11/14 Harley PMPS 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
I think this is just a bounce but I am beginning to think I don't know what I am doing with Harley. It seems to be getting harder to give him a shot like the vet wants me to. I have stated before that she has said only in the flank and you should get resistance putting the needle in-she called it a pop. Well, I don't get resistance and I know it is going in - no wet fur. If I am doing it wrong, maybe that is why the numbers are so high. Can you tell I really liked the low numbers.

Harley will not lay down for the shot - he is too hungry and keeps jumping up to eat. Don't know what to do.

Snow should be gone over next couple days - going to be close to 40 until Wednesday.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29668
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

I shoot in the flank, and rarely feel any resistance, and never a pop. The needle just goes right in, and I shoot. I do use the 1/2 inch needles. J.D. is always standing when I shoot, and often squirming or walking because he is also anxious for his food.
I know how those low numbers are so attractive. Once, J.D. starts rising, I think "No. No, go back!" :lol:

Hope you have a warm and cuddily day with your furbaby.
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

Sienne sent me a great picture of injection sites. It basically shows flank, side of belly, chest area - everywhere but flank. I hate to keep doubting myself cuz I know Harley is getting the best care. I just want those low numbers back. Should I look at going up to 10 again?

Pattie
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

Sounds a little cold where you are Pattie...yipes...keep warm!!!

I wish I knew the how and why of the pop you are supposed to be hearing. Somehow, it just doesn't make sense to me.
Dyana has never heard a pop...maybe others know what your vet means?

Can you shoot him after he eats? A moving target seems tricky to me...how long do you leave between the prehot , the food and the shot?
This is the 7th cycle on this reduced dose, right? Hope someone will be along soon (but it seems that you are right in thinking about going back up to the last dose...) Nice that there were no reds after the recent lows though, right? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

With Harley it is 1 - 2 - 3 - done. He gets the test, I make the food, he eats and when he is eating, he gets the shot. Love the suggestion of shooting after he eats. He is so frantic to get food that it is hard to shoot. He is like a wind up toy - bouncing all over. He settles down after the meal. That might be the best time to shoot....how long can I wait. He is usually sleeping 15-20 minutes after eating.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

I test, feed and shoot....usually within 15 minutes of testing. The food is usually just about finished by that time and even if they go back to eat more, they are relaxed enough to lie down for the shot after that 15 minute interval.
I like to have them on the testing towel when I shoot...and it seems they understand that they have to focus on relaxing and getting the shot. I like to really be sure of where I am shooting and if they were moving around, I would have no chance at all of getting it in the right spot. I don't know how you do it! :lol:
I can usually get an ear prick when they are doing something else, but not a shot. I have them both on the towel twice a day for the shot...Shadow even jumps up there when he sees me coming with the syringe. (Raja not so much! LOL) but he knows that twice each day he goes back for his shot.....
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

That's a good idea about shooting after eating. I think lots of people shoot while the cat is eating and the cats barely notice, their so intent on filling their bellies :-D
You might have to go back to the 10.00 for awhile, let's see how the day plays out.
resource.aspx
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

i agree with dyana. see how the day plays out before increasing the dose. technically, his numbers are "due" to break today.
let's see if harley's read the manual. :-D
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

That's the same picture I sent to Pattie!!

I don't think there's the least problem with giving Harley a shot after he eats. With most other types of insulin, food has to be on board for an hour. If you shoot within 15 min. or so of his meal, there's no problem whatsoever. The test-feed-shoot that most of us do is not meant to be totally inflexible. The only thing to be attentive to is how the food spike may play out in relation to Harley's curve. You would probably want to do a curve and get early tests (e.g., +1, 2 and 3) to see how shooting after he eats effects the curve -- if it has any effect at all.

I wonder if your vet was trying to describe the feel for how the skin reacts to the needle puncture?
 
Re: 11/14 Harley AMPS 385

I think Sienne may be right. The vet may be trying to describe the resistance (which I feel at time) with the needle entering. "pop" may be the only word she can find to describe it. If it is resistance, I do not get that all the time with Harley. Tomorrow, when I change the way I feed and shoot, I will be able to get a couple to tests in before I have to leave.

That I the picture that Sienne had sent me. It has helped a lot.

Pattie
 
I tried the main snack before +8 - not much difference in bg but it is only the first day. I did change sites for the injection and put it in side of chest. Went in so much easier than flank. There is not much skin in Harley's flank and maybe that is the problem. We'll see what happens. I may have goofed but I gave a little more than the 9.75 but not quite to the full 10.

Dyana, how did you get the injection site picture in there - I tried to copy and paste but got nothing.

The guys went out today but hated the snow..never got off the sidewalks.

Have a good evening.

pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top