11/13 Sootie: am/184, ambg/150,+1/131, +9.5/187, +11.5/175, pmps/203, +4/117

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...0-10-5-148-pmps-157-4-156.168073/#post-182105

Good morning on this crisp Sunday.

Sooties's am bg (have noted it in SS as pm +11 and as amps pending retest before am shoot) = 184 :cool::confused:

She just vomited b'fast and is in bathtub drinking from faucet.

Question:
Am...duh...realizing that Sootie's been on .25u since 11/5 pm dose. 15 cycles.
Time to consider dose crease, not necessarily this am's (that I'll hold at .25u given nearing dose time now unless hear before shoot time ).?

In advance thanking for and appreciate your suggestions.

Am shoot window ca 8am. Though am trying in my ineffective way to gradually shift shoot cycles to slightly earlier, they seem to be appy in the old time...or in rythym with sunrise....

Vines for all :bighug::bighug:
Sina
 
My only hesitation about increasing now is whether Sooty's bounce is breaking. If you're going to be around, can monitor, have supplies, and are comfortable with managing numbers if a bounce is breaking, you could increase this AM. If not, you can increase at any point. One consideration is that Sootie's nadirs are in the 70s, You might want to "fatten" the dose rather than increase by 0.25u since you don't have that much room for the numbers to drop. (I'm assuming you're following TR? If you're following SLGS, you should have reduced when numbers fell below 90.)

 
My only hesitation about increasing now is whether Sooty's bounce is breaking. If you're going to be around, can monitor, have supplies, and are comfortable with managing numbers if a bounce is breaking, you could increase this AM. If not, you can increase at any point. One consideration is that Sootie's nadirs are in the 70s, You might want to "fatten" the dose rather than increase by 0.25u since you don't have that much room for the numbers to drop. (I'm assuming you're following TR? If you're following SLGS, you should have reduced when numbers fell below 90.)
Thanks Sienne.
Weighing all your thoughts, observations and suggestions. Appreciate them all. ❤️

Re today: I have to go to work and won't be home to monitor closely during key times. Appy iffy anyway. She's eating a bit more more now after the pukus (food and tiny hair ball) and bathtub security blanket routine. So won't increase dose now. Thinking about Sootie's yesterday's numbers (and in relation to recent days) bounces etc, I'm going to do a skinny .25u this am. :banghead:

Re about protocols: started out with TR goal but, long story short, her illnesses, inappetences, azalea's eye injury, Bo's illness and passing and my own increasing spinal/mobility/chronic pain problems and decreasing endurance have all played their part in recent weeks to going with the daily moment to moment vs strict observation of protocol. To be sure, the tr seemed to be the most logical option given Sootie's sputtering pancreas/maybe on road to remission when I first started here after almost a year since Sootie's Dx and start with Lantus. I had my trepidations then about whether I physically could do it and whether slower, with the not so low remission range #s, were a better fit for Sootie. And my fault for not attributing Sootie to one protocol or another or for even being not as assertive about my continuing feeling that she is, or we are, somewhere in between.

Clearly, I have to rethink this all and in the midst of these FD dances, my sputtering learning curves and my own feeling of sinking into less and less functionality.

That you raised these questions is a good thing and one that my splitting head will have to sort out with both Sootie's health and happiness as well as everyone else's in the forefront. One day at a time the mantra of the moment.
Thanks again and hugs.
Sina
 
Ok, what is now Amps at 8:40am is 150, after fud, puke (fud snd hairball) and more fud between 7am (when she was 184) and 8:40am.
Am now beyond planned am window. Per above, figured to do skinny 0.25u based on 184 bg and bc I won't be home to monitor.
Is this depot?
9:23am +1/131.
Bc of numbers decreasing on own, now outside shoot window, and won't be home., opted to not do am shot.
 
Last edited:
Bumping you up for experienced eyes and answers to your Qs:bighug:
E.D. Is your question and the indicators you need help woven into the thread title with secret spy invisible ink?;):bighug::bighug:;)
Sincerely,
H.H.
 
