11/13 Tiki, PMPS 337, +3 332

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/12 Tiki, AMPS 319

Nice string of blues last night, Tonya! This looks like a bounce....he's not used to those blue numbers. It can take up to 72 hours to clear, and you will want to hold the dose until it does.

Are you testing for ketones?
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, AMPS 319

No. Walmart didn't have any (the one box in stock was open and damaged) and I haven't gotten around to checking other stores. What are they exactly?
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, AMPS 319

Until Tiki is tightly regulated, you should test for ketones regularly. There's info about ketones and DKA here. Ketones can be a serious, life threatening (and expensive!) emergency if not caught and treated quickly, so this is definitely in the catagory of "an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure."

You can buy ketostix at any pharmacy, I would get a bottle ASAP and start testing routinely. You will need to stick the strip into kitty's urine stream and wait the exact time the instructions on the bottle say before reading the results. If you have trouble getting a test, ask for help...there are ways to get a sample if you can't catch Tiki peeing. If you get any result other than negative (even trace), post for help immediately.
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, AMPS 319

Oh my - catching him peeing will be interesting to say the very least.

Can you/someone explain a "Bounce" - I sorta get it, but not really!
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, AMPS 319

~O) ~O) ~O)
A bounce happens when when glucose and counter-regulatory hormones are dumped into the body, by the liver, as a reaction to numbers lower than the cat is used to.
The liver perceives the drop as life threatening - it's' a protective reaction. Good to know tikis liver is on the job!
Eventually the liver becomes accustomed to the lower numbers and stops panicking.

A bounce can last up to 72 hours, however ECID.
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, AMPS 319, +2 333,

it took me literally 6 months to be able to spot a bounce. so i wrote this long thing out for melissa/bailey the other day and bookmarked it, probably over-explaining it because i found it hard to "get." it's just a more verbose version of what sandy just explained.

julie & punkin said:
actually bailey had a pmps of 148 day before yesterday on the 1unit - that's a super number, especially for being at the end of the cycle. she may have gotten even lower that evening, and the resulting high numbers you saw yesterday and this morning are from going low enough that she bounced.

you can spot a bounce this way (this only took me 6 months to learn and a bunch of people explaining it! i'm a slow learner!)

yesterday morning you had a 215 - then it went 235, 271, 270, and then 308 this morning - basically straight up. no curve. and then look backwards in the ss and the night before was that sweet little 148 12 hours earlier.

if you imagine that night-time cycle, starting at 148, bailey probably went down in a nice little curve, hitting something under 100 mid-cycle. that lower-than-usual number would've shocked her body. they get accustomed to whatever range they're in, and any sudden dip lower can set this off.

"HELLO WE"VE GOT A 911 HERE- BAILEY"S GOING DOWN!" yells Mr. Liver. Fortunately, mr liver has a storehouse of counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugar (in case bailey needs a little nommy sweets in the middle of the night) and when Bailey gets into a range of numbers lower than usual, Mr. Liver lets loose with the sugar and the hormones and sends Bailey on a rocket to the moon.

that's what you're seeing.

So, what to do now. don't increase. in fact, tonight i would drop back to the 1 unit, because once this bounce clears, which can take up to 3 days of high numbers if mr liver is super-active, then this dose is going to be too high. you are entering the phase of treatment that we say requires "Patience Pants." when you think you're seeing a bounce, you have to wait it out, then you can see what the dose really does.

also, make sure and get a +2 or +3 in the evening, every single evening, so you can see where the cycle is going and bailey doesn't get too low at night without being monitored. she's actually responding really well to the insulin. this bounce will clear and she will get lower. we want her to be safe when that happens.

if you have a question about it, edit your first post of today and put the Q in your subject line so it gets seen. otherwise, just drop back to 1u and be patient. you were seeing really great response on the 1 unit and you will again as soon as this bounce clears. tell the vet whatever you want, but really, most vets don't have a lot of hands-on experience with lantus and they don't necessarily understand the finer points of dosing and tweaking to get to off-the-juice - which i'm pretty sure is what you want to have.

you're doing great melissa! there's a lot to learn on these fine points of lantus. you're just a few days into it. hang in there and it gets easier.
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, AMPS 319, +2 333,

Just to add to the info Sandy and Julie posted...bounces are not only caused by low numbers, they also can also be caused by fast drops. Also, "low" numbers are a relative thing...if your kitty is used to red numbers, a yellow number could set off a bounce.
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, AMPS 319, +2 333, +4 360, +6 367

Starting to wonder if i missed with his shot this am...he fussed like crazy and I had to smush him flat to the floor to get it in. I didn't feel anything wet, but who knows...
 
Re: 11/13 Tiki, PMPS 337

Well I just gave him a successful shot that I know went in so with any luck we will see some better numbers tonight - otherwise he is just riding the bounce wave from yesterday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top