before.

A Guide to the Lazy Man's Feline Diabetes Management - seems to be our protocol. :lol: :lol:

And here's another thing - she's very elderly, I can't see what advantage being OTJ would get her in terms of quaility of life that she doesn't have right now with regulation. Maybe if she was younger, I don't know. Does it make me a bad bean if I'm not more ambitious for her?
 
Re: 11/14 Kim's Shadow amps~101, +7~92

Kim--The Actual Goal here is to bring your feline diabetic cat back to good health and to attain some regulation on insulin!
Moonie is a long term diabetic and has a good quality of life now..Most of us come here thinking our cat is going to go into remission, and the push is to attain that goal.
But for some of us, as hard as we may try, we cannot reach that goal.
So, for me personally, having a happy healthy, somewhat regulated cat, is my goal here..Moonie isnt young either, and I like to treat her nice & gently, she means so much to me...So I do understand your feelings..I think you are doing great!-- Shadow has great beautiful numbers!!
BTW I give my cats real chicken or freeze dried chicken for snax,,no carbs :razz:
 
working our snacks and getting ready for bed. wish I could report more progress on the feeder but we'll keep working on it.



ni ni lantus land
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top