11/14 Binks PMPS 184 +2 166 +3 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
good morning everyone.
missed almost all the goings-on in LL yesterday.

things are not quite normal in cuddville this morning, although i'm havent figured out quite what's up with the boy yet. I hope the little green grin doesnt turn out to be a sickly pre-pukus omen. binks woke me before the alarm, hit he litterbox for a long pee session, then parked by a waterdish and NOT the test rug or food dish (not normal). lots of tummy rumblings, test, fed, shot...then as i was feeding the others...ran away from breffis to the couch.

swapped foods...he ate some but not all and is now at the waterdish again. odd, because as pat has mentioned, with the soupy meals, he doesnt drink much H2O anymore.

hope i'm just overthinking it this am...I DO tend to be a bit obsessive bout him at times.

hope everyone is having a good morning this sunday...and guessing that the get together for roni and rusty's new family will be a blast!

celi & binks

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29682#unread
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95

Nice amps this morning! I've found Blackie to be at the water dish on occasion, too, although I don't soup her meal up. It may be a passing thing with Binks. Just keep an eye on him regardless.

Don't worry... I, too, tend to be overobsessive about Blackie, and now Jr. Mint. It's the "mamabean" in all of us. *HUGS*
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95

maybe the pressure is getting to him, he's tired of being so perfect. :lol:

have a good Sunday Celi
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86

Angela...you were spot-on. it WAS a passing thing...he apparently was just waiting to drop prodigious prezzies in the LB...now is Indy 500'ing round the house... all p's in place!

this boy likes having company...but got a bit of a surprise this test...he was hangin out on my BF's lap...shot me a look that said "i dare you to stab me"... seemingly forgetting she is an intern. Doc cuddled him all the way to the rug, and did the honors herself! poor B...EVERYBODY's out to get him! first the cuz...now the doc...bummer, dude!

i put the brakes on with mc/hc tho...little too early in the cycle for dropping, i feel.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86

Great numbers for Binks so far! Looking good there, Celi! I'm very glad that Binks just had a moment and is now back to being himself. Sometimes we all tend to be a bit obsessive w/our guys, but we know them so well that we notice little things that are off. It's a good thing because we can catch whatever it is before it gets to late. I notice every little thing about Spot. He wasn't himself a few weeks ago...started by not wanting to finish his food, so I knew something was up. But by the time I got back home from work, he was fine. Binks may be a very smart kitty....he knew he was constipated and knew that water was just what he needed to help himself along!!

Oh, Binks...your mama sounds so happy now that you um...you know...um....left that prezzie for her. Boy, dem beans get all cited about stuff like dat...day is crazy, huh! Are we all going to hang out today? I still gotz kids here at my house, so I'm just waiting to blow this joint....Cya later??........Spot
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86

Celi,

I have a question (I'm not questioning you, just wondering). If you keep Binks from dropping too low using MC or HC food, then how do you know when to do a dose decrease? Just still trying to learn and figure all of this out!

By the way, nice green numbers!

Jenny
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70

guess i'd better call Midas and get those brakes checked...
fed more hC.

Jenny...on the MC and HC...binks has been unreliable at holding his dose reductions, so i'm trying to follow the mannie/tess school of thought on making him work hard to earn a reduction. i'm new to it...so haven't got it refined yet as regards how binks responds...but i'm guessing today might wind up being a day when HE wins the battle.

just a note on this...i DID see a post in the last day or so where ann was musing about a couple of refinements to the process :shock:
but i'll have to go back and find that. maybe gracie's condo?

so far it's brought about beautiful numbers at this dose...and this isn't the first time he's been at 1.0u and had to increase...so...paws crossed!

(or...maybe i just want folks to believe i'm cool like michelle and ann) :lol:
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70

Celi, I was wondering the same thing as Jenny. Glad she asked. Seems I'll never get the hang of feeing to manipulate numbers.
I'm so happy to see Binks doing so well. :-D
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70

Got it! I was sure there was a reason, and I just thought I'd ask!!! Good luck to Binks!
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70

Maybe I can offer some insight with regard to Jenny's question.

If you are using food to manipulate the curve like I've been doing with Gabby, there comes a point where either your cat earns a dose reduction no matter how much you test or how hard you're working. That's one way. The other way that your cat gets a reduction is if you are working way too hard to keep numbers up. Take a look at Mannie's condo from yesterday. It was recommended that Michelle reduce Mannie's dose given how hard she had to work to keep Mannie's numbers from tanking.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70

Another fantastic day in Binks-ville. Nice too that he is back to his normal self. Drives me nuts when they are not.

It was Gracie's condo from 11/10 that had all that food info. here's the link: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29480 and yes it was Ann that mentioned she was considering fine tuning Tess's schedule - not too sure how.

Binks - it's Sunday - I think we need a day for all us kitties to get-together. You guys up for a little snowboarding? or??? I am ready for anything, as is the roadster. See you!~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70

The Binksmeister is at it again. Poor guy, you're coming at him from all sides. :lol:

Thanks for the compliment, but I have been anything but cool about this lately. Just when you think you know what you're doing it all goes out the window. :YMSIGH: I'm still trying to get my head around all the food discussions in Gracie's condo lately.

