11/14 Doodle AMPS 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
I posted this in my last condo but in case that gets lost since it was a few days ago, I will post here too. "As you can imagine it's been a very hectic week with one of my other cats in the ER for 3 days. I increased to 1.25u but looks like I'm heading for another increase. I think I have 2 more cycles before I can go to 1.5u?"

My other cat is okay. Still not 100% and this is her third episode. Interestingly each time her BG is almost 300 (this time it was 286) and the vet (3 different vets) doesn't consider her to be diabetic, they all said it's "normal stress". Which I find questionable since my diabetics are usually LESS than that when they are at the vet. Once she calms down I might start testing her myself to see.

Hoping this upcoming week to get on track with Doodle. This past month has just been one thing after another.
 
When you miss a shot, your Cycle Count starts over.

Sounds like it's been a crazy time for you. I went back and looked at the previous post where you asked about dropping back to 1u. At that point, the suggestion was to try that reduction only for 4 cycles and if you didn't see an improvement, to begin increasing per the protocol until his BGs improved. The number of cycles you hold does make a difference. Staying too long at a dose that doesn't get him into green numbers just allows glucose toxicity to take hold, then you have to go up in dose even more to overcome it.

I hope things settle down for you soon. I'd be checking your other kitty's blood sugar at home too - 3 vet visits all with BGs around 300? That seems too many times and too high to ignore. Some cats don't experience any vet stress, depends on the cat. Punkin's BGs never went up at the vet's, even though he was what I would call a highly anxious cat. I would not assume a 300 was just vet stress without some tests for comparison. If he is diabetic, the sooner he gets treated the better his chances for remission.

Sending "calm life, healthy cats" psychic vibes to your house. :-D I hate it when life is crazy like that - fortunately those times pass! :YMHUG:
 
sorry. i posted advice in your other thread earlier... before i saw this one:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128228&p=1323345#p1323345

Re: 11/10 Doodle totally off track
Postby Jill & Alex (GA) » Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:21 am


when a shot is missed, the cycle count starts over. it looks like there's been 3 consecutive cycles of 1.25 unit. normally, you'd want to give the same dose for 6 consecutive cycles unless nadirs are over 300. don't forget about getting nadir checks before thinking about increasing the dose again. otherwise you could risk taking him over dose if you don't know how low the current dose is taking him.
 
Just when I think I 'know it all" there is something else to remember/learn. Just keeps me in check to always ask questions because I don't "know it all". So a new thing I learned is that the cycle starts over when a shot is missed. I will do my very best to try to get some extra tests over the weekend too.

Thanks again for all your advice and well wishes!
 
Hey Jenn

I agree with Julie that I would start checking your other kitty at home and see what kind of numbers you are getting. Numbers in the 300s are kind of high for vet stress for a nondiabetic cat.

I hope the dose increase starts to work for Doodle soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top