Thanks, Les and HH
Probably full of invisible ink like my brain right now
Oh I'm in meltdown mode. In tears and on way to work. Have fever. Azalea's eye worse this morning,too. I dunno anymore.

Wonderful news that Bubba on the mend Whew and Bobbie must be happy and exhausted beyond words. Sending Lots of happy vibes for them
 
Last edited:
You did the safe thing for Sootie in skipping the shot this morning with everything going on. Her numbers coming down are probably just part of the natural cycle. The depot will carry her for a little bit, but she may pop up by PMPS since you skipped the shot. But she'll get back on track. Since you skipped the shot, your cycle count will start over tonight. You should probably stick with the 0.25 dose until she gets back on track from the skipped shot and you see what her numbers do.

I'm sorry Azalea's eye is worse. I hope the specialist can help her tomorrow. Sending prayers for you and your furbabies. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Carla. At work now so will followup when home. Left food and instructions out for DH to give Sootie around noon.
Crossing paws for all
 
Sina, I am so sorry you aren't feeling well and Azela's eye is worsening. Hope you feel better ASAP and in light of not being able to monitor this AM you did the right thing to skip. With so much going on, you have to prioritize everything while taking care of your self too. It's a hard balance. Sootie is doing great and no worse for the wear no matter what protocol or method you are following right now. So be loving to yourself and know that you are doing a great job with her and juggling all that is on your plate.

Have you considered doing some sort of holistic remedy for Azalea's eye? Just a thought.

Thanks for your kind words about Bubba and me. :bighug: And sending lots of hugs to you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:And lots of feel better vines and eye vines to Azalea. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
There's no big issue about switching between TR and SLGS based on your needs. You can't take care of your kitties if you don't have the stamina and FD is not easy on the caregiver. If you need to switch over to SLGS, I would really follow the guidelines vs. trying to combine TR and SLGS. Most of us do end up personalizing a dosing method once we see how our cat is responding but that degree of personalization is based on what the data from our kitty tells us.

 
Back home. Sootie's +9.25bg (4:15pm eET) = 187.
dh fed Sootie 1/4 can weruva salmon around noontime , she is eating another 1/4 can's worth now.

Apologies for my inner turmoil, fever-wrenched, head splitting, appendage- clumsy day today. Gonna take a quick nap before next bg and kitty suppers.

Appreciate each and every one of you and will try to reread and reply better soon as head back a little better. This is a day where not much makes sense!

Hearts hugs and healing vines
 
First before I brain fog:
Sootie's +11.5at 6:34pm ET was 175.

Thank you all. I've been thinking all day about tr / slgs. I'd printed both sticky's to look at if time at work or when home. Neither came to be. I feel like such a wuss but am done in. Even so, I'm inclining towards slgs. But don't feel I'm with it enough right now to declare or even to ask relevant 'non-invisible-ink' (@Gussie's mom !) questions.

That being said, here we are again with a dosing window coming up ca 7:30-8pm ET. Sootie's been in (as far as Bgs show) in blue all day.

My thought at moment is to dose skinny 0.25u tonight in earlier part of window (ca 7:30) if can. If I can wrap my head around protocol decision later tonight I'd like to ask a few questions then and decide what's better for Sootie and all in consideration here. Def would make it easier for all.

Crossing fingers that we won't be in all nighter bc in morning have to feed everyone early , figure out Sootie's am whatever's and leave early with Azalea to the eye specialist, a good 1-1 1/2 hr highway drive (be nice to not fall asleep at the wheel! Though I do like the musical group by that name).

Hugs thanks and suggestions about tonight dosage first?

p.s. Carla: yes been doing homeopathy for Azalea's eye along with the eye drops. Changed along the way /layering based on initial injury, healing stages etc. glad to share the Remedy info....
 
Thanks, Les and HH
Probably full of invisible ink like my brain right now
Oh I'm in meltdown mode. In tears and on way to work. Have fever. Azalea's eye worse this morning,too. I dunno anymore.

