11/13 Toby's PMS +4.5=64+5=75 +6=72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby bg started going up last night at +4 so took the chance to get a little sleep. He's fine this morning. Gone outdoors in his
pen. Won't stay out too long as it is rather cool this morning. Sending healing vines to all that need them. Take care, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's AMS=310 +7=168 PMS=98

:mrgreen: Toby is starting out at 98 tonight . Guess I am going to shoot 12.5 units and see how we make out. This is the lowest that I,ve
shot so far hope everything turns out okay. Makes me a little nervous shooting this low. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's AMS=310 +7=168 PMS=98

Looking good Toby! On Levemir, the preshot can often be the nadir. A couple of days ago Neko gave me a PMPS of 61. :o I'd get a +1 and a +2 to see what Toby has planned. Surf that green Toby. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's AMS=310 +7=168 PMS=98

sending "surf it" vines to toby! :mrgreen:

don't forget you can fly mr greenie on Toby's condo! Gotta grab the opportunity when it comes. :-D
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's AMS=310 +7=168 PMS=98+1=88

Toby's still going down. He ate his supper and still went down. He's still acting like he's really hungry. Should I feed him again or wait til after +2? Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's AMS=310 +7=168 PMS=98+1=88

Maybe a couple tsp of his regular food now. Neko on Levemir has had her nadir as late as +15 so you could still be seeing action from the previous cycle.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48

We just hit 48 guess I start giving hc food ? Think I'll give a couple of tsp. and test in 15 mins.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48

Good catch. :mrgreen: A couple of tsp of the gravy from the HC foods, then test about 20 minutes after he's eaten. It can take 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the mouth to the blood stream - ECID.

Congrats on the reduction. :cool:
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48

wow, peg.

just fyi - we don't know if he has acro, but some acro cats need significantly more HC to pull them up. Some come up with the usual amounts - punkin did and I know others who did. But if he's still headed down at your next test, especially if he gets into the 30's, increase the carb amount by adding karo or honey to the gravy.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48

Tested at +3.5 and he was at 46 got nervous and added karo to tsp. of hc. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48

good call. that wasn't much of a drop - really pretty much flat, but still it's better to be over 50 if he's going to surf.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48+3.5=46

How's Toby acting? Good job with the numbers so far. Don't forget to take deep breaths Peg. This is scary the first few times (well, it was for me) but with food and karo you can manage this. :YMHUG: Might want to put on a pot of coffee.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48+3.5=46

He's still acting alright. Will test again at 10.00 . What will be the reduction .25 or .5 . Think it will be a long night. Peg
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS=98+1=88 +2=73 +3=48+3.5=46

At Toby's dose, try a .5U reduction. Over time you'll learn what works for him, but start with the conservative move.

I'm about to start TFS here but will be back after I'm done. If he's still below 50 at the next test, do the HC/wait 20-30/test routine again. If he's above 50, you have a couple of options. You do want to rising numbers without influence of food before calling it a night. Option 1 if above 50 is to wait without feeding and see how he does and if he rises. The other options is to feed more high carb to try to get Toby a lot higher. He's earned a reduction so no need to keep him down low. There are pros and cons with each option and you are also guessing what Toby will do.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS +2=73 +3=48+3.5=46 +4=51

i'd go with the 0.5u too.

good job handling things tonight.

a dose reduction! new territory for you guys! congratulations! and best of all lots of time in green numbers.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS +2=73 +3=48+3.5=46 +4=51+4.5=64

I haven't fed anything for 30 min. He is now at 64 will wait another 30 min. and see if he is still rising. Peg
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS +2=73 +3=48+3.5=46 +4=51+4.5=64

That's great! The HC/karo can wear off. I'd make sure you keep testing until two hours after the last HC as that's how long it typically lasts.

Now that you are testing more frequently tonight, you'll need to change how you enter things in the SS so you have room for it all. You can list more than one value in a cell. For example, in the +3 cell you can write "48; 46@3.5". The SS should stack things for you, but you'll have to use the paintbrush tool to manually color it green. Some people will change the below 50 cells to be a different color green - I change the text to be red. It can be useful to distinguish those cells from the normal green ones. Another trick is to record how much HC you fed when and whether you had to add karo and how much. This information will help you next time Toby goes low. I record the amounts in the remarks column, some people put it in the row below.
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS +3.5=46 +4=51+4.5=64+5=75

he hasn't eaten for a hour and is at 75 now will check in another hour. If he is still rising will it be okay to feed him and go to bed? Would you just give him his LC food or some more Hc? Peg
 
Re: 11/13 Toby's PMS +3.5=46 +4=51+4.5=64+5=75

yes, i think your plan is ok. i'd just feed lc at this point unless he drops back down again. i'd leave plenty of lc out when you go to bed.
 
He's about the same so gave LC food with 1 tsp of HC mixed in am going to bed but, will get up and check on him off and on
all night. I want to thank Julie and Wendy for helping me through this scary time. Couldn't have done it with out you. Thanks
again. Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top