Tess has been getting sharp early drops and then bouncing wildly this last week, so after reading all that Jill had to say to Marjorie about Gracie I'm wondering if I need to make some changes for Tess. I'm going to start with feeding her a little more for the first mini meal, and not concentrate on such ultra low carb foods. Mixing her raw w/ other things lets me feed it more consistently too. On days when she would be really low I was worried about feeding her something only 1%.

the dance continues, what works today probably won't work tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47

Welcome to the Sugar Bowl this fine sunday morning, folks!

it's already an exciting contest... #11, Binks, the no-tail end for the boise state broncos, grabs the lantus kick at the 95 yd line...crosses the 86, and flies past the 70! # 5150, Cudd...moves in to block. will she stop this dash??

NO!!! he sails past the 47 and into the reduction zone!!!

cudd tosses her HC helmet on the ground in an unsportsmanlike tantrum...and signals for the karo team to stand ready!
binks tosses a toothy grin to the crowd as he refreshes himself with some HC gravy.

we'll be back with the action in 15.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47

Celi...you've got me rolling on the floor again....Come on Binks....Pull up, Pull up.

resize.php
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 3.25 52 3.5 63

fed hc gravy with 4 pieces of the forbidden kibble soaked in water.

and if you think the football players look good...you should see his little manx butt in uniform!
(again, one of the few places i could post that comment with no fear of ridicule or federal investigation) :lol:

(i will take a bow for the #5150 joke, though)
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 3.25 52 3.5 63

I had a feeling it might be this kind of day for him. Surf those 60's Binksy!
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 3.25 52 3.5 63 +4

gave him a small drop of karo in the HC gravy...hope it isn't unnecessary roughness.

update: score binks -.25 u, celi 0
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 3.25 52 3.5 63 +4

Ok...I was going to tend to civvies first but I saw Binks' numbers and decided I had to check it out. If they find my lifeless body with bite marks on it, you'll know the civvies lost their patience (ok...they have had breffis 1 and 2).

Congrats on the reduction...you two just do not cease to amaze me. Great condo this morning.

It appears all my uber questioning has thrown LL upside down :lol: :lol: Ok..that's a little dramatic I guess but I consulted Jill on Sienne's astute recommendation and the things she told me made sense. The feedings weren't working for Gracie and the ultra low carbs were resulting in huge, fast drops. It is my understanding that some cats respond faster to managing the curve than others and so it might not take Gracie that long for me to see changes. While there are other things going on, I do have to note that I am seeing some differences already that I didn't see on previous dose changes. So...please feel free to visit our condo that Michelle left the link for ...lots of amazing info from Jill.

Binks...do you needs this? I gots it in my mamabeans closet
 

Attachments

  • rising up.jpg
    rising up.jpg
    40 KB · Views: 1,449
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 3.25 52 3.5 63 +4

Football Sunday in this condo today, eh? How fitting! Doing a great job Celi...and Binks! WOW! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 +4 54 +5 80

ok...no feedies on this one.

i read marjorie's condo...and what great info. and like others...think i'm going to cut out the +9 mini-meal (sorry, binks) and see what transpires.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 +4 54 +5 80

Whatever you're doing, girl, KEEP IT UP!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 +4 54 +5 80 +6 123

Great recovery from +4 up. Nice surfing!!

Celi...I've been reading condos and I love how you reach out to those who need your optimism and caring the most. You rock.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 +4 54 +5 80 +6 123

:lol: :lol: marjorie...

this is a more binks-like take on balloons
 

Attachments

  • stunt.jpg
    stunt.jpg
    32.2 KB · Views: 1,567
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70

Sienne and Gabby said:
Maybe I can offer some insight with regard to Jenny's question.

If you are using food to manipulate the curve like I've been doing with Gabby, there comes a point where either your cat earns a dose reduction no matter how much you test or how hard you're working. That's one way. The other way that your cat gets a reduction is if you are working way too hard to keep numbers up. Take a look at Mannie's condo from yesterday. It was recommended that Michelle reduce Mannie's dose given how hard she had to work to keep Mannie's numbers from tanking.
and yet another way your cat may earn a reduction (if the above isn't happening) is when you feel your cat has stabilized on a dose and it's time to attempt a reduction. there's no time table for this. it could come after a week or two... or even a month of holding a particular dose.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks amps 95 +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 +4 54 +5 80 +6 123

I've been trying to think of something to write in this condo, but I'm not sure there is anything left to say. We've talked about puke, poo, food, less food, more food, reductions, increases, football, balloons.... so I guess I'll just say Hi. :lol:
 
Re: 11/14 Binks +1 86 +2 70 +3 47 +4 54 +5 80 +6 123 +9 168

poor guy...all the foods i tried to bump him gave him liquipoo...

jill- thanks for the clarification...and libby- Hi!
 
Re: 11/14 Binks PMPS 184 +2 166

he just wants to sleep...and so do i...but think a few more checks will be in order...
 
Re: 11/14 Binks PMPS 184 +2 166

Some great info today on your condo, Celi, and love the photo you put in with the kitten and balloon :lol: :lol:

These are not Binks like numbers of late so he must not feel well....here's hoping he'll be his old/new self tomorrow and you both get some rest.
 
Re: 11/14 Binks PMPS 184 +2 166

I hope Binks feels better, but this may be your only chance to sleep. The boy is dead set on keeping you on your toes. This is just a blip, he is doing so great!

Dorothy! You need some catmint tea or some soup? KTSS is on call if you need us. -- Tess
 
Binks's bean!! Step away from the meter maam!! Step away from the meter!! Binksy I'm just trying to help ohmygod_smile :lol: ohmygod_smile :lol: --Watch out she's coming again!!! confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat from Moonie!

Great numbers good strategy! Ya played a good game, and now it's about that time I-) I-) I-)
Ya think Binks is gonna do it again?? We'll see @-) @-) @-) have a good ni ni! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top