Wonderful news that Bubba on the mend Whew and Bobbie must be happy and exhausted beyond words. Sending Lots of happy vibes for them
No need to apologize. We have shed cumulatively enough tears here to end California's drought and the rest of the west as well...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hang in there, you are processing tons of new stuff, trying like mad to gel it into some semblance of sense and you are doing this running on fumes....it will get easier hard as that is to believe in this moment...:bighug::bighug::bighug:sometimes we can only deal with one hour at a time in this dance. That's the greatest chunk of time we have any control of. And it's the accepting of that that made me let go of the reins and ride. It's sooooo hard. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hang in there, you are doing amazing at this zig-zag, unpredictable dance...it's like jazz, just when you think you've figured out the melody and syncopation it takes an unexpected flight in an entirely new direction..:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
No need to apologize. We have shed cumulatively enough tears here to end California's drought and the rest of the west as well...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hang in there, you are processing tons of new stuff, trying like mad to gel it into some semblance of sense and you are doing this running on fumes....it will get easier hard as that is to believe in this moment...:bighug::bighug::bighug:sometimes we can only deal with one hour at a time in this dance. That's the greatest chunk of time we have any control of. And it's the accepting of that that made me let go of the reins and ride. It's sooooo hard. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hang in there, you are doing amazing at this zig-zag, unpredictable dance...it's like jazz, just when you think you've figured out the melody and syncopation it takes an unexpected flight in an entirely new direction..:bighug::bighug::bighug:
"Take Five" Dave Brubeck comes to mind.
 
I think you're okay to shoot a skinny 0.25 tonight since she stayed blue all day. Hopefully that will allow you to get some sleep tonight.
 
I think you're okay to shoot a skinny 0.25 tonight since she stayed blue all day. Hopefully that will allow you to get some sleep tonight.
Thank you Carla. You all are saints!
Hugs and ❤️❤️!!
I'll retest now before pm shot. And retest at least once after She's eating again now too. :bighug::)
 
Update retest at 7:48pm: 203
Some of which perhaps fud, presence of Bella trying to horn in on fud, and a bit miffed at frequency of ear jabs.

Just shot skinny 0.25u and will retest in awhile.
Thanks and hugs
Sina
And Carla..again congrats on Furball's anniversary...and our toast to you both for many many more.
 
Hi Sina,
Just chiming in to say that I hope you get some rest tonight!

Hugs to you and scritches to the kitties,
Thank you Ella and Rusty Hope everyone does get some rest and sweet dreams tonight.
Btw so relieved Bubba on the mend. Great village. From bone broths on...
You suggesting the liver shake recipe pure inspiration. It sure will be in my go to arsenal from now on. (And maybe just the ticket for depleted beans like me!).
 
Hi,
A little shut-eye nap.

Sootie's +4 at 12:46pm = 117. Eating a little of snack of fresh slurry, some weruva salmon and FD salmon treats.

Back to beddy after checking in on Azalea.

Thank you all again and sweet dreams...
:bighug::bighug::bighug:. Ja, tomorrow is another day....
 
Hi,
A little shut-eye nap.

Sootie's +4 at 12:46pm = 117. Eating a little of snack of fresh slurry, some weruva salmon and FD salmon treats.

Back to beddy after checking in on Azalea.

Thank you all again and sweet dreams...
:bighug::bighug::bighug:. Ja, tomorrow is another day....
WooHoo! Back in the Blue:cool::cool:
I sense the makings of a sugarCat ballad there somewhere!:confused::bighug:
Sov Gott!
 
@Gussie's mom
Good morning...after Sootie's midnight'ish recheck, did dishes and then couldn't get back to sleep! Finally did though.
Making kittie's b'fasts now. And have to remember to bring all of Azalea's meds and remedies to eye specialist.
starting "Les's magic method" of rescue remedy in a little while (azalea and...me!)
Hugs and vines from here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top