11/14 Gabby PMPS~361, +2~250, +4~163, +5~123

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Yesterday's Condo

Hungry kitties this morning. I've eliminated the +8 snack. Jill happened to mention that feeding in the latter part of the cycle can throw the brakes on what little action may be left in the cycle. I figure it makes sense to see if this is the case for Gabby since I will be traveling this coming week and I'd rather have food loaded in the front half of Gabby's cycle. (Gabby doesn't let anyone except me test. My cat sitter, who's a very experienced feline vet tech, tried to test her once. The warning growl and hiss convinced her this wasn't a good idea. Frankly, I'm happy that she can manage to give Gabby her insulin. Gabby's a bit of a momma's girl and a tortie who's a momma's girl.)

The hallway is being closely observed. Gizmo has Gabby's back -- he's in the cat tree watching out the window. Nothing is getting into "their" room!
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129

A nice number this AM. Read the post and the not feeding later the cycle makes sense. Harley gets a snack at +9. I may try and feed him more at +6 or +7 to see if evening number is better. Thanks for posting this. Gabby - keep up that good number and stay warm. The boys and I got 6" snow yesterday.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129

Sienne, when you have low blue, like last night's 124@+6, do you feed a HC, so you can go to sleep? I struggle with this every night.
Your SS is a beautiful sight to me.
I'm gonna miss you next week, if you don't post while you're gone.
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129

Sienne, can you tell me where the post is that Jill mentioned the latter snack and not having it? I would love to read the whole thing.

Will miss you next week if you are not posting.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129

Oh...Miss Sienne...PLEASE tell de B that you are traveling to idaho with two titanium cat carriers!! i be deeply grateful and furever in your debt!! i go now an get da gurls packed...
you will loves them. they are pretty, refined in behavior...and oh so very nice to other kitties. um..an' they give foot massage to beans, or take out garbage an wash dishes.

binks


i'd like to remind my wayward manx that lying is frowned upon...
celi
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129

Morning Sienne - does your petsitter shoot your same dose when you are gone or do you lower it? I'm leaning towards a BSC dose for my petsitter since I don't know how well the testing will go. going away for fun or work?

we will all miss you around here, but we hope you have a nice trip.
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98

Woohoo, Gabby! Very nice cycle so far...blues and now green. Looking very good!

I have a really hard time of late ready thoroughly through some very long condos...and your's may have been one of them in regards to not feeding that snack. I hope that this will work for Gabby. Maybe I'll try that w/Spot's 3 am snack. I'd like to see some more green numbers in the am.

I hope your upcoming trip is a pleasure trip...we all need those at one point in time!!
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98

Let me know if I've not answered all the questions...

Here's the link to Jill's post in Marjorie/Gracie's condo about not feeding later in the cycle. It's a big condo so happy reading!

Barb - I don't feed HC unless it's indicated. Last night, I waited to see if Gabby's numbers were stabilizing. If I've got a couple of tests where the numbers are flat or heading up, especially if it's mid-cycle, I'm pretty confident about going to sleep. Sometimes I get fooled (e.g., on 11/8 when I got surprised with a low AMPS) but not usually. Some of this depends on your cat. If you have a cat with a late nadir, it might make good sense to feed HC. This is another one of those ECID situations and you have to know your cat. I will say it took me a long time to get comfortable going to sleep when Gabby was in lower numbers. Joyce/Tuscany and I would keep each other company late into the night.

Kim - I will drop Gabby's dose to a safe level since my DPS won't be able to test Gabby. Keep in mind, Gabby can have her numbers drop/plummet early in the cycle. Since there won't be anyone here to keep an eye on her early in the cycle (let alone test!), I'll drop the dose. If you take a look at Gabby's SS, you'll see blocks in gray where I've been out of town. You can look at how the dose was reduced. I'll also post on Tuesday night and ask for input about dose.

Celi - I'm heading further west than Idaho. I'll be in San Francisco so sorry, please let Binks know that I won't be able to come by and pick up the girls. You also point out that Gabby is a tortie and I'm not sure how happy she'll be with visitors. Gizmo, no doubt, would be delighted.

I am traveling with laptop and smart phone. I won't be able to check in with as much regularity as I normally do but I will try to log in and keep up with all of the LL goings on. I'll be a a conference for my primary professional organization and I'm on their Board of Directors. It's going to be a lot of committee meetings vs. going to sessions where I could actually learn something. I leave on Wed. and I'll be back on Sun.
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98

My pet sitter Just shoots Moonie too, so I use duct tape on the syringe where I want her to fill it to..We havent had any problems yet! She never tested or tried, but I'm not away that much.. Gabby will be just fine I'm sure!
Sienne. I was wondering if maybe the late +8 or 9 snacks could be freeze dried chicken or a bit of real chicken--Would that have any bearing on raising the ps number?
Maybe those who have been giving the +9 could do that instead???

Have a good trip!
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98

Roni -- Gabby doesn't like the freeze dried stuff. I was giving her about a teaspoon of LC Wellness. There's probably not a huge difference in carbs at this level and Gabby isn't particularly carb sensitive. Personally, I'm not a big fan of leaving chicken out for hours. I was setting up a timed feeder for her snacks since I really didn't want to get up at 2 AM and I'm not home at 2 PM except on the weekends.
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98, +3~64, +4~69, +6~49

Sienne..very nice AMPS for Gabby this morning and looks like she is working hard to earn a reduction; I know you will really make her earn it. Thanks for sending folks over to Gracie's condo for the great info Jill left there. I hope eliminating the +9 works for Gabby.

Sorry I haven't gotten to your condo lately...I do check it but I've really been trying to focus on a plan for Gracie. And yesterday I was testing alot and trying to get a few things done in between.

Have a wonderful week...enjoy your trip...glad you have someone who will take some of the worry out of being gone.
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98, +3~64, +4~69, +6~49

Wow - sure sounds like the trend is to eliminate the +9. It's one I have done from the get-go. I hope people will post what they discover once they put this into effect. Wondering if I should try this with Mannie... ??

Very nice numebrs for Gabby today - look at that +6. nice!, but low enough there Gabby!
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98, +3~64, +4~69, +6~49

Michelle and Mannie said:
Wow - sure sounds like the trend is to eliminate the +9. It's one I have done from the get-go. I hope people will post what they discover once they put this into effect. Wondering if I should try this with Mannie... ??
lol! this feeding by everyone at +8 or +9 has been relatively new in the group. i suspect the trend to feed at +8 or +9 came from suggestions made in condos of those close to going OTJ as a way to help pull preshot numbers down... and the intention was misinterpreted by others. one thing leads to another. pretty soon everybody's doing it! :-D


nice numbers, gabby!
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +1~129, +2~98, +3~64, +4~69, +6~49

That was a nice decent into greens. Hope she put the brakes on after the +6 and surfed some 60s it awhile.
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +2~98, +3~64, +6~49, PMPS~361

Gabby had a beautiful green surf until sometime after +8. And then her liver freaked. Sigh.....

Does anyone know when the next remedial Liver Training School class is going to take place?
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +2~98, +3~64, +6~49, PMPS~361

Sienne and Gabby said:
Does anyone know when the next remedial Liver Training School class is going to take place?

I think you're asking for trouble. Now Gabby's gonna come back down, just to show you she can.
 
Re: 11/14 Gabby AMPS~151, +2~98, +3~64, +6~49, PMPS~361

Sienne, when Checkers does that, I console myself with the fact that his liver is working well. :-D
Thank you for answering my question, earlier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top